We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Dinner Breakfast
GreenLeadersGold level
Massapequa, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife and I had the amazing pleasure of staying at Nayara during March 2013. Wow, what an amazing time we had here! The rooms are simply amazing. Every room is a mini "casita" or bungalow and each stand alone. We stayed in the Nayara Suite, which is the 2nd of the 3 room options they offer. The room was extremely spacious and beautiful. We used the outdoor shower every day and were woken up each morning not by our alarms but rather by the birds chirping! We had a huge deck area complete with a table, some comfy chairs, a hammock (my wife was sure to take full advantage of this) and a jacuzzi. This deck area is very private and overlooks some beautiful foliage. When it's not cloudy out, it also offers you a once in a lifetime view of the arenal volcano.

We took advantage of all the hotel had to offer. We ate at the sushi place, the main restaurant, and the new restaurant up at their sister property, Nayara Springs. The food at all 3 was great and we did not have a poor meal while we were there! The staff is what truly makes this place awesome. It seems that everyone is genuinely glad at what they do and is truly happy that they get to share the costa rican experience with you. We also lounged every day at the new infinity pool at the springs. There was never anyone here and this pool is so nice, much better than the original one which is kinda small for the type of hotel this is. So glad they have this new addition!

We booked a few excursions and activities with the hotel, all of which were great. We highly recommend the sky trek zipline, the arenal hanging bridges, the pure trek canyoning, Tabacon Hot Springs, and the Nayara chocolate massage! We also arranged round-trip transportation to and from the airport which we highly recommend as the roads are not the best and are full of twists and turns.

All in all we had a blast during our time at Nayara and would definitely return, hopefully very soon! Definitely one of the top hotels we have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,078
    187
    36
    12
    4
See reviews for
313
1,703
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winsted, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Nayara for a part of our honeymoon in Costa Rica. Despite the many rainy afternoons, it was perfect. The staff are wonderful, the rooms and furnishings are luxurious and the restaurants are fabulous. We took advantage of all of the amenities, including the spa. The landscape of Nayara creates a private and romantic setting for any occasion, including secluded hot tubs hidden amongst the lush flora. It also is the home for many different types of wildlife, including a sloth. We loved and appreciated the little details at Nayara...including the cream puffs and eclairs that we received every night from the turn down service and the homeade granola bars that we took on our hiking trips. We were lucky to spend my husband's birthday at Nayara. The staff worked with my in-laws to surprise him with chocolate covered strawberries, a fabulous dinner and a really yummy cake. If you choose Nayara, make sure to spend time chatting with the staff- they are fun and interesting! We particularly enjoyed the bartender at the swim-up bar. We can't wait to visit Nayara again for our 10 year anniversary (or, if I can talk my husband into it, our 5 year anniversary!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the deluxe room which was its own casita...perfect size (certainly larger than we even needed). The service was so warm & welcoming, the food was delicious (we loved the breakfasts & the sushi restaurant). They were so helpful, planning tours & transportation to & from the airport. This hotel was perfect in every way.

Room Tip: I see no reason to book anything larger than the deluxe casita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights during our honeymoon trip to Costa Rica. The staff were amazing, incredible views from our room, and the food was fantastic! They worked with us every day to plan excursions, even canceling one last minute due to weather. By the second stay, the entire staff knew our names. We absolutely love this hotel and wish we had spent our entire week here instead of switching to another resort. Highly recommend the wine paring dinner! We can't wait to return!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We've stayed here twice now. It's even better than before (and before was my best experience at a hotel until now). I can't describe it in any other way except to say the hotel is perfect. The grounds are as good as it gets. The rooms are luxurious and beautiful. The service beats anything I've ever seen before. The food was delicious. The best hotel I've ever experienced, and I've been to many.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the rainforest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff greeted us as if we were royalty. The room exceeded our expectations with plenty of space; a lovely balcony with a whirlpool; 2 showers, one indoor and one outdoor. What we loved was the total privacy and exciting views. Every day upon returning to our rooms we were surprised to find an animal made out of towels. One was a dog and one was a cat. The staff at the Altamira Restaurant was excellent and so was the food. Thanks to everyone on the staff at the hotel and restaurant for making our short stay so enjoyable. We hope to return someday soon.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful week in Costa Rica. We spent 4 nights at Nayara Hotel and Spa and 3 nights at the 4 Season. I have to say Nayara was the most amazing and spectacular place we have ever visited and I wish we had skipped 4 Seasons and stayed at Nayara the whole time! It was so private, romantic, exotic and the food and service were EXCEPTIONAL! TRULY a 5 star experience all around. We did several excursions through Jacamar tours that were all AMAZING! I highly recommend the hanging bridges tour, the boat tour down the Rio Frio and a day at Tobacan Hot Springs. As for the resort, it could not have been more beautiful, the food was so delicious...I couldn't wait to eat every meal! The sushi was delicious and the other two restaurants were mouth watering. The rooms were spacious, beautiful, comfortable, had stunning views of the volcano, outdoor shower, hot tub or hot springs on your private deck and a hammock to read a book and listen and watch the amazing wild life. If you are looking to go the Costa Rica and you want a place that is romantic and 1st class...go to Nayara (and skip the 4 seasons...it was just a huge AMERICAN beach resort that does not show you the Costa Rican Beauty). We are already planning our return!

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were perfect...you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.