We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Poas Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best rates, Book Direct!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Amazing view from the room ,and the restaurant, amazing host,amazing vibe,this place is out of this world,perched at 2500 meters it offer an amazing view of the valley,surrounded by cows,hummingbirds.
Make sure you reserve in advance as there is only 4 rooms available.
This is a must for anyone traveling in this area,thank you Mark and Oliver,you guys are great host

Room Tip: Room 1 is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barracudasa, Manager at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
It is a pleasure! We enjoy what we do and making guests feel at home is what we do best. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    73
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
87
224
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We started a 5-week trip with 2 nights at the Poas Lodge, which set the bar extremely high for the rest of our trip! I was traveling with 4 kids, and we waited for 2 days for the rain to clear so we could see the volcano (it never did), but no one minded hanging out in this wonderful, cozy inn, with its amazing views, and wonderful hosts. The rooms were beautifully decorated and so homey--we had lots of warm blankets, wifi, coffee-maker in the room, and a fire going in the upstairs sitting area. They offered a nice menu so we ended up eating all our meals there rather than go out in the torrential rain, and it was perfect. We were all hoping we could find out way back there before we returned home, but, unfortunately it didn't work out. Maybe next trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barracudasa, Manager at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I must say you guys did have some nasty weather but we are glad you enjoyed the time relaxing, making new friends and having a good time. We would love to see you back at Poas Lodge soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica after spending the majority of our time in Guanacaste. We picked the hotel because of what I had read on TripAdvisor about the view and because we didn't want to drive halfway across the country from the Pacific to catch our afternoon flight out of San Jose (SJO is ~45 minutes from Poas Lodge). The drive up the volcano is slow (even slower for us because it was pouring), and, as others have said, it's easy to drive right by the lodge because it is small, so keep your eyes open. We ate dinner at the restaurant which was delightful, as was the breakfast the next morning. The room was small, but sufficient and the bed really comfortable and warm (it was very cold the night we were there). We woke up to a blue sky spotted with clouds and the view from both our room and the upstairs patio was AMAZING! Poas lodge is a quiet, romantic place and we'd would absolutely recommend it!

Room Tip: Any room is good! As far as we could tell, the differences were only in the bed sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barracudasa, Manager at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for the review. We find we are usually either the first or last nights stay on most guests itinerary because we are so convenient from/to SJO. Also staying here allows you to be the first at the park, even after a cooked breakfast.
We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Marc and Oliver - the current hosts do a great job making you feel at home. The rooms are great. You got a little heater and loads af warm blanketts. We been there during rainy season so it was all a bit humid, but in the evening they light up a nice fire and you can watch the valley by night. It's a real gem up high and so close to the volcano you can sleep in before going there.
For dinner you have to try Marcs Lodge Burger! Best Burger ever - and in Costa Rica on the mountain ;-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barracudasa, Manager at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I gotta say that burger is very popular, thanks for the compliment! Also happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

What an amazing place. Firstly the 2 owners are awesome. Made us feel so welcome. Second, the view is amazing. Thirdly, the meals were amazing. Forthly the bed was the most comfortable i have slept in ever! I felt like i was cocooned and had the best sleep. Fifthly the puppy dog is so great. Sixthly, the fire at night in the dining room was great, I did not want to leave, and we got to eat our meal infront of it.
I booked this place due to the reviews I had read, and we did not go wrong.
Just a great great place - highly recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barracudasa, Manager at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Well its just so cool to hear reviews like this! We make sure our beds are well dressed, we know it can get cold up here and also in hotter locations getting a good night sleep is sometimes tough with polyester sheets and mosquitoes. We use only cotton sheets and ensure there are always enough duvets and blankets. Thanks for the review and glad you slept well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nürnberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I thought I'd use the spare time after a business appointment in San José and before my flight the next day to try and see a volcano, and found the Poás Lodge as the ideal solution:

The place has been decorated and is run by two young South Africans who will go out o their way to make your stay memorable, starting with a great meal and good wide in the evening, followed by a good night's sleep in a nicely decorated and equipped room. The view down onto the sea of lights of the city of San José is breathtaking at night, don't forget to take a photo (I forgot, du to the red wine mentioned above).

They will drive you right to the Volcano Park entrance, and from there it is just a short walk to the two volcano craters that can be seen, connected by a walk through rainforest complete with hummingbirds and other animals. Just the right program for the morning (you want to be there early).

One caveat: The two taxi rides to and from the lodge are not exactly cheap, shop around until you get a deal that doesn't take advantage of you. The lodge can recommend a small company with a very nice car (8-seater I believe) and a friendly and reliable driver.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My son and I just returned home from a marvelous first trip to Costa Rica, the highlight of which was our two night stay at the just-about-perfect Poas Lodge. From the outside, the place looks like nothing more than a roadside diner, but through the doors and beyond the enthusiastic greeting of the enchanting pup Girl, lies a stylish, bohemian chic B&B. Perched high on the slopes of the Poas Volcano, the Lodge boasts spectacular views, simple but elegantly appointed rooms with plush bedding, truly outstanding food, hummingbirds galore, and two charming (albeit homesick) South African innkeepers, Mark and Oliver, whose panache is evident in everything they do. The Lodge is currently for sale (for a very tempting $270,000), so it's not clear what the future holds, but for now, it is truly a can't-miss stop for any visitor to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Poas Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poas Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the summit of Poas Volcano, this is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the most spectacular views of the central valley of Costa Rica. We are just 5 minutes to Poas Volcano National Park, 10 miles to La Paz Waterfall Gardens and 45 minutes to the airport. Poas Lodge is more a B&B than your typical lodge. We offer clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. We also offer free wi-fi, cable and coffee machines in rooms. Our restuarant is open for guest most nights with a fresh daily menu. Breakfast is included with the rooms. The atmosphere is just amazing at our lodge, just ask any of our happy guests. We invite you to visit our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Poas Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poas Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.