We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped in for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Valle de Orosi, Cartago 95-7100, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cartago
Wiscasset, Maine, USA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Stopped in for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The layout is superb, with flowers and orchids everywhere. Well maintained grounds and very helpful staff. We parked, and were driven to the Captains Quarters for food and drink. Really special. The food was passable, not spectacular, clearly using what was on hand. Order local fish and beef (trout from the pool on site) are good. Prep time was long, but we watched birds and ambled about taking in the sites. All in all, a pleasant afternoon spent in a relaxing and beautiful location. Perhaps a stay next time.

Room Tip: Water falls are loud, but there are many rooms to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    23
    18
    16
See reviews for
29
47
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

beautiful scenery and very enjoyable thermal pool,value great at 85$ on kayak .com Breakfast great and included with choices.. drinks expensive recommend eating in town spa seems good but didnt have time to try it out thermal pool open at all hours

Room Tip: check shower out in your room and make sure wter heater turned on
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We went to this hotel this weekend with a couple of friends. We were really looking forward this trip since we are very busy people and we finally got to escape to find some peace of mind... We were offered a good price even for high season. We got very excited to see the hotel's entrance and the first buildings but the excitement did not last long. My husband, friends and I had high expectations for a 5 stars rated hotel so when we finally went in the reception we had a bad feeling when we saw a very cheesy picture of a lady hanging in one of the main walls, ragged, outdated furniture and devices. Staff was not properly dressed for a 5 star hotel and this was just to start. We were given 2 very separate rooms and very different from each other for the same price.. When we claimed for the room next to our friends they said they were full for the weekend and it was not possible.. They said he we stayed one more night they could probably make the change. We could see with our own eyes this statement was not true when we passed some empty rooms.. Our room was nice, I mean the infrastructure but it was too close from the access street. We were hit by a strong mold smell. We had to turn the fan on and the room felt even colder. The coffee for the room was in a plastic food bag and the bathtub tiles and doors had mold on them. The TV was all static and there were not much channels to choose from. We decided to in for a walk and grab a bite to eat. The property is very beautiful, but we were very dissapointed and disgusted to see the jacuzzies all dirty, brown from the very old water left on them! When getting to the restaurant to make the story short, due to the high prices and lack of good responses from the personnel we decided to look for a better place to eat outside the hotel. We found a very small 'soda' where we ate better by a few bucks and treated as at home. Great for 'Soda dona Luz'! We actually enjoyed the got water pool at night but dinner was not so successful. Staff is not well informed, needs more customer service training, bill was not complete, we had stained spoons and on real olive oil just to mention some things. The next day was not so different. Breakfast was not motivating. We decided to spend the rest of the day sleeping to avoid more bad surprises.. We are local tourists and we felt really ashamed for the international tourists who may visit this place. Please don't give up Costa Rica, there are a lot other great places to visit with fair prices, high class service and awesome sites!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was a great experience. Beautifull place with very nice people. Located in the cloud forest. Great food and weather, although depending on the time of the it may rain on you a little. Close to alot of tours, we went whitewater rafting. The thermal pool was awesome. Quiet and nice.

Room Tip: alot of different style of rooms to choose from,we liked the log cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We wished we stayed longer than 2 days at this hotel. It's hard to find but it's well worth the drive. The property is set in the middle of a river surrounded by mountains. It has an amazing thermal pool which I was told is fed by a vein from a close volcano. We had a stardart room which was big and spacious, the rate included breakfast which you can choose any from the menu. The staff was very polite and friendly. The hotel exceeded our expectations. We'll recomend it to friends.

Room Tip: The rooms are all separated so they feel very private. Unless You want to pay more there is no need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My son and I stayed there once before in 2008 and had a great experience. However, there reservation website requires credit card and passport information and then the staff NEVER gets back to you if they are booked. After three attempts, we had to call them (international call) to see if they had availability, only to find out that they did not have any vacancy. What happened to the courtesy of a response to let you know that this wasn't a phishing website. I don't know if it is still owned by the former Braniff Airline pilot, but it sounds like the staff needs a good kick in the (well, you know what) or it will go the same direction as the airline.

So now we are down to the last minute to make reservations and the FINE folks at the Orosi Lodge were VERY accomodating and helpful. A German family owned and operated lodge that we enjoyed. Even when we were wrong in our belief of checkout time and came back two hours late, there was no penalty. Now this was also because the room was not booked afterwards. However, they could have charged extra.

So my put on this is to stay at the OROSI LODGE if given the choice.

Room Tip: Book at the Orosi Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This a very nice quite hotel right inside the mountains. It is all about nature and relaxation, so ince. It looks like a small hotel, but you will be surprise. I just love it. the service is very good, but the food could be a litle bite better

Room Tip: chose the ones that are far up the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino

Address: Valle de Orosi, Cartago 95-7100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Cartago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cartago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 65 rooms new property located in the beautiful and legendary Orosi Valley 39 Km./ 24 Mls. from San José represents the only Mountain & Spa destination in Costa Rica. Hotel Río Perlas Spa & Resort is surrounded by many natural attractions as: Tapantí National Park (15 Km./ 9 Mls.), the Irazú Volcano (57 Km./ 35 Mls.), the Turrialba Volcano (30 Km./ 19 Mls.), the Arqueological Reserve of Guayabo ( 30Km. / 19 Mls.), the Pacuare and Reventazón Rivers normally used for white water rafting, the Lankaster Gardens (9 Km./ 6 Mls.), the Ujarrás Valley and also the Cathedral of Nuestra Señora de los Angeles located in the center of the old Costa Rica metropoli: Cartago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Perlas Cartago
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Cartago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.