We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving break in Arenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
EAST STROUDSBURG
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving break in Arenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and service was excellent. The hotel food was very good, and the included breakfasts were hearty, especially the local fare. The views of the volcano are awesome when it's not cloudy and the grounds are lush and verdant. We took the 4-in-1 tour of the Hanging bridges and Tabacon Hot springs arranged through Anywhere CostaRica (our entire trip, too). Enjoyed a great lunch at Don Rufino's.
Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have been relocated to a room away from the ongoing construction...... upon che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,817
    171
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
278
1501
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent 3 nights in December at Nayara. Everything was perfectly amazing. We woke up the first morning to a clear volcano view. Meals in the main restaurant were delicious. Service impeccable. Pool was nice and warm for evening. Thermal pools were wonderful. The rooms are something you have to see in person. We loved everything about Nayara. It is obvious that the planners and management have put much time and thought into the details of this beautiful resort. Thank you Nayara!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had high expectations given the trip advisor reviews and our stay exceeded them. The grounds were beautiful, the staff was super nice, the pools & jacuzzis were lovely, the room was gorgeous and private, view of Arenal from the room was stunning, and the breakfast buffet was large and delicious. They were also super nice to kids, although there was only one other little one when we visited.

I struggle to think of anything negative. We didn't want to leave the property! They don't have hot springs but the new springs section over the bridge has a lovely pool with cool spring water, which is refreshing in the heat.

And hot springs aren't far away - about a 20 minute walk to Los Lagos (family friendly one) or a little further to baldi & ecothermales.

We stumbled across amor loco (the springs restaurant) while looking around the property the first night and were blown away by how great it was. The vibe was cool, service was fantastic and the food was delicious (as good as you would get in New York). We ate there for 2 out of our 3 dinner meals. (The other night we walked to Benedictus organic steak house which is 600m down to the main road, across the road, then 800m through the farm. It was nice but amor loco was better).

We loved nayara. It was worth every cent. We would highly recommend it. And if we ever return to the region we would go out of our way to go back here.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairo Q, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of our hotel. Your kind words only reinforce our commitment to provide the best possible service. I would like to share good news with you and future guests, as of last month all of our public hot tub Jacuzzis are fed by natural mineral hot Springs. Also, all of our villas feature private plunge pools fed by the same natural mineral hot Springs.
Again, thanks so much for your very generous review of Nayara.

Sincerely,

Jairo Quesada
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I agree with almost all of the comments i have read so far. We stayed at the Hotel Nayara for 2 nights and had the best experience from the moment we arrived at the resort until our departure. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and bent over backwards to accommodate every request throughout the stay....from arranging private tours for zip lining, canyoning and horseback riding to keeping the spa open for an extra hour for massages after a long day of activities. The room was amazing, the food was incredible, the spa was exceptional......I highly recommend this resort. The only con was i wish we had booked the hotel for another night or two.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My teenage children and I spent 4 days at Nayara and the Arenal Volcano area after spending 5 days on beach. We were absolutely thrilled with our stay at Naraya. We stayed in a Casita and were so pleased with the accomdations. There was a very comfortable king size bed, with a separate sitting room that contained a day bed and twin bed, My son felt like he was in his own room. The bathroom was huge with a double shower, double sinks and an outdoor shower in a very private setting. The outdoor jacuzzi tub and lounge chairs were also very nice but perhaps cushions would have made the chairs a bit more comfortable and easier to lounge in. Turndown service was lovely.

The property has 3 restuarants and we had dinner in all 3. The food was very good in all 3, service prompt and attentive and the atmosphere in each was unique and lovely. My only complaint was the lighting in the sushi restuarant and the new restaurant by the infitiy pool. It was so bright in both and it kind of ruined the otherwise beautiful atmosphere. It you are seeking a romanitc candlelight setting, I would suggest an outside table in both. It's a shame because they are otherwise beautiful. We requested they dim the lights several times but don't think they could.

I loved the wine bar, a perfect place to relax after a day of adventure. They have an extensive wine collection and you can order a taste, half glass or full glass. It was nice to be able to try different wines and the prices were very reasonable. You can also order a bottle at dinner and take the remaining wine to your room. Big leather couches or a lovely bar made it comfortable for everyone

The pools are clean, cool and beautiful but a bit small. Perfect for couples but children may want more. We thoroughly enjoyed reading by the pool on the comfortable sofa chairs and the wait staff was very attentive. My daughter and I both got messages in the Spa and they were very nice. The open message rooms allow you to enjoy the sounds of the wildlife along with the soothing music. Very relaxing and enjoyable. Morning pilati and yoga classes are offered as well.

The property was absolutely beautiful, extremently clean and well maintained. I enjoyed taking morning walks just to experience the butterflies, birds and sounds of the property.

What made the stay memorable was the incredible staff at the hotel. I can't say enough about the prompt service, whether is was to bring us a room key, give us a ride to our room, suggesting a wine or planning excursions, everyone was fantastic. They remembered our names after the first day and would seek us out to ask how we enjoyed our dinner the night before, an excursion they planned etc. I feel bad because I can't remember all of their names but a special thank you to Felipe who recommended and scheduled the perfect schedule of adventures for us. We enjoyed ziplining, the hanging bridges hike (which we did on our own since we had a car), ATV tour through the volcano base, the hot springs at eco termales (tabacon was so touristy/expensive) and shopping in the town.

This hotel is perfect for couples seeking a romantic getaway, singles looking for a retreat or families looking for a beautiful respite from the more touristy aspects of the La Fortuna area. It was amazing how private the property was yet and how accomodating to different types of travelers. I will definately be back and recommend to my friends.

One other note, stop at Toad Hall on your way in or out of the La Fortuna area. Super nice people, great views of the lake and really good guacamole!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 40's are quieter, we didn't see the villas but they look beautiful if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have little to add to the other reviews. I loved this hotel although we never saw the volcano!
I would love to stay again one day.

This was one of 7 different hotels we stayed in our 15 night self drive tour through CR. This was our favorite of all places despite being not the most expensive. If you have any questions about our trip, do ask.

Room Tip: We chose a normal room. It was perfect. Not sure what a suite can add to our already fantastic room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Agree with all the wonderful comments about the grounds and the service. Upon departure, we called for help with our bags and the guy was at the room about a minute after we hung up the phone. The food was also terrific...all meals and locations. The volcano on a clear day was the perfect breakfast view. Heated towel bars and outdoor shower were great. The transports we arranged through Nayara were first rate. They greeted our flight, even though we were several hours late with hand wipes and cold water bottles. The drive is bumpy but the van was comfortable and had wifi. We were visiting over the holidays and there were plenty of other families. There were only a few things that were strange. There was no place to sit in the room other than a hard wooden chair. I was happy to swing in the hammock but that left the hubby to either sit on the bed or in an upright chair. The electricity is also only on when the room key is in the designated slot. I appreciate the green feature but it means that the rooms are very humid and hot upon return and you cannot leave a phone charging while gone. I also would consider taking a taxi to the hanging bridges and the zip lining or driving your own car. The tours through the hotel are pretty pricey for essentially bus transport. A taxi can be at Nayara about 10 minute after you call so more time flexible as well.

Room Tip: Room 50 can see the volcano while in the hammock but is at the top of the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.