We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCOMPETANT RESERVATION STAFF” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Valle de Orosi, Cartago 95-7100, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Cartago
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“INCOMPETANT RESERVATION STAFF”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My son and I stayed there once before in 2008 and had a great experience. However, there reservation website requires credit card and passport information and then the staff NEVER gets back to you if they are booked. After three attempts, we had to call them (international call) to see if they had availability, only to find out that they did not have any vacancy. What happened to the courtesy of a response to let you know that this wasn't a phishing website. I don't know if it is still owned by the former Braniff Airline pilot, but it sounds like the staff needs a good kick in the (well, you know what) or it will go the same direction as the airline.

So now we are down to the last minute to make reservations and the FINE folks at the Orosi Lodge were VERY accomodating and helpful. A German family owned and operated lodge that we enjoyed. Even when we were wrong in our belief of checkout time and came back two hours late, there was no penalty. Now this was also because the room was not booked afterwards. However, they could have charged extra.

So my put on this is to stay at the OROSI LODGE if given the choice.

Room Tip: Book at the Orosi Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    19
    15
    15
See reviews for
28
40
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This a very nice quite hotel right inside the mountains. It is all about nature and relaxation, so ince. It looks like a small hotel, but you will be surprise. I just love it. the service is very good, but the food could be a litle bite better

Room Tip: chose the ones that are far up the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The grounds are well kept but when you go into your room you are immediately disgusted by the dead insects on the floor. The places is outdated and the TV doesn't work because the channels are all blurry. The bathroom's hot water supply is not hot but warm, and the shower stall doors are stuck and screws are coming loose. The restaurant had horrendous food they over charged and our waitstaff was friendly but blindly unaware that Christmas lights should only be used during the holidays and packaged cheese slices should never be used on salads. Everything we ordered was too salty and even our drinks could not be done correctly as their sodas were flat. I have never been to a place that looks so good in pictures but turned out to be such a place I would never want to visit again. Sorry!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Have been visiting Rio Perlas for over a year to use hot spring pool but always put off staying by reviews on Tripadviser. However, due to Orosi lodge being full just spent lovey two nights here with my wife, 4 year old daughter and friend visiting from England. Our rooms were spacious, nicely maintained, came with coffe makers and freebies such as shoe shine,sowing kit etc.Setting is lovely and you can go for a fairly extensive hike in the grounds, followed by a lovely swim in hot spring. Breakfast was a buffet with good selection of eggs, Gallo pinto, fruits, pastries and toast. We ate in the restaurant one night and food was alright and by costa rican standards good value. Overall a lovely place to stay and if you are there do check out the many splendours of the lovely Orosi valley.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

To be fair, this is the Green Season and they were working on several projects. The grounds are beautiful and there are trails leading up into the mountain. The mineral pool was an ungodly murky green when we arrived. We've stayed at hot springs spas/ resorts and the water ususally has a green tinge but with this pool you expected the Loc Ness Monster to surface. The swimming pool was cloudy and they were doing some kind of construction. So, 1 day to use the pools and we couldn't. The next morning the mineral pool was unbelievably clear! We saw several workers around the pool the previous afternoon and they worked a miracle! We had to leave before using the pools so I can't report on them.
Our room, while large was spartan. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The floors had been mopped but were not clean and this is the first time I have ever put my sandals on just to walk across the floor. To the defense of the housekeepers, there are no rugs and the asphalt drive tracks in to the room.
I think this is probably the best accomodation in the Orosi area but it the rooms are outdated. Everything has an old and not cared for look. Like a lot of places, the first glance looks good but it is only surface. The porticos have a warm feeling but no chairs on which to sit.
The restaurant is "upscale" but our meals were only so-so. there is a complimentry breakfast which was meager. They have breakfast on the menu but it caused a major confusion when we wanted to order off the menu so we gave up and ate the buffet.
There is free WIFI near the gate house.
Because of the season, our room was $111 including tax and they said the room in High Season would be $136. I only mention this so you can compare.
Since this is Costa Rica and not in a metro area, we didn't expect English to be spoken and other than at the reception, it wasn't. However, all the staff needs more training to provide a better vacation experience for the guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

This must have been a good hotel about 30 years ago. Unfortunately, nothing appears to have been done to keep it up to standard. The location is beautiful and the thermal bath is very comfortable but the rooms are in desparate need of maintenance (old and broken toilets and showers e.g.). The hotel does not provide any of the services it claims: the restaurant is terrible, there are no coffee making facilities in the rooms, there is no wifi (also not in the reception area - I was told for three days every day that the connection was experiencing temporary difficulties), the staff is incompetent, etc. Expect a two star hotel and you won't be disappointed, but five stars (as they claim for themselves - when did anyone from the Costa Rican tourism board last check this hotel? - is ridiculous!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

This is in no way a 5 star resort or even close to it. We arrived at night and it took them over 40 minutes to check us in, we were taken to the room – it needs total renovation and is aged. The bathroom has broken tiles and the hot water did not work, I called reception but they told me they had no maintenance staff until the morning. The television had a list of cable channels but none worked neither did the remote control. The bed was uncomfortable and the mattress had springs that lodged in your back, the bed sheets and covers were humid and smelled of mould. There were cockroaches in the bathroom, we would have gone but had pre-paid for two nights and it was late.

In the morning we got woken up by a very noisy construction with sounds of banging and metal cutting, nobody had told us about this. Tried to take a shower but the water was freezing! I went to complain at reception but the people initially ignored me and told me to fill in a complaint slip. When I said that I either wanted a refund or switched to a decent room or I will block the charge on the credit card they told me the manager will come and talk to me. There was a man sitting in a office behind the reception and took him over 10 minutes to get up to talk to me – maybe he thought I would get board and go back to my room??? Anyway, after putting things very clear he agreed as a great favour to move us to different rooms away from the construction. These rooms were far and we had to wait for their car to come and pick us up as they did not allow us to drive to the cabin, this took over 30 min.

The new cabin was better but still very aged and smelly, but at least it had hot water and away from the construction so we thought we would sleep well – how wrong were we!!! Finally showered went to have breakfast, on arriving to the restaurant the waitress seemed to be in a very intimate moment with the waiter and looked very annoyed and irritated that we disturbed. The service was awful, rude and the food was horrible – any time we asked for something like salt or more coffee the waitress seemed very annoyed… The next morning at 600am on the spot again we got woken up, this time not by construction but by maintenance staff using a petrol mower in front of the cabin and cutting tree branches that overhung the cabin, that once cut hit the metal roof that resounded like an explosion in the room. That was the last straw… The pool looked dirty and the whole place looked as if it needed total and serious renovations. On the plus side the locations is beautiful and Orosi is precious, we moved to Sanchiri Lodge and couldn’t be happier!

On checkout we waited over 40 minutes to have our luggage taken to our car by their car, and on complaining to the manager about the stay he apologised and told me to write a review and they will contact me with some form of compensation – never heard from them again. I know my complaint went straight to the trash can. Save yourself from the dirt, incompetence, noise and do not stay at Rio Perlas! There are many other lodges that are far superior and have better views and prices.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino

Address: Valle de Orosi, Cartago 95-7100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Cartago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Cartago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 65 rooms new property located in the beautiful and legendary Orosi Valley 39 Km./ 24 Mls. from San José represents the only Mountain & Spa destination in Costa Rica. Hotel Río Perlas Spa & Resort is surrounded by many natural attractions as: Tapantí National Park (15 Km./ 9 Mls.), the Irazú Volcano (57 Km./ 35 Mls.), the Turrialba Volcano (30 Km./ 19 Mls.), the Arqueological Reserve of Guayabo ( 30Km. / 19 Mls.), the Pacuare and Reventazón Rivers normally used for white water rafting, the Lankaster Gardens (9 Km./ 6 Mls.), the Ujarrás Valley and also the Cathedral of Nuestra Señora de los Angeles located in the center of the old Costa Rica metropoli: Cartago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Perlas Cartago
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Cartago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.