We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Poas Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

That was our first stop in Costa Rica and i can say that this was a really good choice. First a hotel is very good situated, just 5 min ride from poas volcano national park. Our room was clean with very cozy bed and many pillows and the view was breathtaking. I have just one complain about the room and it is a bathroom. I was not really satisfied with it. But that was just one thing that i didnt like. What you need to do is to try amazing food in poas lodge. While my trip in CR i was always thinking about how i want to have one more dinner there. Breakfast as well was really good. While you are eating you can enjoy beautiful scenery and colibri flying around. So i think you must stay in this hotel, because its perfect to start your journey from such a good a place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    65
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
204
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I you want the best view in CR then Poas Lodge is the place to be... Two American brothers couldn't be more welcoming. Dinner and a few drinks around the huge fireplace was a great end to our day of traveling and white water rafting.

Thanks again Jimmie, see you both soon.

Paul Taylor
Houston, TX

Room Tip: All rooms have a million dollar view of San Jose 8,000 ft. up over looking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We love this place and the brothers who own it. We found it on TripAdvisor last year and enjoyed our stay so much that we planned our Costa Rican trip this year based on the availability of rooms at the Poas Lodge. The place is breath-taking and the owners, Jimmie and Stephan, go out of their way to make you feel right at home. The air is cool, the fireplace is warm and the scenery is beyond incredible. Stephan is an awesome cook and makes everything from scratch - everything we've eaten there has been fantastic. There is nothing better than sitting on the couch, having a drink and watching the clouds roll in over the cities below! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Dont bother looking anywhere else. Stay here rather than staying in San Jose. Go the volcano bright and early in the morning or the Doka Coffee Plantations. Great location and you absolutely will enjoy the views. Fog rolling in, cows crazing, amazing views of the valley and on a clear day you can see the ocean. Stephan is a great cook and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals there. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I can definitely recommend this lodge if you are planning on visiting the Poas Volcano. Rooms are cosy, nicely decorated and clean, breakfast keeps you going for most of the day, the meals served are tasty and the view over the valley is spectacular. Keep up the good work folks !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I chose Poas Lodge due to the great trip advisor reviews and close location to the volcano. We stayed there one night in May 2014. We were able to get an early start and go up to the crater as soon as the park opened. The view from the room was amazing during the day and really special at night too! Hot showers and a warm comfy bed which is important as it gets really cool at nights. The breakfast was delicious too. We enjoyed the meal and loved the special touch of the fresh carrot/orange juice while we watched hummingbirds and enjoyed the view. Plus, they served seriously the best Costa Rican coffee that we tried during our entire 2 week trip. The owners were helpful and knowledgeable about the area and were able to make recommendations for our trip. Overall, highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Me and my husband spent a night on our honeymoon on April 2014. Upon arrival, good looking Jimmy & Stefan waited for us with a very welcoming check in, helping us with the luggage, showing us the room, the premises and informing us of the schedule.

Room was ok, coffee machine and cable TV was in the room for our use. Shower was a bit off, with hot water being not hot enough and poor water pressure (the guys accused the drought). Heating was a major no-no and the biggest drawback of our stay experience : located high on the volcano it gets chilly quite early in the afternoon, and really cold at night, though room heater was way too weak and made hardly any change.

Dinner was great with great socializing area, packed with social board games, tables, sofas, a heating fireplace and the most amazing views of san jose and the surroundings !!
The food was locally cooked by the guys, and was extremely good and sufficient ! alcohol made the atmosphere just right !

At morning the guys had mis-calculated our bill, since we paid in advance through the internet, a mistake that was later that day fixed and we were given a refund for the extra charge, yet in a place active for already a year, and having such a small crew of managers, you wouldn't expect that. it did not negatively influenced our experience of staying, but we do want the place to get better as we do care for their success !

priced at 75$US per night, the place is not bad, though it should be better in order to get the right value for money, or should be priced lower.

At morning breakfast was ok and being so close to the poas volcano park we were among the few visitors to see the volcano peak with no clouds disrupting the crater view !

Room Tip: all rooms need to be accessed by going downstairs on the hill slope so no prefrences there. all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poas Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poas Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the summit of Poas Volcano, this is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the spectacular views of the central valley of Costa Rica. We are just 5 minutes to Poas Volcano National Park, 10 miles from La Paz Waterfalls and 45 minutes to the airport. We offer clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. We also offer free wi-fi, coffee machines in selected rooms and an extensive menu on our restaurant. The atmosphere is just amazing at our lodge, just ask any of our happy guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Poas Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poas Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.