We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful elegance with close proximity to great natural attractions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful elegance with close proximity to great natural attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Everything at this hotel is very well done; they have thought of everything here. The "room" was really a large bungalow, with a HUGE and well-appointed bathroom and a private wraparound deck with hammock and outdoor bathtub and shower! Good food with a wide selection, several nice nooks for a drink or meal. Very helpful and friendly staff. While the hotel staff were extremely welcoming to our family, the number of young couples and honeymooners here made me worry that we would disturb others, and I didn't dare let my son explore the private jacuzzis without my checking first :-). No fault of the hotel, but I would not recommend this place to families with young children unless they are quiet and well-behaved. That said, we loved our time here! The removed location of the hotel meant that we did not get into La Fortuna much, but we did go on several excursions to local natural attractions: canopy tours, hanging bridges, swimming in hot springs, there is a lot to do in this area!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,890
    173
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
285
1,557
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place is amazing! We stood here for our honeymoon and the staff went above and beyond everytime. This place really does think of everything!! Our servers Keilor, Josue & Roberto were exceptional at every meal. The bartender make some of the best drinks around. This place is perfect- can't wait to head back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this paradise on earth. From the cool towel and glass of wine upon our arrival until we checked out, my wife and I found a different surprise each day. Each staff member at the hotel went above and beyond to make sure our stay was spectacular.

Room Tip: the higher the number of the room, the further away you are from the lobby and restaurants. WiFi se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Whoever gave an average rating for this resort is loco!. I cannot imagine the staff letting anyone have less than excellent experience. Every guest is treated as a friend and they would do pretty much anything for you. Nayara absolutely deserves the best of the best reviews. We all agreed one of the greatest things is they did not nickel and dime us. They handed out water bottles like candy at no charge, always had fresh fruit in the lobby, the continental breakfast is fantastic and FREE (they wait on you, offer you 3 choices of fresh juice and switch out your napkin if it looked dirty-not your typical continental breakfast), and I mentioned a birthday of my guest and we arrived to a big birthday display in our room and a cake to serve at our dinner that they did not charge me for. The rooms were extremely clean, and I was surprised at how many bugs we did NOT see being that the rooms are surrounded by jungle. The hummingbirds were beautiful and a frog greeted us once while we were in the Jacuzzi on the back deck (which every room has). The pictures on the website are great but do not do it justice. There are so many beautiful pictures that came from our vacation on top of what you see. The outside shower is what I will miss the most, unreal. I could go on and on why you should vacation at Nayara: turn-down service (w/cookies), amazing spa, fun towel animals everywhere, wine bar, parrot that greets you, quick taxi service to town/hot springs/anywhere you want to go, but I should keep this somewhat short : ) I did not even get into the reasons why you should vacation in Costa Rica! But that's for another day. In short, I did not want to leave this amazing resort and staff (I literally teared up) and I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We should have stayed here longer! This was the second stop on our honeymoon trip. We actually preferred the Arenal area to the beaches, which surprised us. We didn't see much of the volcano while we were there because of the clouds, but on our drive in we saw it and we took a tour from the hotel which gave us awesome views as well. Each room is it's own little bungalow. I don't know that you could have a bad room. We were in room 22, which was super close to the reception and restaurants. We had a jacuzzi tub, chairs, and a hammock on our balcony, where you could easily relax just listening to the birds. We had an indoor and outdoor shower, both of which were lovely. The staff was wonderful. The room was made up with rose petals for our arrival with a "happy honeymoon" sign, which was a great touch. We were also given a complimentary bottle of champagne and a cocktail welcome reception, and the breakfast buffet was included in the price of the room. They also have computers in the lobby (though there is also wifi in the room) and you can make free calls to the US. This hotel was top-notch all the way. We will certainly plan another trip to Nayara!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Not much more that I can say that isn't covered below. The setting is beautiful, the staff is wonderful, the rooms are great, the animal sounds are exotic. Great location to do lots of activities. Most of the guests seemed to be on their honeymoon, but we went with our two kids -- no problem, they loved it. About the only "less than perfect" score would be on the dinner -- we didn't love our food, and it was pretty pricey. However, breakfast was great, and the 2-for-1 happy hour each night is great. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is our most favorite in the world!! My wife and I stayed there only 2 nights in late June of this year. Next time we'll stay at least 5 nights and here's why: Unbelievable views of Volcano Arenal, friendly accommodating staff, great food on the resort and at nearby restaurants. Close to everything you want to do in the LaFortuna area. Quaint yet a feeling of openness because of the lush gardens built into the property. The rooms are very comfortable and very "Costa Rican". You wake in the mornings and know your a half a world away. Probably the best breakfast buffet I've ever had and this is from someone who normally will pass on the buffet to order alacart.
We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Probably not a bad room in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.