We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel with incredible service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
london
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel with incredible service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was our first introduction to Costa Rica and what a fabulous one it was too.
The hotel is exceptionally beautiful and nothing has been spared in making it luxurious, comfortable and relaxing.
The service was impeccable and so personable. Outstanding mention should be made of Roberto, Jess, Andres and Lindsay who were so pleasant, helpful and welcoming throughout our stay.
The main restaurant served good food, but the food at the " smarter" one near the Villas was exceptional.
If there was one piece of advise to future customers, it would be that the Casita rooms are as good if not better than the Suites. We stayed in both and even thought the Casita rooms are cheaper, we preferred them.
If you're in two minds about staying here in Arenal, don't be as it's amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,815
    171
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
278
1500
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lighthouse Point, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We came to Costa Rica for our honeymoon. This was both our first time visiting a foreign country other than AI resorts in the caribbean and cruises, so we really did not know what to expect. After lots of internet research and booking through Costa Rican Vacations I have to say this was the best choice I made of our trip. We stayed 4 nights (which i recommend with all the excursions and things to do nearby).

Here is a breakdown of all the features of this place.

Room: We stayed in the Casita Deluxe room #19. This room was perfect because it was very convenient to the main lobby, restaurants and pool. The room is a standalone bungalow which very private. We were welcomed with a bottle of Moscato and a bed full of rose petals and a card with "Happy Honeymoon". The room has its own private balcony surround with tropical foliage and has a great view of Arenal Volcano (that we only saw the first day we were there because of rainy season). The balcony has a private jacuzzi with curtains for more privacy and 2 wooden lounge chairs and a hammock. The bathroom is huge with a private toilet room and a shower and even an outdoor shower (we used a lot!) Beds are very comfortable, with sheer curtains to add to the ambiance. Only complaint was the lighting in the room seem so dark. They are very environmentally friendly at the resort so they try to conserve and use energy efficient lights. Overall the room was absolutely gorgeous and very romantic!

** also has free wifi in all the rooms with free int'l calls.
*** breakfast buffet included in room rate


Resort
The entire grounds are full of tropical foliage and everything feels tucked away and serene. We barely saw anyone except in the restaurants. There is a parrot that hangs out and flys around the grounds that is beautiful and fun to interact with. There all whirlpool tubs throughout the resort and are very private. It was like having your own private hot tub to in the jungle.

Now they also have the Nayara Suites and Villas. The Casita Deluxe that we stayed in was luxurious enough and I dont think it would be worth upgrading. Another note, all the Suites and Villas are much further away from the main lobby and restaurants. Something to consider. Especially when its raining all the time.

Food
The breakfast buffet was good, lots of variety and something different everyday. The bacon was a little weird to me, but everything else was delicious! The Sushi restaurant was really good as well. We also ate at the restaurant in the newer section by the other pool (cant remember the name) every other day they had a live musician. Food was ok.. But nice place to lounge on velvet chairs and couches and listen to music and sip some wine. Another note.. everything closes at 10pm.

Spa
Amazing! We did a couples massage and the rooms are open air bungalows that overlook more rainforest and located above a rushing water creek. So the natural sounds of water and birds chirping really added to a nice ambience.

Customer Service
Superb! We were greeted with cocktails on arrival. Everyone is very nice and accomodating. They take your luggage and drive you to your bungalow on a golf cart and showing you around. The hotel manager was always around and very friendly. Always asking how are day was and if we had any questions and very conversational. Very accommodating too... We came back from an ATV tour with muddy shoes, they met us right at the front lobby and offered to clean them for us along with our clothes and delivered them back to room later that night.

This resort exceeded all my expectations. Even being the rainy season and raining often, it really didnt matter, it even made it more romantic! This resort is just beautiful and if I come back to Costa Rica I will definitely stay here again and will definitely recommend it to my friends and anyone considering visiting Costa Rica.

Room Tip: #19 - close to pool, restaurants, and main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I recently visited Costa Rica for our honeymoon and started our trip at Hotel Nayara. It was nothing short of perfect!! This place resets the standards for great costumer service. I can't begin to explain how impressed we were! From our entrance greeting from Juan and the amazing service we got day in and out by the service staff (especially Octavio, Josue and Jonathan), to the amazing couples massage in the spa, and all of the amazing fresh and delicious foods in the on property restaurants. Everything about this place is amazing, it is truly the perfect tropical paradise. We went zip lining nearby at sky trek and went hiking at a nearby waterfall named "Catarata" and had a blast. The Arenal region of costa rica is one of the most beautiful and picturesque places I've ever been and Hotel Nayara captures all of it perfectly with their attention to detail, manicured gardens, beautiful pools and spas, and centralized location. Their staff is second to none and this place will be the only hotel I ever stay at in the area. Thank you so much for making this the trip of a lifetime!! Pura Vida!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the casita deluxe and it was perfect for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Nayara truly is an amazing hotel. From location to quality in food and service. My husband and I were truly impressed with all the accommodations and the easy no hassle process. The staff is so friendly we felt more like family. The food is amazing , every night your taste buds will try something new.The resort and excursions will really take your thoughts away from home. We can not wait to return back to Nayara.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Best ever. The location, service, cleanliness, experience, the views, excursions, staff were all amazing. This hotel has set the bar for every other hotel. This is a MUST!!! Even though it's a little far from the airport, the drive is beautiful and worth it.

Room Tip: Although the lower numbered rooms sit lower, the view isn't that much different a provided bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had a positive experience from the moment we contacted the hotel to plan our Costa Rican family trip. Carlos in reservations was responsive and prompt. Our transfer driver Geovanny was professional, knowledgeable and pleasant and made our 3 hour drive to Nayara a joy. The arrival was even better, the staff is engaging and informative. Ever checked us in and provided an overview on the property and the various activities. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and impeccable. The staff through out the property always has a positive attitude and just to name a few that we remember is Lindsay, Jesenia, Jairo, Jose - all the staff that we encountered was absolutely proud of their job and their country. Congratulations to the ownership because their management style impacts their staff positively and this is reflected in the constant superb level of service being extended to the guests.

Room Tip: The main building have casita deluxe and casita suites a bit larger For adults only, the Nayara sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed in one of the Casita's de luxe and we're very impressed with the room. You have full privacy and taking a shower or a bath outside is just a great experience. The respect for the nature is present everywhere. The spa rooms have full view of the jungle and are very luxurious. The massage was top class too. We were with kids and the staff was just fabulous with them! There is an adults only area and a few restaurants, so you don't get bored!
Free access to wifi is a standard by now, but free global phone calls are beyond the standards!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.