We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Interamericano

Hotel Interamericano
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turrialba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Interamericano
Save Saved
You added Hotel Interamericano to your Saves list
Apartado 95-7150, Turrialba, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Turrialba
Turrialba, Cartago, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“affordable place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I enjoyed my one night here. I had a room with a shared bath, which was small but clean. Not too much street noise, and staff was helpful. Simple, clean, safe place within walking distance to everything in Turrialba. Greenmarket happens on train tracks in front of hotel on Fridays and Saturdays. GREAT way to get affordable produce and to try some queso de Turrialba.

Room Tip: Some don't have windows. The first one they gave me didn't, and because it wasn't full i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
14
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel was good for the price, with friendly staff, good location, and we were set up with a white water rafting trip very easily (everyone must do this). I would stay here again if I ever felt like returning to Turrialba.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is neat, clean and tidy. The owners are kind and eager to help organize rafting trips. We had a triple room with shared bathroom, and everything was just fine: clean rooms, good quality of sleep (despite some noise coming from the road nearby), clean toilets, hot shower, and very nice common area with plenty of books and table games.
The location is also good for exploring the town of Turrialba, and the room was also good value for money.
We would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have to say that we were accommodated pretty late in the evening and they were able to set up a rafting trip at the last minute, but were not able to set up any other kind of trip at anytime. We had three people in a room with our own bathroom. The room was would get very stuffy and we would leave the door open (which lets in bugs) or sit outside on the balcony (with the bugs). The bed was comfortable enough, but there was a lot of noise on the street, which we knew they could do nothing about...we had ear plugs to help! As for the shower, the hot water was a bit erratic going from scalding to cold at any moment. We were locked in each night and don't walk alone in the evening in this area. There is free wireless and free unsecured parking, but breakfast was not included. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor, there is a nice outdoor sitting area which is great in the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We went to the interamericano for one night. The American lady that owns the place was very pleasant and helpfull. She had lotsmof tips about the area ans was very friendly. The hotel is more for the young with a low budget as it is a bit run down. The hot shower wasent working. The rooms dont have real windows so it gets really hot. The one thing really didnt like was the presence of 3 dogs running around. I personnaly dont find this very hygenic. Plus the common area is a mess with stuff all over the place making it look more like a garage than a lobby. I recommend this place for the low budget adventurers that are going directly to do rafting.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Was a great stay, clean room, it worth well the money. What else, we did some rafting with a contact of the hostel and it was cheaper than we expect in comparaison of what we read in the LP. Thanks for our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I first traveled to costa rica in 2008 and back again in march of 2012. The hotel interamericano is the place we will always come back to. We love the location to all kinds of adventure activities but no one in costa rica is more helpful then Luis. Get to know him and he is wealth of knowledge of costa rica among other things! The beak fest is also wonderful, make sure you arrange for this the night before. The town of turrialba is great, it is perfect and not touristy! Will will be back again, hopefully sooner then later!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Interamericano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interamericano

Address: Apartado 95-7150, Turrialba, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Turrialba
Also Known As:
Hotel Interamericano Costa Rica/Turrialba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Interamericano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.