We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice day trip with irazu volcano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Our Lady of the Angels Basilica (Basilica de Nuestra Senora de Los Angeles)

Our Lady of the Angels Basilica (Basilica de Nuestra Senora de Los Angeles)
C. 16, between Avdas. 2 and 4, Cartago, Costa Rica
506-551-0465
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Cartago
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This church is best known for the 1635 appearance of the country's patron saint, the Black Virgin. An annual pilgimage takes place in August.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Nice day trip with irazu volcano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Miracle of disappearing and reappearing image (doll) of the virgin. Basilica built around and healing water grotto-down ramp to right of church. No charge for visit to church or grotto. Awesome and touching even if not religious. Gorgeous basilica. Large festival lasting a week. Check dates on Wikipedia. See with irazu volcano and Lankester gardens. Nice open air grill restaurant on left far side of plaza.
Stop and see if in the area,
Tip:apparent free lance parking director, car guard and take your pic guy on right side of square and all for a small tip. Dressed like a parking cop and all the tour drivers use him!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    43
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Interesting - depends on your taste / beliefs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I visited this place with a local guide who had a lot of information about the building and history surrounding the stone statue which is something of a local legend. I didn't realise the basilica was rebuilt in the early 1900's following earthquake damage; from the outside on first impressions it looks older. The white painted walls look fabulous when viewed against the blue sky. It's also busy with services being broadcast by CD and there is usually a sizeable congregation with people coming and going constantly. Inside is different to what I had previously experienced in European cathedrals - instead of the stone pillars there are brightly painted , slimmer ones and a bright, wooden cupola which is very beautiful to look at. At the far end is a large edifice thing housing the statue of the virgin; purely personally it is too gaudy for me but it's the centre of the local Catholic faith. (Apparently in the 1600's a local girl found the statue on a rock and it has been venerated ever since. I'm told 2m people come on pilgrimage here to see it.)
Underneath the basilica is a museum space which houses the rock and this has been made into a shrine.You can also see where the building has been propped up due to previous earthquakes.The rock had a stream running from it - this has been diverted since and now pours out of pipes in a sunken, paved area nearby. There is a thriving trade in selling the bottled water and souvenirs.
Even if you are not religious it is worth a visit to the building itself and it's easily found in Cartago with parking spaces around the square it's in. If you are there then walk a couple of minutes further and see the old, ruined basilica - this is the dark, stone walls of the former building which have been preserved and the interior made into some pleasant gardens. Lots of local people sit around here, especially apparently courting couples.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stop visit at Basilica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very interesting set and the square full of people from round the world was an experience, Be aware of the crow when visiting the museum part.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I enjoyed my visit to the basilica. I was moved by the parishioners who came in on their knees all the way to the alter. I could feel the warmth if the church!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautifu church,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Well worth a visit to this church as it is truly beautiful, even though Cartago has nothing else to offer.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lady of the Angels Basilica (Basilica de Nuestra Senora de Los Angeles) also viewed

Cartago, Province of Cartago
Cartago, Province of Cartago
 
Cartago, Province of Cartago
Province of Cartago, Costa Rica
 

Been to Our Lady of the Angels Basilica (Basilica de Nuestra Senora de Los Angeles)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Lady of the Angels Basilica (Basilica de Nuestra Senora de Los Angeles), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.