We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orosi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Orosi Lodge to your Saves list
Orosi Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valle de Orosi | 25 m east of the Thermal Pools Orosi, Orosi 1122 - 7050, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orosi
Certificate of Excellence
Doha
Level Contributor
79 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very nice lodge with friendly and efficient service. We were greeted by Sebastian who provided very helpful information that added to our enjoyment of this beautiful valley. The room (lower level) was spacious and comfortable. If you have a choice stay in a second floor room for the view as well as noise due to "thin" ceilings. Breakfasts are very good. Enjoyed easy hiking through Tepanti park as well viewing Irazu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    74
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
48
162
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A very good place, especially, to begin or end your trip if flying to/from relatively nearby San Jose. Warm hospitality, excellent breakfast, easy access to an out-of-the way rainforest (Tapantí) and the rim of Costa Rica's tallest volcano( Irazú). Your hosts can arrange the most interesting, least 'touristy' visit to a (organic) coffee plantation that I know of.The rooms are spacious, bright and airy, quiet and relaxing. The prices very reasonable, even in the high season. Parking is free.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nice little lodge run by a German family. Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is awesome! The village of Orosi is very small and quiet. We started here our trip and we loved costa rica right away! Rooms are spacious and very clean, warm water and very nicely decorated. Matresses are good but firm (which I liked very much!). Try a real costa rican cigar with some centurion ron on the porch. It's a bliss!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed her for a night in August 2012 on a trip with C2C adventures.
A lovely oasis, hidden away on a side street. Warm welcome from friendly owners. The inner courtyard is lovely. The rooms are large and beautifully presented. Our room had a basic kitchen area too.
There is free WiFi and a free to use PC in reception. The cakes looked lovely....the breakfast certainly was. A choice of fruit/granola or bacon/egg. Both were great and provided with fresh bread & great coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We just loved Orosi Lodge and Orosi valley...both are really worth a visit! The rooms are large, very nicely decorated with beautiful polished timber floors, a fridge and coffee maker with great coffee! The top rooms are fantastic for sitting out and enjoying the view. The lodge has a lush, attractive garden at the base of the steps up to the top rooms and a fantastic little coffee shop on site. Sebastian was a great host while we were there and prior to our 2 night stay, every e-mail (and all my questions!) were answered promptly by Connie and Andy which was such a great help. The lodge is right in Orosi town itself and easy walk to the supermarket, bank and eateries. We HIGHLY recommend the Orosi Lodge for a fantastic and extremely economical place to stay and the beautiful valley itself should be on everyones list of area's to visit outside of San Jose.

Room Tip: the upper rooms with a nice balcony, view and chairs are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Orosi Lodge for two nights and it was one of the best experiences of our trip. The weather is a constant 75 degrees and no bugs. The room was large with a raised ceiling which made it seem even more spacious. It had a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and a safe. Views were beautiful as you are up on a hill - and there were two chairs outside the door to sit and take it all in. The owners were lovely people, very friendly and generous in helping us make our plans. The best thing they did for us was explain that the road through the mountains going south was now well paved and the only reason it is called the "Highway of Death" is that once the people took oxcarts through the mountains and if they didn't get out of the higher elevations by night, sometimes they froze to death. That information itself was more valuable than the cost of the room - which I think was $49/night. Yes, there were some roosters and chickens making their noises early in the morning and some dogs barking, but not enough to be a real problem - and I am a very light sleeper. I would definitely recommend this lodge (and also the wonderful breakfasts that they offer at very inexpensive cost).

Room Tip: Second floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I'm adding this hotel to my short list of favorite p,aces to stay in Costa Rica. Kinda hard to find, but well worth the effort. Sebastian and Andreas are delightful hosts who will warmly greet you and assist you in any way....from restaurant suggestions to fun things to do in the area. This boutique hotel is value priced and worth every cent. The rooms are co,orful and comfortable. I love room #2...it is right across from the hammock where the fountain could lull to sweet dreams. The rooms upstairs give yo a view of the surrounding countryside.

Can you say Bliss?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orosi
6.1 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 4 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reventazon
Hotel Reventazon
#2 of 3 in Orosi
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
#1 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel El Guarco
Hotel El Guarco
#2 of 4 in Cartago
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
17.2 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orosi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orosi Lodge

Address: Valle de Orosi | 25 m east of the Thermal Pools Orosi, Orosi 1122 - 7050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Orosi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orosi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming small Colonial Style Hotel in the most beautiful valley of Costa Rica - "Orosi Valley" near Cartago in the Central Highlands; located in the center of Orosi village right next to the Thermal Pools Orosi. American or continental breakfasts are on the menu with fresh organic coffee roasted especially for Orosi Lodge. Enjoy a Cappuccino, Espresso, or Cafe au Lait with a piece of our famous homemade cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orosi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orosi Hotel Orosi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orosi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.