We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Praise for Pedro and Cesar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Guayabo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Guayabo Lodge to your Saves list
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 m sur del Cementerio de Sta Cruz | Santa Cruz de Turrialba, Turrialba 30504, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Turrialba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Praise for Pedro and Cesar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We loved our time at Guayabo Lodge. Quiet and restful with great food. Very clean and comfortable. Pedro and his staff provided a clean comfortable setting. The girls enjoyed horseback riding through a coffee plantation to a waterfall while the botanist enjoyed a trip to CATIE gardens. Together we were guided by Cesar and Chico to Irazu volcano and Guayabo National Monument on an informative and pleasant day.

We would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    31
    12
    13
    1
See reviews for
17
61
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was not expecting the hotel to be this amazing... Yes, it does look pretty in the pictures but once you're there you can truly see the level of detail and love they put into everything. The views are amazing, as you can see on the pictures, the gardens are very well taken care of.

I highly recommend the food, you can definetely tell that it's cooked by a staff that cares. Dinner was great and they were extremely kind. Breakfast, when free, is usually toasts and something non-special. However in this case you had rice and beans, eggs, cheese, fruits. etc.. practically a lunch by itself.

I absolutely loved this place- rooms were great, nice, tidy, clean, with a balcony with a great view, perfect for sitting and having a glass of wine. LOVE THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

what a beautiful respite this place is! the air is fresh and cool, the rooms are nicely decorated. we enjoyed our mountain view room with a mini kitchen.
You can just rest or enjoy the many things to do here. we went to Guayabo National Monument with the hotel 's wonderful guide Cesar. His pride and knowledge of the indigenous people brought the site to life.
We also took advantage of the location to get to Irazu volcano early before the clouds cover it. allow an hour drive that is well worth the trip.
the hotel's owner arranged a cheese making tour. if you understand Spanish, or can find a translating friend, check out this cow to table process done right in the maker's home. a very kind family lead by Melvin will take you to his yard where you can milk the cow and make the
cheese. as far from a factory processing as you can get! The taste Melvin's fresh cheese and yogurt.
also check out the small organic Grano de Oro coffee tour, also local and personal.

River rafting is also nearby.

The staff at Guayabo is excellent, all striving to keep the guest happy. rooms have comfortable beds, large screen tv's with satellite tv, and patios or balconies with views.
the food was just great, buffet one night, menu the others. this area produces fine produce and it shows in the quality of the food here.
One warning, the driveway to get to the lodge is rugged. have a 4x4 and keep it slow. the driveway from the main road is alongside a largish veterinary supply building to use as a landmark.
but this beautiful spot is worth the drive.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have stayed here many times and each time things seem to get better. Pedro, who was the manager of Central America's most important horticultural educational facility, and his wife run a very tight ship with hands on management. They are gentle lovable people deeply connected to Nature. Their property shows their love of Nature.

The lodge has wonderful views and is only 20 minutes from the National Park at the top of Turrialba Volcano. One warning...make sure that you have full gas tank before you leave because gas stations are far and few between. The views are spectacular on the way to the hotel.

The hotel is also just 30 minutes away from the world famous Guayabo National Park which once was the commerce center of Central and South America. There is an adventur park nearby with a great restaurant next store. Vegetarian food is available.

If you love to study and experience Volcanoes this is the perfect place to stay. There are two major volcanoes within about an hour of the lodge...Turrialba and Irazu.

Room Tip: I like room 23 or 24...they are large, spacious, and have wonderful views of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I am not sure why Trip Advisor only has average or very good. This place is not average, is not very good, it is good. Good service, good location, good rooms, a decent restaurant working at night and some rooms/apartments with amazing views of the marvellous mountains of Turrialba. Turrialba is a special place, not much to do there, but it is so peaceful, so refreshing, I would definitely recommend it for a

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

At night gets down to about low 60's. Since high in the mountain, not really that hot during the day. Owner's son's VERY accommodating (owner must have been on vaca).

We spent two nights. Gorgeous sitting outside day or night overlooking Torrealba (town about 5 miles away).

They offer dinner at night for under $20 if you don't want to travel. We ate both nights we were there --one night had pumpkin soup (hot), another night vegetable soup. One night they offered buffet, another night they had a la carte or dinner menu only.

Service was excellent--entire staff very nice and accommodating.

Breakfast was decent, fruit, eggs you can order, etc.

I highly recommend. One of the coolest (literally and figuratively) places you can stay at in Costa Rica for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Top Contributor
584 reviews 584 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

40 miles drive from San Jose. Along winding roads and small villages.
WALMART on route 2. Beautiful lodge with 26 rooms. We have Suite number 4. Try to stay 2 nights to enjoy the surroundings by horse back. Great 3 course dinner choices. Check the website for details. Afternoon tea or coffee compliments of the lodge. Breathtaking views from most rooms.
Breakfasts included. Good beds, flat screen tv. Recommended. MeuterMedia

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Guayabo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guayabo Lodge

Address: 300 m sur del Cementerio de Sta Cruz | Santa Cruz de Turrialba, Turrialba 30504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guayabo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guayabo Lodge is a 24 room cozy mountain eco-Lodge located in the outskirts of the Turrialba volcano, 2 hours from the airport. Excellent rooms and magnificent views. Enjoy nature, rafting, canopy or hiking, tour the smoking volcano, visit the Guayabo Archaeological Park or the CATIE botanical garden. Our restaurant offers a selected menu of Costa Rican and international dishes, taking advantage of tropical ingredients and creations from Guayabo Lodge Cooking School. Our bar is open every evening and offers a great selection of fruit juices, cocktails, beers and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Guayabo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guayabo Lodge Costa Rica/Turrialba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Guayabo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.