We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Carmel, Indiana
2 reviews
“A Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nayara was one of the most incredible places I have had the opportunity to visit. Incredibly friendly staff, amazing food, and a beautiful setting. My birthday fell on one of the days of our stay, and the Nayara made it very memorable -- several of the staff made it a point to wish me a happy birthday, and they even presented me with a beautifully decorated, delicious cake after dinner. We split our stay between Arenal and Guanacaste; after spending 4 days at Nayara, our expectations were set, making our stay at an undisclosed all-inclusive resort in Guanacaste a huge disappointment. I can't wait to go back (hopefully very soon!).

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,908
    173
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
287
1,572
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is an absolutely gorgeous property, with very good service and a convenient location. I would definitely recommend to other couples and would stay there again.

Room: We stayed in one of the Nayara Suites, which is definitely worth the money to upgrade. It had a beautiful outdoor shower and private deck with a hot tub, hammock, and gorgeous view. We really liked the outdoor shower and never used the indoor one. The indoor bathroom had a lot of nice amenities, however, like a towel warmer (great to dry swimsuits and wet clothes), dual vanities, etc.

Property: The grounds were beautiful, with lots of fountains and flowers. We saw parrots, lots of other birds, and a sloth. There is one small pool (although they are building a larger one that should be open soon). The pool is fine for adults who want to lounge or have a drink, but is not for kids. There were two unruly kids (ages 2 and 4) while we were there that ruined the pool for us. They literally spit water at us (and in our drinks) and shrieked at a high pitch. They cleared out the entire pool. While I can't blame the hotel for the behavior of the guests, since the hotel boasts over 90% of their guests are honeymooners or people on their anniversary I am not sure why they allow kids under a certain age. When they open the new pool, at the very least I hope they make the old pool adults only. We escaped the kids by going to the separate hot tub area, but on day 2 of shrieking kids everyone had this idea and that area was full.

Food/Service: For the most part the service was great. Everyone was friendly, spoke very good English, and was definitely trying. We had a few minor hiccups (e.g. making us leave breakfast for a tour, when the tour wasn't there yet). The food in the sushi restaurant was very good. Breakfast in the main restaurant was average (some days better than other).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The readers of both Travel and Leisure and Condé Nast got it right when they voted Nayara the No. 4 hotel in the world. Nayara managed to live up to our impossibly high expectations. My boyfriend and I stayed in Nayara Suite #32 from October 29th to November 1st. The suite is unlike any other room you are likely to see in your life: authentic, huge, and architecturally stunning. We were very lucky to have experienced completely clear skies (see our photos & videos) allowing for jaw-dropping views of the Arenal Volcano. We have been to some of the top ranked hotels in the world including acclaimed resorts in Thailand and Bali and we can confirm that Nayara is definitely up there! We paid less than $400 per night for our room. Any comparable luxury hotel in Asia would have cost two to three times as much.


What else can I say…the place is like a dream. Recommendations:
1) Visit the spa (we had a couples hot-stone massage)
2) Sample the vintages at the wine bar
3) Take a chance on the “Nayara Roll” at Sushi Amor
4) Ask Randall at the swim-up bar for a Bloody Mary and take it with you to the secluded hot tubs
5) Ladies take a nap with your boyfriend/fiancé/husband on the outdoor hammock while drifting off to the sounds of the rainforest
6) Ask for a tour of the new “Nayara Springs Villa” and start saving for next year!


Activities: Sky Trek (not for those with fear of heights/speeds), white water rafting, horseback riding. Recommend all three.



Meals: We ate at the hotels various restaurants for every meal except one trip to Don Rufino’s in town (get the chicken with yellow squash risotto!!) . Without exception all our meals were great. The wine paired dinner at the wine bar is an experience not to be missed:


Pro’s: All the above

Con’s: The fact that it had to end

Note*: We flew into Liberia, rented a car, and drove to Arenal. While we found the journey (3.5hrs) memorable, the drive is not for everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa #32, if your not up for a little walk to your room request one closer to the conc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed three nights at Nayara while hiking around Arenal. Great hotel with world class staff. Thoroughly enjoyable. Centrally located to volcano, La Fortuna, Hanging Bridges and Lake Arenal. Nayara has two restaurants and wine bar with quality collection.

Room Tip: Rooms 8-15 have unobstructed views of the volcano from the patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was such a beautiful place to spend our honeymoon. The staff and owners exceeded our expectations by far. We booked the honeymoon special and exchanged the tours for adventure tours and the process was very easy. Staff sneaked around like little elves hiding rose petals and setting up romantic things in our room. Johanna was one of our favorites from Altamira and she was also in charge of the romantic dinner set up for us. Nancy from Sushi Amor was another favorite. Angelo, one of the owners?, was around the hotel introducing himself to us and offering to have dinner with us which made us feel very welcome. He even suggested we have "coco loco's" on the house which became my new favorite drink!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

What an exceptional hotel!!! We were blown away with the beauty of the resort, the rooms, the service and the food. There was not one thing missing. From the moment that we were greeted to the time that we departed, we felt like every single staff member LOVED having us there. The attention to our every single desire was taken care of. The suites are very large and the furniture is solid wood and pure beauty and the rooms have a beautiful wood wrap around balcony with a private hot tub, a hammock and.. We loved spending time on the balcony watching all of the birds, beautiful flowers blooming from the multitude of trees and watching the iguanas and squirrels. The rooms also have the coolest outdoor showers with two shower heads and have beautiful trees that surround you but you also have very large indoor showers with two entrances and two showerheads and even a heated towel bar. The pool has a fun swim up bar and all throughout the resort there are private spots in beautiful settings, like secluded hammocks, secluded hot tubs and an amazing fish pond. We also had the couple massage at the spa and loved it! All of our meals were delicious and exciting.. Every day the breakfast buffet contained new things to try and there was always an abundance of fresh fruit. We will definitely visit again.. It was the BEST way to start our married life!!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad room on the entire property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a great place. The reservation process was great and the staff was very helpful in answering the questions I had (the live chat was a nice feature). We arranged our transport through the hotel and it was a very smooth process. Throughout our stay, the staff was unfailingly polite, helpful and had a great attitude. Our room was fantastic with wonderful views. We were also vey pleased with the food. We booked our excursions through the hotel and had great experiences zip lining, rain forest and volcano hikes and the class 3/4 whitewater rafting trips. We have recommended Nayara to several of our friends already.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.