We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poas Volcano

Poas Volcano
CR130 alajuela, costa rica, Poas Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
2442-7041/ 2430-4127
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$85*
and up
Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
265 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived at Poas shortly after it opened. We parked our car and took the very easy walk up to the crater. When we first arrived, it was very cloudy and we could see absolutely nothing. I knew others talked about hanging around to see if it would clear, but instead, we walked over to the lake, perhaps 15 to 20 minute walk. While there, it too was cloudy/foggy but there were definitely patches that would come through here and there for a picture op. Instead of heading around the loop, we went back to the crater and found it clear. Wonderful pictures and an amazing sight. We were able to do all of this and get back to our B&B for a 12 noon check out and then off to catch our flight out. I would definitely recommend this for a nice morning or afternoon walk.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,026
    606
    208
    49
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The sight of the Poas volcano is really awesome - but you must arrive early to be able to see it. We were lucky to have a clear day, but even so, the clouds rolled in at about 10 a.m. and that was it, you couldn't see anything more afterwards, just white fog.

We drove there in our rental car from Alajuela, and even though the distance wasn't far, the road is narrow with lots of turns so it took us over an hour to get there. The hike from the car park to the volcano is not long, but it is uphill. It is also considerably colder there - we left Alajuela with 28 degrees Celsius and arrived at Poas with only 18, so bring a sweatshirt or a jacket.

It's a great trip, but make sure you get there early in the morning.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We couldnt ask for more, my children were impressed and the tour guide from Waves and Trails (Adriana) was very good, she even took us to Sarchi to get a nice oxcard (hand painted) after the visit to the Poas Volcano, I recommend doing the volcano tour early in the morning so you avoid the clouds.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great up close view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you want to look directly into the volcano, this is the one to go to. You can walk right up to the edge and look into the face of Mars. Just a short hike to the crate lake also which is georgeous.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Coffee and Volcan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It was a gloomy day, so was not able to see the volcano. The musuem on site was great and there were great shopping itemts.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poas Volcano also viewed

Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 
Province of Cartago, Costa Rica
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Poas Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poas Volcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.