We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonita” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bonita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed three nights at Nayara while hiking around Arenal. Great hotel with world class staff. Thoroughly enjoyable. Centrally located to volcano, La Fortuna, Hanging Bridges and Lake Arenal. Nayara has two restaurants and wine bar with quality collection.

Room Tip: Rooms 8-15 have unobstructed views of the volcano from the patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,887
    173
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
285
1,554
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was such a beautiful place to spend our honeymoon. The staff and owners exceeded our expectations by far. We booked the honeymoon special and exchanged the tours for adventure tours and the process was very easy. Staff sneaked around like little elves hiding rose petals and setting up romantic things in our room. Johanna was one of our favorites from Altamira and she was also in charge of the romantic dinner set up for us. Nancy from Sushi Amor was another favorite. Angelo, one of the owners?, was around the hotel introducing himself to us and offering to have dinner with us which made us feel very welcome. He even suggested we have "coco loco's" on the house which became my new favorite drink!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

What an exceptional hotel!!! We were blown away with the beauty of the resort, the rooms, the service and the food. There was not one thing missing. From the moment that we were greeted to the time that we departed, we felt like every single staff member LOVED having us there. The attention to our every single desire was taken care of. The suites are very large and the furniture is solid wood and pure beauty and the rooms have a beautiful wood wrap around balcony with a private hot tub, a hammock and.. We loved spending time on the balcony watching all of the birds, beautiful flowers blooming from the multitude of trees and watching the iguanas and squirrels. The rooms also have the coolest outdoor showers with two shower heads and have beautiful trees that surround you but you also have very large indoor showers with two entrances and two showerheads and even a heated towel bar. The pool has a fun swim up bar and all throughout the resort there are private spots in beautiful settings, like secluded hammocks, secluded hot tubs and an amazing fish pond. We also had the couple massage at the spa and loved it! All of our meals were delicious and exciting.. Every day the breakfast buffet contained new things to try and there was always an abundance of fresh fruit. We will definitely visit again.. It was the BEST way to start our married life!!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad room on the entire property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a great place. The reservation process was great and the staff was very helpful in answering the questions I had (the live chat was a nice feature). We arranged our transport through the hotel and it was a very smooth process. Throughout our stay, the staff was unfailingly polite, helpful and had a great attitude. Our room was fantastic with wonderful views. We were also vey pleased with the food. We booked our excursions through the hotel and had great experiences zip lining, rain forest and volcano hikes and the class 3/4 whitewater rafting trips. We have recommended Nayara to several of our friends already.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Nayara and from the warm and genuine greeting with wine and cool towel till the day we checked out was exquisite. We met the owner and he said that everyone there was very well taken care which was clearly evident in the level of service we were given. The food was fantastic, spa worked some wonderous magic on me and the room......words fail me in my description if it. Magnificent comes to mind, paradise, heaven. I highly recommend that if you are traveling to the area and looking for a place to relax and indulge yourself, stay here. I know I will again. Thank you to all the staff in front and behind the lines that made our stay what it was. Congrats on your success and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My new husband and I stayed at Nayara for the first half of our honeymoon in August and we had the best time ever! The grounds and staff exceeded all our expectations. The pool side bartender was an artist with the drinks and was always fun to talk to. And the food was some of the best we had during our trip in Costa Rica. I really miss their consistently delicious breakfast buffets! The rooms are fantastic with the extravagant patio overlooking Arenal with our own private hot tub and the outdoor shower amongst gorgeous and vibrant foliage made us feel so spoiled! Our only regret was staying here for the first half rather than the last half of our honeymoon since it set such high expectations that the last half was a bit of a disappointment!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room which was a bit of a hike up hilly grounds. Some people may not be fond of this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The first thing that called my attention was the punctuality of everything. I was picked up at the airport as soon as I came out of customs by a gentleman carrying my name on a board. The drive was as planned. When i arrived at the hotel I was greeted by Felipe at the door who was very friendly and helpful. I was given a cold towel and a juice cocktail. From that moment I was impressed by everyone's friendliness, they seemed to be doing a job that they enjoy and were very happy doing it. You would think the staff owned the hotel:they were so proud and happy to be taking care of you.

The food was delicious. They have an outdoor grill with delicious meats and a buffet of salads and dessert. The buffet breakfast was spectacular, it had all kinds of fruits, I tried the granadilla for the first time and loved it. The buffet was splendid and included with the room. I loved all the restaurants, especially the terrace of the sushi. I should mention that everyone speaks perfect
What stroke me the most was the resort's integration with nature; the beautiful design, the bright colors, the way everything came together in perfect harmony.
I found a bridge that was closed and i asked a staff person what was going on on the other side They told me that they were building anew hotel and very courteously offered to show it to me. I went with Esteban and he showed me the new rooms with pools, the new restaurant Blythe pool,the spa, etc.everything was so perfect that I felt that the buildings had been created by nature. Everything was done with utmost care not to disturb the natural setting but rather integrate modern comforts with mother nature.

As i was leaving Carlota the parrot was calling me "hola,hola" I was in heaven!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.