We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the Turrialba area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Florencia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Florencia to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Florencia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 metros noreste de la Ciudadela La Susanita, Turrialba, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Turrialba
Show Low, Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the Turrialba area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights of our vacation. The hotel is outside of the main city and is very quiet. The grounds are pretty, with many tropical plants, and the pool looked clean and inviting, although we didn’t have time to use it. A giant fig tree in front of the main building was full of oropendola nests. We enjoyed watching them and several other types of birds.

There are some rooms in the main hotel building, but ours was part of a separate duplex. The bedroom and bath were both large and clean; the bed was comfortable but the pillows were a little thin. The room had flat screen tv with some English and movie channels, a mini fridge, and a sofa. Water pressure in the bathroom was sometimes a bit low. There was no air conditioning, but the weather was pretty cool and rainy, so we didn’t really miss it. There was seating on the front porch as well as a small private patio with table and chairs. Wi-fi was free in the rooms, plus there was one computer in the lobby area available for guests.

The first night, there was a tour group staying at the hotel, so dinner and breakfast the following morning were served as a buffet. The food was OK. The tour group left the following day, and we were given several choices for individually cooked dinner and breakfast items. Big improvement – everything was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
31
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

The owner Gustavo met us at breakfast. He was very friendly and accomodating to our needs. There was also a giant fig tree out front with many oropendola's nesting as well as other species including parrots.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona usa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We spent two nights at this peaceful retreat. The manager was wonderful and took us touring one morning to Costa Rica's oldest and largest pre-columbian ruins nearby. The restaurant serves a good breakfast and very nice dinners. The steaks were excellant.
They also prepared my special dietary requests. They had cable TV with some English channels.
Bird watching is excellant there.

Room Tip: room number 1 is very special... great bird watching from your bathtub and from the outside privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Gorgeous views from the hilltop of this quaint villa. Individual rooms all have great views. Very quiet and secluded.

Service was great. Breakfast is traditional Cost Rican. Coffee was outstanding.

Very nice pool and jacuzzi overlooking sugar fields and mountains.

Close to the outdoor activities - rafting, canyoneering, etc.

Only issue was mattress was thin and not comfortable for sleeping.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

What a great place to stay. It's out in the countryside, a converted, modernized farmhouse surrounded by sugarcane fields. The trees were alive with the beautiful song of the Oropendola and the occasional Tucan. The hotel is family run with a friendly staff.
The food is excellent but, don't expect a good steak anywhere in Costa Rica.
The good rooms are a bit pricey but, well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Let me start off by saying our stay at Villa Florencia was nothing short of perfect. The location of the hotel is nicely secluded with beautiful views of sugar cane and the surrounding mountains as a back drop. The open air quality of the hotel kept us quite cool as well. The rooms were clean, spacious and the overall atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for.
Ida could not of been a better host. She gave us insight into the surrounding area of Turrialba as well activities we might be interested in. Chief Tavo cooked us a delicious breakfast as well as a dinner of Sea bass and vegetables that were out of this world.
All in all I would highly recommend Villa Florencia to anyone who wants to stay in wonderful hotel in a beautiful location. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

I was in Turrialba on company business and spent 3 nights at Villa Florencia. I was told by coworkers that it was very nice, knew they had a new pool and had checked out their website and face book page before I arrived. However, such research can never prepare you for the warmth and excellent food that I enjoyed during my stay. I'm not hard to please and it was the company's dime, but it felt more like I perceive a bed and breakfast to be with regards to the friendly staff and overall warmth I felt. It was like I was staying with relatives.
Even the staff who speak little English, have their way of making you feel very welcomed. One night, while sitting in the hot tub during a steady rain (which was so cool), the older gentleman who stays there during the night walked down and just stood there holding an umbrella. I felt like I had a body guard. We only exchanged a "Pura Vida" or "Bueanas Noches". I wondered if he was trying to tell me if it was time to get out for the night, but after I went from the hot tub to the refreshing pool, he just walked back to the building. I later found out from another guest who spoke fluent Spanish, that he was worried that I might go into shock or something, during the transistion. Apparently a Tico would never consider such a stunt.

I wouldn't call the internet high speed, but I had no trouble with it (after figuring out how to type the @ symbol on their keyboard).

Being my first time out of the United States, I worried unnecessarily about food. Everything I ate over 4 days was very good, but the food at the Villa was among the best I ever had. Gustavo, being a trained chef, is clearly passionate about his craft. Most of the time, there were only about 6 of us in the dining room. I wondered how Gustavo could justify such elegant food preparation efforts on so few, but it sure didn't seem to matter. One night there was a large local group that came to eat. It made it feel more festive for a change.

The room was very clean even though that part of the building is considerably older than the restaurant that was added on about 4 yrs. ago (if I remember right). The floors were particularly impressive, especially considering that much of the flooring is open air to the moist climate.
At first I thought the room didn't have a TV, but then noticed doors up high that hid a 19" tube TV with SKY network which included quite a few American programs, some with Spanish subtitles. They use electric tankless water heaters and you need to be careful, as the water can get plenty hot.

I look forward to another trip. Maybe the next one will include my wife.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Florencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Florencia

Address: 800 metros noreste de la Ciudadela La Susanita, Turrialba, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Florencia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Florencia is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the beautiful landscape of the Turrialba Valley.Settled in the middle of Sugar Cane plantations and surrounded by mountains and tropical gardens, this hotel offers its guest a family oriented atmosphere and all the comfort of a boutique hotel. Villa Florencia Hotel offers an open air concept, surrounded by gardens, an open air gym, trails to walk on your own, a wonderful Jacuzzi and a beautiful swimming pool.The hotel has 11 guest rooms that allowed for a personalized service and a warm setting. All the rooms have private bath with hot water, satellite TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, safety deposit box and unique décor. Villa Florencia has a gourmet restaurant “Veroliz” named after the flower of the sugar cane, and offers a variety of menus including special diets upon request. The restaurant offer fresh ingredients and creative cooking, full of flavors, they even have a special menu for kids design by the owner’s daughters and a special menu for honeymooners on private garden. The area offers a enormous diversity of activities, that the staff of the hotel will be happy to organize for you, rafting the Pacuare and Reventazon River, visits to Guayabo Arqueological site, exploring the CATIE Botanical Garden or the very active Turrialba Volcano are just some of the activities located a few minutes away from Villa Florencia. Turrialba is also known as one of the best areas in Costa Rica to observe wildlife, specially birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Florencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florencia Hotel Turrialba
Hotel Villa Florencia Costa Rica/Turrialba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Florencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.