We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Interamericano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Interamericano to your Saves list
Hotel Interamericano
Avenida 1 | Across the Park From the Banco Nacional, Turrialba 7150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Turrialba
Turrialba, Cartago, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“affordable place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I enjoyed my one night here. I had a room with a shared bath, which was small but clean. Not too much street noise, and staff was helpful. Simple, clean, safe place within walking distance to everything in Turrialba. Greenmarket happens on train tracks in front of hotel on Fridays and Saturdays. GREAT way to get affordable produce and to try some queso de Turrialba.

Room Tip: Some don't have windows. The first one they gave me didn't, and because it wasn't full i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
18
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel was good for the price, with friendly staff, good location, and we were set up with a white water rafting trip very easily (everyone must do this). I would stay here again if I ever felt like returning to Turrialba.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is neat, clean and tidy. The owners are kind and eager to help organize rafting trips. We had a triple room with shared bathroom, and everything was just fine: clean rooms, good quality of sleep (despite some noise coming from the road nearby), clean toilets, hot shower, and very nice common area with plenty of books and table games.
The location is also good for exploring the town of Turrialba, and the room was also good value for money.
We would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have to say that we were accommodated pretty late in the evening and they were able to set up a rafting trip at the last minute, but were not able to set up any other kind of trip at anytime. We had three people in a room with our own bathroom. The room was would get very stuffy and we would leave the door open (which lets in bugs) or sit outside on the balcony (with the bugs). The bed was comfortable enough, but there was a lot of noise on the street, which we knew they could do nothing about...we had ear plugs to help! As for the shower, the hot water was a bit erratic going from scalding to cold at any moment. We were locked in each night and don't walk alone in the evening in this area. There is free wireless and free unsecured parking, but breakfast was not included. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor, there is a nice outdoor sitting area which is great in the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We went to the interamericano for one night. The American lady that owns the place was very pleasant and helpfull. She had lotsmof tips about the area ans was very friendly. The hotel is more for the young with a low budget as it is a bit run down. The hot shower wasent working. The rooms dont have real windows so it gets really hot. The one thing really didnt like was the presence of 3 dogs running around. I personnaly dont find this very hygenic. Plus the common area is a mess with stuff all over the place making it look more like a garage than a lobby. I recommend this place for the low budget adventurers that are going directly to do rafting.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Was a great stay, clean room, it worth well the money. What else, we did some rafting with a contact of the hostel and it was cheaper than we expect in comparaison of what we read in the LP. Thanks for our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I first traveled to costa rica in 2008 and back again in march of 2012. The hotel interamericano is the place we will always come back to. We love the location to all kinds of adventure activities but no one in costa rica is more helpful then Luis. Get to know him and he is wealth of knowledge of costa rica among other things! The beak fest is also wonderful, make sure you arrange for this the night before. The town of turrialba is great, it is perfect and not touristy! Will will be back again, hopefully sooner then later!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
0.0 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#3 of 11 in Turrialba
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
#8 of 11 in Turrialba
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#6 of 11 in Turrialba
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#2 of 11 in Turrialba
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
14.1 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 4 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interamericano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interamericano

Address: Avenida 1 | Across the Park From the Banco Nacional, Turrialba 7150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the hotel that becomes your home away from home. We can accommodate singles, couples, groups of friends and even larger student and travel groups. Receive hotel privacy at hostel prices. We are a family run business and very willing to help accommodate our guests' needs and requests. We can help you arrange tours and activities during your stay in Turrialba and we can even recommend some places to visit just to relax. We are located right in the center of Turrialba town, so you have easy access to restaurants, shops, bars, banks, post office and even three ice cream shops from which to choose your delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Interamericano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Interamericano Costa Rica/Turrialba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Interamericano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.