We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Dinner Breakfast
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Me and my husband came here for a few nights during our honeymoon in Costa Rica. We loved everything about this place. Brunch in the morning was absolutely amazing...every choice of food possible! Our concierge, Wesley, went out of his way to ensure we were having a great time. Signed up for sky trek and tram through advice of Wesley, and it absolutely made our trip! Our room was perfect for a honeymoon stay. (they even gave us complementary wine!) We loved relaxing at night in the jacuzzi on the deck while listening to the wild life all around.

The only criticism I have here is that I wish the pool were open longer..for a honeymoon/romantic resort/hotel usually the pools are open later for night swims. We unfortunately never got to use the pool :(

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24 and had a great view of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,079
    187
    36
    12
    4
See reviews for
313
1,704
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We loved Nayara, the grounds were very pretty and we both agreed neither of us had ever stayed in such an awesome hotel room! We loved the double shower and the outdoor shower (even though we never used it) and the outdoor hot tub was very nice and relaxing. We could see the volcano perfectly from our hotel room (I think we were room #45) The staff made us feel very welcomed and they were always very professional. The food was great, Altamira (the main restaurant) always had great food, we loved the guacamole and bananas flambe handmade by the staff (we especially liked Juan Carlos, he was great!) The buffet breakfast every morning had a huge selection of different types of foods, they even had Greek yogurt, so I was very happy! We also went during the rainy season (just got back two weeks ago), and the place always felt empty, which we loved. We would recommend going during the rainy season, it felt like we were the only ones there! There were a few other honeymooners and couples, but we always had a spot at the pool and never had to wait for dinner or breakfast. If we ever get back to Costa Rica, and we plan on it, we will definitely have to visit the Nayara again!

Room Tip: Room 45 had a great view of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I decided to take my wife on a surprise trip without our kids (first time in 6 years) and after researching many different options (in the world) I chose Nayara. I can honestly say that I hit a home run with this choice and our stay there could have not been better. The rooms (we stayed at a Nayara Suite) are beautiful, spacious and clean. They look exactly like in the pictures you see on their website and the views of the volcano were wonderful especially in the morning. The grounds, the restaurants and the spa were equally amazing but what impressed us the most was the people who work there. I never heard the word "no" from anyone there and everyone is always very hospitable and genuine (Costa Rican people are very friendly but the staff of this hotel was by far the best we found while visiting this country) . My biggest worry before the trip was the weather as we visited during the rainy season. While it did rain every day we were there, it was always in the late afternoon (around 4 pm) and the rain never lasted more than an hour. We knew it was going to happen so we planned our activities around it. During this time of the year (September) the sun rises at around 5 am and most activities can be scheduled early in the morning, we were able to do everything we wanted to do and the rain did not interfere with our plans at all. I got a 5 star review from my wife for choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 49 and it was great for us. This is a Nayara Suite and it is one of the newer ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff at Nayara, the natural beauty, and overall atmosphere are beyond that of any other place we´ve ever stayed. Coming highly recommended from another couple who visited on their honeymoon, we had high expectations which were promptly exceeded the moment we arrived through the end. Over the course of our three nights, the staff got to know us and helped plan and schedule our excursions, or made sure our time just relaxing on the property was nothing but incredibly relaxing and enjoyable. Breakfast was very good, just as delicious and courteously served as every other meal we had at Altamira or their newer sushi bar. And the beauty of the grounds cannot be captured by pictures.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed another week this year at Nayara. The staff still makes everyone feel like VIPs...always ready to attend to your every wish. We spent 7 nights in our casita with a perfect view of the volcano, luxurious indoor/outdoor shower, private jacuzzi and beautiful surrounding gardens. We even toured the soon-to-open villas. Elquin, who heads up the wine bar, was again the highlight of our stay! We are not wine drinkers, but every menu is available at each place in Nayara. So we could enjoy pool bar snacks and Altamira restaurant food in the wine bar. Just like last year, we had Nayara book our transportation to & from the airport, and various excursions for us. And, just like last year, that made every adventure worry-free and wonderful. We had a coffee/chocolate scrub and Swedish massage at the spa, which was so pampering and wonderful. We will go back again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Everything at Nayara can be charged to the room, including gratuities. However, charged tips are sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed 4days / 3 nights at nayara. The hotel is very beautiful and our room had the incredible view of arenal volcano. It felt as if we were on our honeymoon even though we have been married for 8 years. The room, casita deluxe was very spacious and the outdoor shower was heaven.
Service was impeccable from the airport pick up to the staff. Whatever you needed, the staff went above and beyond to get it. Food was good not great and quite expensive. This hotel is worthy of all the great reviews

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garwood, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It has been over a year since our honeymoon in Costa Rica, but I still cannot forget the beauty, luxury, amazing couples massages, resident wildlife, impeccable service, beautiful bungalow, delicious local and american cuisine, friendly staff, thoughtfulness and everything else that was part of our wonderful 5 day stay at Arenal Nayara. We stayed another 5 days at a different lovely boutique hotel in Tamarindo, but Arenal Nayara truly has a uniqueness and beauty that I may never see again for as long as I travel. There are not enough good things to say about this place and I do not have a single complaint. From the moment we were picked up to the airport to the moment we left were treated like royalty and the place is like a fairy tale.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.