We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - but get a decent room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Guayabo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Hotel Guayabo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 m sur del Cementerio de Sta Cruz | Santa Cruz de Turrialba, Turrialba 30504, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Turrialba
Egham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great - but get a decent room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a delightfully located, relatively small, hotel overlooked by the steaming Torrialba Volcano and overlooking the valley in which the town of Torrialba lies. It has lovely views from both the public rooms and most of the guest rooms, but four rooms - 1,2,5 and 6 - have no views at all and so are very disappointing. You want to avoid these rooms. There are no local restaurants, so you will need to eat at the hotel, but the food was pretty good. When we were there, there was a problem with the credit card machine, but presumably this is unusual.

Room Tip: Not 1,2, 5 or 6 - see above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    10
    10
    1
See reviews for
15
37
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel was absolutely perfect. First, the drive is very easy on paved roads up and down the mountainside. Once at the hotel we were greeted warmly and surprised with a room upgrade to one of the mountain suites with a fridge, microwave, etc... The view was extraordinary! We stayed on our balcony taking it all in. The epitome of relaxation. We had dinner at the hotel which was good and were also able to drive quickly to the store and surrounding towns. It was also close to the Guayabo National Monument which was really interesting to see. The next morning it was a decent drive to Irazu volcano though if you don't rent a car the hotel offers trips to the volcanoes and other places. We would come back here in a heart beat.

Room Tip: The mountain suites are worth the extra few bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We chose the lodge based on fellow Trip Advisor member reports, and take their word to the bank; this was one of the top places I've ever stayed, and I travel internationally for work. Yes, it is high above Turrialba at about 5,000 feet elevation, but the drive is spectacular and well worth the extra 30 minutes. Ask Pedro for specific directions before you go. We arrived in a rainstorm in the middle of green season with low expectations for seeing anything but clouds, but in the morning the clouds had parted, and Turrialba volcana - an impressive steam pillar rising from the top - was bathed in bright sunlight directly out our second-floor window. Awesome, but then was the opposing view back into the valley. Pedro is absolutely delightful. He has a prodigous history, originating in Uruguay with stops in Idaho, Canada, Mexico and Costa Rica among others. The food is terrific and appropriately priced. We ate both breakfast and dinner, and were thrilled with the local trout, melons, fruit and particularly the Terrialba cheese. The garden is also delightful. The evening fire was perfect - there's a slight chill at this altitude - and one of Pedro's interns makes a mean margarhita. If you are traveling by bus, taxi fare is less than $20 US. All up, you should not pass up this place.

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor room facing the Turrialba volcano. Amazing to see it steaming and smoking at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed for one night at Hotel Guayabo Lodge in June, a tranquil motel located on the side of volcan Turrialba. Stunning views of the mountains and the volcano. The facilities and food were excellent and the tour of Monumento National Guayabo extremely interesting and highly informative. I stayed just one night but it was the most relaxing portion of my one month stay in Costa Rica. Unfortunately time constraints did not allow me to visit the biological gardens at CATIE near Turrialba or the volcan Turrialba. I highly recommend this motel as a respect from the other busy tourist areas in Costa Rica. Although a bit off the major roads but accessible from Turrialba via taxi or by bus for those with more time. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the volcan Turrialba.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Guayabo Lodge

Ok, tough to give a good review here. Read a lot of positive ones and thus booked. We got lost on the way to the lodge and really really struggled finding it. A detailed map or a sign at the bottom of the hill would have been very helpful. We eventually arrived exhausted and after dark. 

We enjoyed a good dinner and then passed out. 

The biggest negative was that our toilet leaked and the stench was unbearable. My friend refused to use the bathroom and I could barely breath when I did. Big thumbs down on those two marks. 

Our room view was that of sheet metal rooftops. Not too impressive. Beds were two singles in a small room.

Did enjoy the view from the main entrance area of the lodge. Maybe our whole opinion would have been different if we had not gotten lost and had a non stinky bathroom.

The drive up the hill is no less than 30 minutes. Not even close to Turrialba...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The setting is breath taking and the food was wonderful. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. It was homey and the fire every night was most welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This lodge is just amazing for people that like great service and rooms that are clean and well kept.The owners Pedro and Roseanne treat every client as if they
are special.Have stayed at the lodge for 6 years in a row and every year they
exceed my expectations. A must stop in Costa Rica
Cuba Discovery Tours

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Guayabo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guayabo Lodge

Address: 300 m sur del Cementerio de Sta Cruz | Santa Cruz de Turrialba, Turrialba 30504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guayabo Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guayabo Lodge is a 24 room cozy mountain eco-Lodge located in the outskirts of the Turrialba volcano, 2 hours from the airport. Excellent rooms and magnificent views. Enjoy nature, rafting, canopy or hiking, tour the smoking volcano, visit the Guayabo Archaeological Park or the CATIE botanical garden. Our restaurant offers a selected menu of Costa Rican and international dishes, taking advantage of tropical ingredients and creations from Guayabo Lodge Cooking School. Our bar is open every evening and offers a great selection of fruit juices, cocktails, beers and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Guayabo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guayabo Lodge Costa Rica/Turrialba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Guayabo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.