We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay at Nayara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Studio City, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay at Nayara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Took a trip in August 2013 with my two daughters (8 and 10). We spent 4 nights at Nayara and could not have asked for a better stay. To put in perspective, I frequent and love the Four Seasons chain so am accustomed to exceptional customer service. It does not have the international experience of a large five star chain but comes very close (and for half the price).

The service was nearly perfect and the accommodations were what I expected. It is a great location, very close to a little town with dives to dine and in the heart of the rain forest. We were close to a number of tours and experiences.

As mentioned above, the service was great. Reception, house keeping, bellmen, and restaurant staff were attentive and remembered our preferences throughout our stay. My oldest daughter's primary goal was to see a sloth on our trip. It sounds easier than it is. The entire hotel staff was aware of this desire by the end of our first day. On our third day, one of the bellmen grabbed us at breakfast and drove us to a "behind the curtain" area of the resort and pointed out a sloth for us.

Rooms are large, clean, and come with a great view. We had room 15. It has a balcony with a great view of Arenal as well as an outdoor tub and shower. Meals we ate at the hotel were very good.

Two notes: (1) remember you are in a rain forest. If you are not comfortable with bugs and lizards, you should consider a different part of the country. (2) (and this is a problem with my expectations, not the hotel) I was expecting to be walking among Monkeys, Sloths, and other exotic animals throughout the property. They are not that abundant.

I will recommend this resort to anyone asking about where to stay in Costa Rica or Central America generally. Exceptional trip.

Room Tip: Room 15 has two good sized beds, great view of the volcano, balcony, and outdoor tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,912
    173
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
289
1,575
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel was like staying in paradise. We prefer the smaller more intimate hotels and this one definitely fell into that category. I think there are only about 50 units tucked away in this beautiful setting. We stayed here for 3 days and didn't want to leave. The view of the volcano from our own private veranda with jacuzzi and the outdoor private shower with it's own garden were so inviting. Rose petals on the bed, double basin sinks and a huge indoor shower are only a few of the amenities. Most all the rooms have their own private entries that are beautifully landscaped. Service was top notch and very friendly. One of the staff spotted a sloth in a nearby tree and asked us to wait while he went to the lobby to get a spotting scope so we could see it better. Food was good and the buffet breakfast was quite ample with a cook who would make any type of omelette. We went on two excursions and they were very organized. Don't miss the raft trip down the Rio Frio - we saw a lot of wildlife including caymans and howler monkeys and then afterwards had a traditional Tico meal at a country farm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Everything was outstanding and made for a perfect vacation. The staff were always extremely friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and relaxing. When we come back to Costa Rica we will definitely be staying at the Nayara again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Came to the Naraya with high expectations and for the most part, we were not disappointed. We had 2 beautiful casitas with jacuzzis on the patios and wonderful outdoor showers. We never even used the inside shower. Lots of space in the sink area to put your toiletries. The pool area was lovely and we loved the outdoor hot tubs near the pool. Unlimited towels near the pool which is always appreciated. Lots of activities in the area if you are feeling adventuresome but it was lovely spending time at the hotel. Woke up to beautiful views of the volcano from bed. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Simply wonderful--in every way. No comparison. Could not have been better!!! We only stayed for two nights, but I wish we had spent the entire vacation at The Nayara. This place is wonderful! We were made to feel very welcome and very special. The staff knew our names upon arrival and were very accommodating throughout the entire stay. The food at the restaurant was also very good. Great place!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, nc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Everything about the Nayara Hotel is amazing. The resort is truly deserving of all the accolades and recognition it has received. Congratulations on T&L’s most recent award. From the time we booked the stay until the time we were delivered back to the airport to end our vacation, service was second to none. I would recommend the resort to anyone. Dinner was a great value for how tasty the restaurant is. Nayara makes it easy to book great activities and transportation literally throughout the country. Enough good things can’t be said about the Nayara. It’s hard to pick the best thing about Nayara. Customer service, accommodations, on-site dining, Spa, grounds, garden, view and activities are all worth it. The best review doesn’t do it justice. Book early & enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

What an amazing place! We are very lucky to have spent 3 nights of our honeymoon here. However, nowhere else will ever compare!

From check-in to check-out the staff couldn't do enough for us. They were friendly, interesting and helpful. A truly special honeymoon experience, despite evening downpours! The manager was very visible and checked on us throughout.

The welcome drinks, sushi reception, bar games and different cuisines in the main restaurant - I really struggle to fault this place at all. It is totally worth the expense!! A slight, slight downside is having to settle the bill at the end. Budget and it will be fine, or just go with it like we did ;-) The pool is small but big enough as all you want to do is sit in the pool bar or in a Jacuzzi.

We left at 3am for a flight in San Jose and were provided with a packed breakfast. Amazing service. The tours were also well organised.

Thank you to all staff for making our stay so memorable. (Other hotels will despise you!!!)

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite was AMAZING! Turned down beds with rose petals, notes from the cleaner and lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.