We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Secret Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Orosi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Orosi to your Saves list
Chalet Orosi
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Juco, 200mts sur de la | Planta Santa Maria, Orosi 7100, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Orosi B&B and Inns
Point Roberts, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Secret Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We love Orosi and usually stay here on our way to Manzanillo, Limon.
This was our first stay with Frank and Marie Claire in their Teca Chalet.
They are incredible hosts and make you feel extremely welcome.
When we walked into our chalet, a bountiful fruit basket welcomed us, along with
fresh baked banana bread, baguette, coffee, tea and all the condiments needed.
These thoughtful items go a long way when you do not expect them.
After a long days drive, we were so pleased to arrive and realize we found a real haven.
The views of the mountains and coffee valleys from Teca are breathtaking.
These hosts are not just out to receive your money, they really provide for you.
Frank created a great day hiking taylored for us, great birding.
We returned to a scrumptious french dinner Marie Claire prepared and brought to our chalet
patio. We felt like royalty. The chalet was well equipped and bed super comfortable.
what travelers hope for, but rarely find for this price
We are very thankful to Frank and Marie Claire.
Merci beaucoup,
Kathleen and Chuck
Vancouver BC

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Chalet Orosi on our first and last night in Costa Rica. It was our stopping point before heading to Punta Uva and then San Jose upon our return. Frank and Marie Claire were wonderful hosts. We booked the Chalet Cedro for $100/night. The chalet was a nice size with a queen sized bed (which we both found much too firm and rather uncomfortable) and kitchenette off the bedroom. The patio was by far the best part of the chalet with pretty views of the mountain and a big jacuzzi tub to relax in.

Marie Claire made us dinner and breakfast both days we stayed. She made great dishes for both my meat-eating husband and my vegetarian self. Dessert both nights was FANTASTIC! Breakfast included bread and jam, a giant fruit salad, home made pound cake, coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice (the best we had in all of Costa Rica), sliced turkey and cheese (for my husband).

Our one suggestion for the owners would be to include some sort of signage once you enter into Orosi. The GPS was unable to locate the Chalet and we had to stop at Orosi Lodge to get directions. We very much enjoyed our stay at the lodge and appreciate all the Frank and Marie Claire had to offer us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stopped at Orosi Chalet for two nights. We arranged the room about 2 months in advance. The owners of the chalet, a couple from France, were very accommodating. They remembered my food allergies and arranged a FANTASTIC white water rafting trip (don't forget your sunscreen!). We stayed in the room with the jacuzzi - it was very clean and comfortable.

Upon our arrival we got a little lost and Frank, the owner, came and met us and led us back to the chalet. He is a very gracious host. His wife is very sweet and cooked us a few amazing meals. Breakfast was delicious each morning (they woke up at the crack of dawn for us) and brought quite the spread to the room. Dinner was also great - a delicious french inspired meal. My boyfriend had veal and i had steak - we both agree the veal was the best veal we have ever had. Steak was also super good.

They also have a bunch of very sweet dogs - wanted to take them home with me!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is one of those places you feel so lucky to find. Its a small property but, the rooms make up for it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at this place the other day. We got confused as to the location cause the GPS brought us to Orosi Lodge. It didn't matter cause the person there was very nice and gave us directions to the chalet. Our room was clean and shower had lots of hot water. The very nice French couple that run the place were very friendly. They gave us a meal and red wine for $40. The bed was comfortable. They have 5 dogs which run about but nerver get in the way. I would stay in this place if you want to go see the nearby Irazu Volcano.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My family of 5 just stayed at Chalet Orosi for 3 nights over Xmas 2011. Frank and Marie Claire, the owners, were wonderfully accomodating. They arranged for a driver from and to San Jose Airport to the Chalet and for other trips in the area (Irazu Volcano and river rafting in Turrialba). The cost of the driver was far less than it would have cost for a suitable car during our visit. While we all could have slept in the two bedroom chalet, it would have been tight. It was well equipped and a wonderful accomodation for our three adult children. Each took a long soak in the outdoor jacuzzi on the veranda.

My wife and I slept in a lovely smaller chalet downhill the first night, but were moved up the hill to a splendid chalet with wonderful views of the Orosi valley. Frank and Marie Claire arranged dinner at a recently opened Argentine restaurant in Orosi. They dropped us off both nights and arranged for the restaurant owners to call a cab for our return trip. So convenient and accomodating.

When the younger set and I went river rafting, Marie Claire took my wife to local markets to shop for Xmas gifts and Xmas dinner. A gracuous and unexpected bonus of staying at Chalet Orosi.

The chalets are beautifully decorated and clean. One had a fire place which was fun one chilly night. Frank wound up cutting extra wood so we could enjoy an extended fire.

Chalet Orosi was a quiet, beautiful and a capstone accomodation for the last 3 days of our 10 day trip to CR. We would return in a minute, particulalry if we could secure the uphilll chalet which has the best views.

Room Tip: Seek the chalet up hill first. It has the best views. The two bedroom chalet is lovely and big, wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

When we arrived we were welcomed very nicely by Frank and Marie-Claire.
We arrived quite early and we still had some time to do a nice hike that started just behind our cabin, advised by Frank.
When we came back we were again happily surprised about our beautiful house (chalet Teca). All the things that make a stay super comfortable were there up to the smallest details. A very well equiped kitchen, even a wonderful breakfast, Swiss baquette and cake baked by Marie-Claire, marmelade's, cream cheese, coffee, tea etc.etc.
On the veranda there is a beautiful jacuzzi and sitting area where you
can admire all the birds flying around. The cute dogs (I am afraid of dogs but not these ones.....) came by now and then and you can decide to let them come onto your veranda or not, up to you. Important, these dogs aren't noisy, you never hear them!
It is a peaceful and great place for a good nightrest. Bed is very comfortable, shower very good, well, actually there was not a small thing to criticize on.
The next day we hiked in Tapanti Nat Park and the day after we went to Cachi lake and drove around a bit and made nice photo's from the Orosi valley.
I want to thank Frank and Marie-Claire this way for their warm welcome, the advises on what to do in the area and the beautiful well maintained chalet. If you will be able to visit the Orosi Valley, just go and stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Orosi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Orosi

Address: Calle Juco, 200mts sur de la | Planta Santa Maria, Orosi 7100, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Orosi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Orosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chalet Orosi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the foothill of the mountain, near a river, in the heart of a coffee plantation, with a beautiful view on the Irazu Volcano, our spacious 2 chalets studio and the family chalet offers you a huge space and full comfort.All the chalets are fully equiped with hot tub on the terrace.Our guesthouse is the ideal spot to relax and unwind during your stay, in total harmony with the quiet surrounding nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Orosi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Orosi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.