We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS time at the Arenal Nayara!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FABULOUS time at the Arenal Nayara!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

My sister and I stayed at the Arenal Nayara for 3 nights in mid-November – and we could not possibly have enjoyed our time there more!!! First the ride there - we flew in to Liberia and took a shuttle to the hotel using Anywhere Costa Rica. It was inconvenient that all shuttles leave from the center of Liberia rather than the airport (cost us an additional $15 in a taxi to get to the Best Western meeting spot) – but the shuttle driver was great. He spoke no English, but still found ways to communicate – and he surprised us twice by pulling to the side of the road to show us wildlife (including an adorable mama sloth and baby). The trip itself was torturous, especially for my sister who could have seriously used Dramamine – but there doesn’t seem to be a cheaper way to get to Arenal from Liberia ($58 for two people).

Upon arriving at the hotel we were very impressed with how gorgeous it was. We were greeted and pampered on arrival (fruit juice and cool scented towels at reception). Since this was a sisters’ vacation rather than a romantic trip, we had reserved a regular (non-suite) room with two double beds. We were somewhat concerned when checking in when were told there was a “situation” with our room – specifically that the only regular room they had left had a single queen bed. I love my sister, but I didn’t want to sleep with her – and without any fuss at all, they bumped us up to an incredible suite! And we couldn’t have been happier. The room was absolutely fabulous, as nearly all of the reviewers mention. We were in bungalow #2, near the pool – and unlike some of the other reviewers, we were never bothered by noise from the pool. We loved the Jacuzzi, the sound of the rain at night, and the spaciousness of the room. We would have liked more than one comfy chair on the balcony, but other than that the room was pretty perfect.

Some of the reviewers comment unfavorably on the food – but our experience very good. The breakfast was average, although sufficient in quantity – but all of our other meals were very enjoyable. And, as was the case throughout the hotel, the restaurant staff was excellent.

My sister is not really an adventurous type, so we chose a more relaxing excursion (the river float safari) which we enjoyed very much. Our guide, Roberto, was fantastic and we saw virtually all of the animals we had hoped to see. In retrospect, my sister now wishes we had done a zip line trip – doesn’t that figure?

Aside from my sister and me, we were virtually the only non-couple staying at the resort. It isn’t a place for children, but you definitely do not have to be a couple to enjoy the Arenal Nayara. We absolutely loved it, and wished we had extended our time there. We hope to return to the hotel in the not too distant future.

  • Liked — Beautiful and spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Loved it all!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,757
    169
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
264
1461
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

The room was nicely decorated and kept clean. We enjoyed the wood floors, high ceiling, and the view of the volcano. The jacuzzi on the balcony we liked, however we recommend only using it before sundown due to the bugs. The hotel overall was quiet.

The gardens were exceptionally beautiful. We loved all the flowers and friendly animals. The rabbits even ate out of our hands.

The service was overall okay. Jonathan was a great help and went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. The restaurant management needs to get it together. One day we were at the pool for a few hours and the entire time nobody came to the wet bar to serve us drinks or turn on the jets.

The food was not as good as we expected. We ended up eating outside of the hotel most of the time. After feeling sick and nauseous two nights in row after eating dinner there...we decided to only eat out after that. Breakfast was horrible! The food wasn't that bad, but the presentation killed it. If you didn't make it there within the first 15 minutes of breakfast opening, be prepared to eat with the bugs. Some of the food (such as fruit, cheese, ham, butter, syrup, jam, etc.) was left out in the open uncovered and was not replenished regularly. We were disgusted that the servers would see the condition the food was in, do nothing, and still expect us to eat it. In other places we would see bug control devices hanging at entrances and near food serving areas...they definitely should have had something like that in place!

Next time we probably will look elsewhere to stay...The Springs Resort & Spa looked pretty nice.

  • Liked — Friendly bunnies
  • Disliked — Food service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Beautiful hotel, nice staff, great location.

This hotel was much nicer than the Hilton Papagayo that we stayed at afterward which was much more expensive.

Our own villa with inside and outside showers, jacuzzi, great view. Sparkling clean, wonderful decor. They must treat the area for bugs, we didn't see any.

Strongly advise you to get GPS if you rent a car, it made all the difference, driving from Liberia airport.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamer80
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

We stayed at the Nayara for 2 nights...but we wished we could be there longer!!! The room was amazing. We loved the outdoor jacuzzi & shower...and the shower inside was great too. Everything was so clean. We really have no complaints about the accomodations.

The only problem we ran into was that we had leave really early in the morning for our next destination (rafting) and we were picked up at 5:45am (before the front lobby opened)...and the doors were locked. We had to look around for someone on the grounds to let us out (the side doors were locked too).

We had lunch at the restaurant there, very nice ambiance...but the food was okay, nothing impressive & a bit salty.

Otherwise, it was a perfect stay!

  • Liked — The room was amazing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

My husband and I along with another couple traveled to Arenal and stayed at this hotel. It was absolutely worth it.

Location:
This hotel is about 15 minutes from Fortuna and about 20 from Tabacon. It was easy to get around to different places from this hotel. It is not on the main road but you have to take a dirt road up about half a mile - that's how you get your exclusive view of the volcano. Unfortunately, the four days we were there, we only saw the tip on the last day. The area is so beautiful you forget all about the volcano.

Accomodations:
Each couple stayed in our own casita. It was gorgeous!! It was very spacious with a poster bed and comfortable bathroom and plenty of closet space. Loved the outside shower and the jacuzzi in the balcony. Every night we slept with the sliding doors open (with screen doors intact) - the sounds of the rainforest were just so natural and dreamy.

Service:
Staff rocked!! We literally showed up without a plan because we wanted to be spontaneous. Jonathan, the concierge, took care of all our tours. I totally suggest the zip-line with sky trek. At first I did not want to do it but I am so glad I did - it was just a liberating experience screaming your lungs off in the middle of the forest. That was a major rush I can not stop talking about plus Tabacon hot springs and river float. They also drive you to the volcano at night to view the lava flow.

With all the dirt roads we drove on, we unfortunately got a flat tire. But no worries, Freddy took our tire to town to get fixed and he covered the expense. We later learned he's the GM - wow - how nice is that. Do miss the spa - great spa treatment for half of what you will spend in the US.

Overall:
If I ever return to CR, I will definitely stay here again. If you go, say hello to the resident parrots and bunnies:)

  • Liked — Great staff, lush setting, super relaxing
  • Disliked — leaving...want to come back
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

Great place -- The rooms are very modern with all the comforts of home. family of 4 so we needed a roll away--which my 12yr son said was very uncomfortable. Otherwise -- flatscreen TV, dvd player, ac if needed, indoor/outdoor shower(in a very pretty garden setting) good closet space..outdoor deck with abundant flowers to provide privacy. Direct view of Arenal(usually in the clouds though.) Smallish pool -- but heated very nicely for the cool weather. Only spent 1 night--wished for more. The food was okay..but hey, you're in CR...we tried lots of the local dishes...We live in NYC so...we don't book our trips with an oversized expectation of great food. We toured the volcano area with a gude..very worthwhile. If you appreciate tropical flowers(not sure how seasonal they are) this is the place for you....the rooms may seem abit over the top for CR...but I'm not complaining! I was told the hotel only opened in Dec '07...I checked various tour guide books "08/'09 and don't recall seeing the hotel even mentioned! Kinda tells you something about most tour books..old recycled info--thank you to all the previous tripadvisor posters! In my mind--this was a magical place...

  • Liked — views and modern amendities
  • Disliked — unit was alittle too close to pool...so some overflow noise...
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

we loved this place. it's near the end of a very remote road that is tricky to navigate if you don't have 4-wheel drive...and you'll wonder if you're in the right place, but the hotel is worth the adventure down/up the road. the rooms are fun and nice and cleen and this is a great place for any adventure or leisure traveler. the staff was very nice. the only complaint i'd have is that the rooms are a little pricey (maybe b/c they only have 25 or so rooms) and the breakfast was weak...but otherwise this is a fun place to visit.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.