We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Altura Hotel

Save Saved
You added Altura Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altura Hotel
Nr. Estacion de Servicio de Poasito, Poas Volcano National Park 20802, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Maribor, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst hotel ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The worst hotel on our 14 days trip in Costa Rica. We stayed in 14 different 4 stars hotels and this one was the worst. The stuff is extremely unfriendly (we haven’t felt welcomed here that is for sure). The room is very basic, and not clean at all (I had to clean the windows, which you can’t open, to take a photo). We had bugs in our room (big bugs, coming out at night, if was awful, we haven’t slept the whole night because of that). It was also very cold during the night – no real fireplace, just a fake electric heater. The breakfast is very poor, and if all the guests come eat at the same time, you won’t have a table for yourself. The location is not bad, but that is the only positive thing. We would describe it more like a hostel then a real hotel. Not a place for dog lovers - they had two dogs; one was on a one meter leash, without any water during the day, the other was in a small cage. Totally overpriced and overrated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear costumer,

Altura Hotel truly regrets your unpleasent experience at our hotel, non the less feels obligated to share certain points worth mentioning. For example the incovinients you seem to have experienced were taken care of immediately, even changing room for your convenience, but you have to keep in mind that we are located in the mountain surrounded by wilderness, an essential part of our beauty as a destination, therefore present everywhere.
Now regarding the animal mistreats implied, you should know that, Antonieta the dog that you referred as being left, tied up, is one of our many animals who act as an friendship ambassador, for all who visit, and remains free to interact with our costumers almost all day except for the two hours during which we serve breakfast.In Oso's case(the Grand Pyriness), he remains away from our guests during day time, for safety reasons, because he is a garde dog, making it safer for all to roam the property at night, keeping all of us safe.

Lastly, I would like to let you know that this review well be taken to our General Managers attention
For his consideration, because as you can easily verify we have had all previous good and excellent reviews, regarding the hote'sl infrastructure, staff, localization, and animals.

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This place is a bit hard to find, but if you plan to visit Poas Volcano, stay here, nowhere else. We stayed in the suite and it was magnificent and very reasonable in price. The view was priceless. The staff was very helpful. The garden was to die for. The recommended a superb restaurant. The only thing they couldn't do was lift the fog from the volcano, but watching 'horizontal fog' out our picture window was a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Book the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks your description of your experience with us, and feels encouraged by it to keep trying our best and therefore becoming a memorable vacation. We do agree on your recommendation regarding the suite's magnificent view of the Central Valley during nighttime specially. We hope you where able to enjoy the viewpoint's scenery too, superb on it's own way.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Altura Hotel was our first experience of Costa Rica, and our only disappointment was having to leave it. The suite was absolutely beautiful - glass enclosed double room in the middle of the lush greenery on the mountainside. Amazing views from inside and out. Great vista point to see the whole valley and lots of flora, fauna, and wildlife all around. The owners are a family who treated us like visiting family. Warm, friendly, helpful and down-to-earth. The breakfast was delicious and served traditional style. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the beautiful Volcan Poas area.

Room Tip: There are 5 rooms: 4 are in one two-story building, and one is a stand-alone suite with glass all ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for the description of your experience with us, and feels encouraged by it to keep trying our best, blended this with a great place full of wonderfull natural riches certainly makes a worthy combination, and hopefully becoming a memorable vacation.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We spend two nights at this beautiful mountain home surrounded by agricultural farms and magnificent view of San Jose valley. The rooms were very convenient, easily accommodate family of five persons. Breakfast was very tasty, either the traditional Costa Rican breakfast or the kids pancake breakfast. A perfect place to begin/end your Costa Rica vacation.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks your description of your experience with us, and feels encouraged by it to keep trying our best and therefore becoming a memorable vacation.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is not a hotel as we would think of it in the US. It is a family run bed and breakfast inn on a dairy farm, near to Poas Volcano and La Paz Gardens Waterfalls. The rooms are comfortable, well furnished and equipped, clean, and perfectly maintained. The breakfast is wonderful. The grounds and the setting are beautiful. Walk up the road and you will catch a view of Nicoya Bay, (Pacific Ocean.) It is reasonably close to San Jose and the airport, so it was a perfect choice for the final stop before needing to head for home. As noted, it is not a hotel in that it has no restaurant for lunch or dinner, though there are several places in either direction.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks your description of your experience with us, and feels encouraged by it to keep trying our best and therefore becoming a memorable vacation.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A boutique hotel with a great style:
On the inside- top class interior design.
On the outside- beautiful and peaceful "farm feeling" on the mountain.

The hosts are helpful and the breakfast is good.
This is the best hotel we visited in Costa Rica!
Don't miss it!

Eyal & Chen,
Israel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear customer,,

Altura Hotel thanks you for such a nice and heartfelt description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our custumers with the best service possible. Such remarks regarding our facilities and staff encourage us to keep trying our best to make you feel at home with us.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I can't say enough about what a terrific place this is. We stayed in the suite and it was wonderful. The hotel is actually on a small dairy farm. It is a very quiet place and the views are spectacular. It is a short drive from both Poas Volcano and La Paz Waterfalls. There isn't a restaurant but they do serve a delicious traditional Costa Rican breakfast every morning that includes fresh cheese made on site. My only complaint was that the hot water in the shower was a little quirky (hot one second and cold the next) but considering everything else it doesn't merit withholding a star. This place is a jewel, a family owned place that remembers that service matters!
Hint: Bring a jacket! Even though it was 87 degrees in San Jose it is MUCH cooler in Poas!

Room Tip: Spend the extra few bucks and get the suite. The views are nothing short of spectacular and its set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear customer,,

Altura Hotel thanks you for your great description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our customers the best service. Remarks as this, encourage the whole staff to keep trying our best to make you feel at home with us.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Ps.I will make sure to look into your observation regarding the hot water, thank you for letting us know, in which areas there is room for improvement..

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Altura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altura Hotel

Address: Nr. Estacion de Servicio de Poasito, Poas Volcano National Park 20802, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altura Hotel is a small resort that blends the essence of the rural lifestyle with the comfort that offers a great hotel room, altogether at a mystical place filled with fog, rain, wild animals and an incomparable view of the central plateau and the Nicoyan Gulf on the Pacific coast.The Hotel located 24 km away from the city of Alajuela, and International Airport and 5 min drive from the Poas Volcano ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Altura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.