We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best nights sleep and best food in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poas Volcano Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Poas Volcano Lodge to your Saves list
Poas Volcano Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Vara Blanca, Poas Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best nights sleep and best food in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights and ate at the Lodge. The Lodge is in a great location not too far from the Airport but far enough away to be in the real Costa Rica. It is in a rural location set in on a working dairy farm. Despite this there is quite a bit of cloudforest/rainforest. The lodge has some pathways through this jungle and I went on a nice walk through them.
Weather-permitting there are great views of Poas Volcano and the surrounding area.
As for the Lodge itself, I couldn't recommend it more. There are great communal areas, with lots of interesting books and places to sit quietly to read. The rooms were great and the beds were very comfortable. It must have been the altitude or the location, but I slept very well and deeply there. However, what I think is under-rated was the food. Certainly the best food I ate during my whole trip. I will be back!

Room Tip: Chose rooms 1-3. They have views towards the volcano, which you can see from lying in your bed on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    65
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
62
106
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a romantic find for our last night in Costa Rica. A bit pricey for CR. and the Internet doesn't reach the cabins, just the lodge.
Great pancakes at breakfast.
Beautiful lodge area with fireplace and great architecture.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

When we arrived at the lodge we had an awkward start as we were not placed in the room we had booked which had a jacuzzi tub in the private garden. Apparently the jacuzzis had not been working for 6 months and our travel agent should have informed us ( the lodge's website still displayed the jacuzzi). We were still offered the room and the manager Beba, who became our friend, bought our dinner at the lodge that evening as a nice gesture. When we returned to our room our bed had been turned down, bedwarmers placed and curtains drawn which was really impressive. Our short stay here turned out to be a wonderful last bit of our trip to Costa Rica. The lodge is beautifully built with large raw beams and beautiful stonework. It has a cozy feel with fireplaces in the dining area, library and lounge. There is also another lounge with a pool table and a movie room. The restaurant offers a set dinner which was delicious but slightly higher priced than others in the area. There is also a set breakfast which was included in our stay and the restaurant is closed for lunch. Upon Beba's recommendation, we tried the french restaurant Colbert a short distance from the lodge and it was reasonably priced and delicious. We also visited the La Paz Waterfall Gardens and the Poas Volcano National park which are within close proximity to the lodge. Though the weather was cool and rainy were very comfortable at this haven in the clouds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in a Garden room, and were a bit concerned about the TA reviews calling this lodge "rustic." But we actually found it to be quite comfortable. The decor suits the area, and we liked opening the curtains and seeing cows and a green pasture right outside!
Yes, the lack of AC (not even a ceilng fan, as I recall) or heat could be a problem - but it wasn't for us. (Why don't hotels and lodges in Costa Rica use window screens, so you can get fresh air without worrying about mosquitos?!)
Now that I see the pics in TA, I realize that the Lodge rooms are probably more modern and comfortable; they might cost more, though.
The grounds and the lodge itself are lovely. We did manage to take a quick walk on one of the trails -- right before the rains came!
And the breakfast was wonderful.
Very convenient to get to the Poas Volcano and the La Paz Waterfall gardens.
A word to the wise: We did not want to pay the price for the set dinner at the Lodge (seemed high to us), but most restaurants in town were closed when we were there (either because of the "green season", or because eateries are customarily closed on Mondays). We did manage to find a nice place at the main junction for some tacos and chicken. Plan your dining options in advance, if possible, or you might get stuck.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Poas Volcano Lodge for 3 days in early October 2012.

Getting there: We drove from the Caribean coast, which is about a 4 hour drive over very narrow and winding roads. The website says that the lodge is only 45 minutes the San Jose Airport which may be true if you know exacltly where you are going. If you are unfamiliar with the area, it more like an hour and a half drive, some of which is through the confusing streets of Alajuela (the second largest city in Costa Rica). Streets in the city are poorly marked, so a GPS with Costa Rican maps is most helpful in trying to find your way through the area. Try to arrive during the daylight hours (it gets dark in Costa Riva at about 6 PM year round so plan accordingly) as navigating on the narrow winding roads can be challenging in the dark, especially on those evenings with thick fog.

Accessibility: Our room was on a single level, with no steps from the driveway. However, there were stairs into the main building, and everywhere in the main building, including into the room where breakfast is served, making it inaccessible to persons in a wheelchair.

Rooms: The opinion you have of the lodge is greatly influenced by where your room is. People staying in the main lodge with volcano views or garden hot tubs have a much more “elegant” experience than those staying in the Garden Rooms which are much more “rustic”? We had a Garden Room which is outside the main building. There was a large bay window that overlooked the cow pasture. The room had stone walls, wood paneling, soft (some would say inadequate) lighting and modest beds and furnishings. There was a large bathroom with a shower. Luckily there is a portable heater supplied as the bathroom is all stone and wood, and VERY chilly on the mornings we were there. There is no radio, television or internet access in the room we were in, so the evenings can be VERY long with little to do. We did appreciate the coffee maker in the room, and the electric tea pot with a selection of tea and hot chocolate supplied. There is no closet or dresser which could be annoying if staying more than and a day or two.

The main lodge was newly renovated. There is a sitting room and a library that has a selection of books on local history, geography, flora and fauna. There is a family room downstairs that has a pool table and a computer for internet access.

The restaurant serves breakfast every morning (included in the rate) It is a very standard breakfast, with cereal , fresh fruit, eggs, a breakfast meat and toast. It was filling if nothing special. The view from the large floor to ceiling windows is lovely, overlooking the working dairy farm, and a bird feeder that attracts an array of colorful local birds. The dinner must be pre-ordered from a set menu that changes daily. The cost was quite a bit higher than meals in the surrounding area, so we chose to eat elsewhere (try Colbert’s the French restaurant just down the road: delicious food at VERY reasonable prices! See separate review). While the web site states that there was room service, none was available during our stay.

The weather during our stay was not optimal, with it raining part of every day, as well as being quite chilly, so we did not use the hiking trails on the property though they are reported to be very nice. Staff were polite and very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main lodge as the Garden Rooms will be too rustic for most people's taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here early in Sept. The grounds here are perfect, lots to walk and see. The hotel was very nice and had a great rustic feel. We didn't stay in the main house, but stayed in the rooms that were not attached.The bathrooms and shower were great (the water gets hot!!). The staff was very nice and very helpful. The food (it's a set menu and cost about $30 per person) was good, however I found it to be a little expensive for what I got. I would have liked a TV in the room, but other than that we loved this place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is more like a home and you immediately feel welcome. I loved the reading room, it really reminded me of England where I am from. Our room was fabulous with a great view. I really enjoyed talking to Michael and Beba who where very hands and informative. The staff are wonderful - ask for some of the strawberry liquour made from strawberries grown on the property.I would ABSOLUTELY stay here again!!! - Dee Dee and Fran

Room Tip: All the rooms i saw where wonderful, however I would not want to stay in the garden rooms as they se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poas Volcano Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Volcano Lodge

Address: Vara Blanca, Poas Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poas Volcano Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Poas Volcano Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Volcano Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poas Volcano Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.