We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drive up the volcano was beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poas Volcano

Poas Volcano
CR130 alajuela, costa rica, Poas Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
2442-7041/ 2430-4127
Improve this listing
Visit Poas Volcano like an insider
Top Rated
$85*
and up
Poas Volcano, Doka Coffee Estate and Sarchi Arts...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Swedesboro, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Drive up the volcano was beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The closer we went up to the park the cloudier and more rainy it became. We never did get to see the crater but the walk around the park was invigorating. Before you go, take a warm water proof jacket, umbrella and wear sneakers. There are MANY steps that are steep, unregulated as to height and if you have bad knees or hips, this isn't a trip for you. There is a $10.00 entrance fee to the park.
After our walk around the rain forest( which in itself is worth while) we stopped in the visitors center for a hot cup of coffee and a pastry. The coffee was excellent as was the deep dark chocolate cake.
The coffee farms going up the mountain are beautiful and scenic. We will be back!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    999
    589
    203
    45
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“get there early before fog rolls in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

if u get there too late u will not be able to see the volcano! be sure to bring warm clothing, weather changes drastically! be prepared for the sulfur smell

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice time, impresive volcano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My brother Bryan came from Canada to visit us. His wife wanted to know the Poas Volcano so all family visited it. The weather was great, having the opportunity to have a 360° clear views. After that we went to eat at local restaurants located in the same are of Poasito.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clouds don't interfere with hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The weather made for poor crater visibility but made the hike more pleasant for the cool breeze. Recommend good footwear as paved trail can be slippery. The visitor center has a nice snack bar.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We live in Costa Rica, and have been to Poas at least a dozen times. It is always worth the drive. Sure, some times you may have to wait up to an hour for the clouds to clear so you can look down into the crater, but every time it is worth it. Don't visit Costa Rica without making a trip to Poas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poas Volcano also viewed

Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 
Province of Cartago, Costa Rica
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Poas Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poas Volcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.