We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poas Volcano National Parque ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poas Volcano

Poas Volcano
CR130 alajuela, costa rica, Poas Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
2442-7041/ 2430-4127
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Volcanos, National Parks
Attraction Details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poas Volcano National Parque ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hike up the mountain trail to the "active" crater is gentle enough for anyone to manage. If the weather is not clear you may not be able to see it however. The crater is basically a sulfur lake now and you can smell the chemicals in the air, if the wind happens to be coming in your direction.

It's a beautiful site to visit if you are staying in the San Jose or Alajuela area it's a short drive and pretty much every tour agency offering will contain at least a stop at this location.

The 2nd crater referred to as the Lagoon is a stiff hike up a carefully groomed path so be prepared to break a sweat or two there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    884
    515
    160
    34
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A good way to spend your day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Let me start by saying that clouds didn't allow us to see the crater... and yet I think the trip was all worth it.
Being from South America, I am quite used to the scenery.... still the views are quite nice, and the forest on the drive up is really beautiful.
There are several stops you can make and have snacks and coffee, buy crafts, or have lunch.
The park itself is also gorgeous, with the main path to the volcano being a short 15min walk (not demanding), and several alternate paths that you can take in case you want to see more nature, and enjoy the scenery.
Given our party, including grandma and small kids, and plenty of rain during our visit, we limited our visit to the main path... but would have liked to go to the nearby lake, which I heard is quite beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The drive to Poas is super scenic and takes about one hour.The entrance fee is 10 USD per person and 3 bucks to park. The walk to the caldera is only about 500 feet on a paved road so even those with mobility issues will be fine.The caldera is wide with a blue lake at the bottom.If you get a clear view take a picture while you can as persistent fog usually obscures the view. The trail to the 2nd non active caldera is in the cloud forest so you get a Hansel and Gretal "spooky forest" feel. if you hold the whole thing it will take approx 1 1/2 hours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A+ trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fun for the whole family! Our 1/2 day Gecko Adventure Tour took us through beautiful mountain countryside and a large family coffee & ornamental plantation which over looks San Jose. Look for the little old man with the painted hay cart.... $1.00 USD per kiddie ride! Viewing the large steaming crater was really cool! Or hot? If you like a moderate hike, I suggest taking the trail to Botos Luguna as well. Lots of interesting plants, squirrels, and pretty humming birds!! Even the lunch at the visitor center was good. A+ trip. Hey Iky Aye, enjoyed the chat!!

Pura Vida En Jesus Cristo

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a Bad Place to Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have seen volcanoes before, but decided to go and check Poas out given how close and convenient it is too see.

The good news is that is very easy to view the caldera. Just as well because it is not that great compared with other volcanoes I have seen.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poas Volcano also viewed

Heredia, Province of Heredia
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Poas Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poas Volcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.