We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Sept 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Sept 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in Sept 2013 for the first half of our honeymoon. It exceeded all of my expectations by a mile. I knew it was going to be nice, but it was really just stunning. The landscaping is amazing. We stayed in one of the larger suites and the room was just incredible. The deck was huge with a nice table for two, a hammock, a couple chairs similar to adirondack chairs, and a hot tub. The outdoor jungle showers were really fun when there was a thunderstorm going on.

All of the staff were super nice and very helpful. They arranged our various tours for us and were able to accommodate any special request we had.

The food was great. We did one big dinner at the Alta Mira restaurant and ate breakfast there every day. The pool and jacuzzis' were also awesome. The only negative thing I could say about this place is that the drinks at the pool bar are kind of weak.

I'm already thinking about planning a return trip for next year. If you're thinking about staying here, just stop thinking and do it. You won't regret it. There's tons to do in the Arenal area and after a long day of hiking or zip lining, you'll be happy to come back to such a luxurious resort.

Room Tip: go for the small price increase over the casita deluxe and book the nayara suite. You get a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,833
    171
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
280
1,513
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Everything from check in to check out was terrific. We arrived in the afternoon after a three hour drive from San Jose. We were greeted with cool towels and glasses of wine. Check in was easy and the staff filled us in on all their amenities which included a pool, gym, jacuzzis, two restaurants and a wine bar. They were available to make arrangements for all types of activities in the area.

Our cabin was located near the main part of the resort. It had a perfect view of Arenal Volcano which we were pleased to see each clear morning (despite it being rainy season). The cabin was spacious, clean and well appointed. There was an outdoor two person jacuzzi tub on patio and an outdoor shower adjacent to the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and we slept well each night to the sounds of nature. We enjoyed the complimentary bottles of water and chocolates with turn down.

We had dinner in each of the restaurants in the resort. At Sushi Amor, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the sushi in the middle of Costa Rica. Absolutely unexpected! Altamira Restaurant served contemporary Costa Rican cuisine and everything we had was prepared wonderfully. Breakfast consisted of a hot and cold buffet, lots of fresh fruits and a omelet and waffle station. There was something for everyone. For all the meals, the service was warm and friendly. Everyone seemed genuinely happy to take care of us.

Nayara is located near the main road and about 3 miles from La Fortuna. Having our own vehicle made it easy to get around to Arenal Park, Tabacon, and to the Sky Trek/Tram.

Would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent our honeymoon in this beautiful and private property. Very romantic, service was great and our room, bathroom (double shower and outdoor shower, which we utilized the most), was absolutely fabulous. We also had our own Jacuzzi tub on outside patio with a view of Arenal Volcano. We felt completely in nature, relaxed and disconnected. Sky Trek ziplining was fun and my hubby's first experience. Thank you Nayara for setting it up for us and for being part of a honeymoon we still chat about.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Me and my husband came here for a few nights during our honeymoon in Costa Rica. We loved everything about this place. Brunch in the morning was absolutely amazing...every choice of food possible! Our concierge, Wesley, went out of his way to ensure we were having a great time. Signed up for sky trek and tram through advice of Wesley, and it absolutely made our trip! Our room was perfect for a honeymoon stay. (they even gave us complementary wine!) We loved relaxing at night in the jacuzzi on the deck while listening to the wild life all around.

The only criticism I have here is that I wish the pool were open longer..for a honeymoon/romantic resort/hotel usually the pools are open later for night swims. We unfortunately never got to use the pool :(

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24 and had a great view of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We loved Nayara, the grounds were very pretty and we both agreed neither of us had ever stayed in such an awesome hotel room! We loved the double shower and the outdoor shower (even though we never used it) and the outdoor hot tub was very nice and relaxing. We could see the volcano perfectly from our hotel room (I think we were room #45) The staff made us feel very welcomed and they were always very professional. The food was great, Altamira (the main restaurant) always had great food, we loved the guacamole and bananas flambe handmade by the staff (we especially liked Juan Carlos, he was great!) The buffet breakfast every morning had a huge selection of different types of foods, they even had Greek yogurt, so I was very happy! We also went during the rainy season (just got back two weeks ago), and the place always felt empty, which we loved. We would recommend going during the rainy season, it felt like we were the only ones there! There were a few other honeymooners and couples, but we always had a spot at the pool and never had to wait for dinner or breakfast. If we ever get back to Costa Rica, and we plan on it, we will definitely have to visit the Nayara again!

Room Tip: Room 45 had a great view of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I decided to take my wife on a surprise trip without our kids (first time in 6 years) and after researching many different options (in the world) I chose Nayara. I can honestly say that I hit a home run with this choice and our stay there could have not been better. The rooms (we stayed at a Nayara Suite) are beautiful, spacious and clean. They look exactly like in the pictures you see on their website and the views of the volcano were wonderful especially in the morning. The grounds, the restaurants and the spa were equally amazing but what impressed us the most was the people who work there. I never heard the word "no" from anyone there and everyone is always very hospitable and genuine (Costa Rican people are very friendly but the staff of this hotel was by far the best we found while visiting this country) . My biggest worry before the trip was the weather as we visited during the rainy season. While it did rain every day we were there, it was always in the late afternoon (around 4 pm) and the rain never lasted more than an hour. We knew it was going to happen so we planned our activities around it. During this time of the year (September) the sun rises at around 5 am and most activities can be scheduled early in the morning, we were able to do everything we wanted to do and the rain did not interfere with our plans at all. I got a 5 star review from my wife for choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 49 and it was great for us. This is a Nayara Suite and it is one of the newer ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff at Nayara, the natural beauty, and overall atmosphere are beyond that of any other place we´ve ever stayed. Coming highly recommended from another couple who visited on their honeymoon, we had high expectations which were promptly exceeded the moment we arrived through the end. Over the course of our three nights, the staff got to know us and helped plan and schedule our excursions, or made sure our time just relaxing on the property was nothing but incredibly relaxing and enjoyable. Breakfast was very good, just as delicious and courteously served as every other meal we had at Altamira or their newer sushi bar. And the beauty of the grounds cannot be captured by pictures.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.