We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A smart choice for Arenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A smart choice for Arenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

We enjoyed this hotel for our visit to the Arenal area. The staff were all quite pleasant. The cabins were comfortable. We enjoyed the view of the volcano from the room. The location was very nice as it was away from the main highway . I agree with others regarding the food here. I would still choose this hotel again and eat elsewhere. The jacuzzi bathtub on the deck was a fun idea although we never did use it. The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The view to the volcano
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,917
    175
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
290
1,580
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

We returned a few days ago from our trip to Arenal and Manuel Antonio in Costa Rica. The Arenal Nayara is an unbelievably beautiful place with flowers all around and great views of the volcano. We had our own one bedroom bungalow/hut with an indoor and outdoor shower, lots of closet space and a beautiful deck with hot tub. If I came back, I would definitely stay here. The outdoor pool is small but very nice. The only slight negative was the food, which was not great. However, there are many other places to eat in the area. The included breakfast is okay.

We thought the resort was empty because it was so quiet but actually, it was fully booked. It's just that the way the rooms are situated, you feel you have the resort to yourself.

Another drawback is that staff does not speak English well. They are not very helpful with finding/booking activities in the area. Even so, they are all friendly and helpful.

This is a great place.

  • Liked — It was so beautiful
  • Disliked — It was on a dirt road and a little difficult to get to.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Nayara for two nights. In a word, "perfection." Upon our arrival, at 9am, we were given a refreshing glass of fresh juice and a cool face cloth. The staff at the front desk were terribly apologetic when they told us that our room was not quite ready (who expected it to be ready at 9am anyway) and then invited us to a complementary breakfast while we waited. We indulged in the fantastic buffet with matching fantastic views of the Arenal Volcano. Afterward, we went back to reception to learn that we were being upgraded (at no charge, of course) to a nicer bungalow, since this one was ready immediately. Upon entering, I did what my husband now affectionately refers to as my "happy dance." I literally jumped for joy at the breathtaking aestetic of the room, and the gorgeous vistas from our private patio deck.
Flor, at the Tour Desk, booked everything for us and offered us advice about how best to spend our very limited time in La Fortuna.
Any down time we had was spent enjoying a bottle of Imperial (the local beer) at the swim up bar, and admiring the steam coming off the top of the Volcano.
Dinner at the on site restaurant (both nights) was very, very good--and we're both somewhat discerning foodies.
Before checking out, I asked if I could move in permanantly.
Muchos Gracias to all at the Nayara!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

When I planned my trip to Arenal, I had to make-up my mind between Nayara or Tabacon. Unfortunately I decided for Tabacon because of the hot springs and what I thought was a view of the Volcano. On one of our tours, we met a very nice couple that we hit it off with. Ironically, they were staying at Nayara. We went back to their hotel and I got to see it first hand. It was beautiful. Each room was like having your own private bungalow. Almost all the rooms had a spectacular view of the volcano from the open jacuzzi in the back. That was exactly what I wanted...it was simply romantic. The guys at the front desk were wonderful... They treated us as if we were their guests. They knew we were only visiting but treated us great. They even offered their free internet service to us. We are definitely staying there the next time we go. Their grounds were beautiful and had a perfect view of the volcano. If you are looking for the hot springs, go one night to Tabacon but stay at Nayara.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Our stay at Nayara was fantastic. The property has been open less than a year, and everything was amazing. Each of the bungalows look out over the volcano, and we just kept pinching ourselves at how beautiful it was. The location is perfect - about halfway between town and the attractions off the main road. There are other places to stay, and many of them are great with views, but if you're looking for an smaller place that is more intimate, this is the place for you!

  • Liked — The outdoor jacuzzi for two with a view of the mountain
  • Disliked — breakfast at the restaurant is great, but dinner was lacking
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

This hotel is heaven. When we arrived, we were greeted with tremendous service, cold hand towels, and a cool glass of fresh juice. We were shown to our room, which was gorgeous and very private. The rooms are nicely decorated, have cable and DVD players, indoor and outdoor showers, a private porch and jacuzzi.

The hotel has a nice pool with a bar, so you can sip your fruity cocktails while sitting in the pool. And the view of the volcano is perfect. Jimmy, the bartender at the pool, is so curteous and really fun to talk to. All of the staff made our stay so nice.

The hotel is also well located. Again, it is very private, but with a simple 10 minute ride, you can be in the center of La Fortuna, which is a cute town with tons of restaurants and gift shops. The hotel has a shuttle that is free if it is making a scheduled trip into town. (Cabs should be about 6 dollars.) Also, each evening at 9pm the hotel offers a free night viewing of the volcano. They drive you to the opposite side of the volcano where you have a greater chance of seeing the lava spewing.

Our only reason for not rating this hotel "excellent" is that the restaurant is just "good." The complimentary breakfast is very nice - with lots of options and a "make your own omlette station." However, one night my husband and I ate dinner at the restaurant, and although the food was very good, it did not live up to the prices. With that said though - the service was perfect. Therefore, we wholeheartedly recommend the hotel and suggest taking the short ride into town for some good traditional food.

Finally, for those not renting cars (like us), we learned that you can take a public bus from La Fortuna bus station back to San Jose or other destinations for only about 5 dollars - a much better deal than Interbus or Grayline, if you can spare an extra hour or two for the ride.

Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We went to Costa Rica for 6 nights and stayed the first 3 nights in a beautiful hotel near the Arenal volcano. Arenal Nayara is breathtaking from the moment you walk through the reception area. We were welcomed with fresh juice and a refreshing scented cool washcloth to wipe our face. We stayed in cottage 15 which faced the jungle/trees which is perfect because you have no neighbors to face off your balcony which you have a jacuzzi tub on so that was nice. The room was fabulous with everything you needed. We had an inside and outside shower. The hotel will book any excursion you want, and we compared prices to see if booking on our own was cheaper and it was really pretty close in price so we let them handle it for us. The first night they offered a free night tour to the volcano which can cost like 50.00 pp I think, if you dined with them that night. So we have a fabulous dinner and then they took all the guests in nice vans to the volcano. The staff was very friendly and we dined every night at the restaurant. The food was good and moderately priced we thought, not cheap but getting transportation to get down to La Fortuna would have cost more money so we decided to stay at the hotel. This was by far the most luxurious hotel we have ever stayed in and we thought we stayed at the best in FIJI but this was better!

  • Liked — It was peaceful and away from the busy town, but you could get away when needed
  • Disliked — No transportation to get to other restaurants
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.