We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really thought of everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“They really thought of everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Amazing hotel! We spent three nights of our honeymoon here. Friendly and attentive staff. The property was beautiful. I have to say it's one of the best hotels I've stayed at. The Nayara suite was spacious and modern. The balconey/patio had a clear view of the forest and volcano.

I thought the restaurants on the property were both top notch. The head waiter at Altamira (unfortunately I forgot his name) is remarkable. It's always the best when your waiter remembers what scotch and wine you order.

Two of the owners and the architect were present during our stay and made an effort to greet the guests and ask for their input. You can tell a lot of thought went into the hotel. They thought of everything. They even placed laptops and IPads in all the common areas for the guests to use. The WiFi actually worked throughout the hotel!

The spa was also great!

There is construction going on right now. Normally, this drives me nuts. But, to be honest, it didn't bother me in the least. Loved the stay. I'd definitely recommend the hotel and go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,756
    168
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
262
1460
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our stay at Nayara was out of a movie. The property is beyond beautiful, with lush gardens and private villas throughout the grounds. The staff was attentive and the food and drinks on Nayara were top notch. The hotel is conveniently located in Arenal so it's easy to access all the attractions in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBUS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights (July 1-4) here at the Nayara Hotel and could not have been more happy that we stayed here. This was the first trek on our recent honeymoon Costa Rica adventure. Let me start off by saying the staff is hands down the friendliest people you might ever encounter. Every single person met us with a smile and a greeting and were always willing to help out in any way possible from the moment you set foot in the lobby until the very second you are checking out they want to make your stay memorable.

We stayed in one of the deluxe suites facing the volcano so every morning we woke up to gorgeous views of the volcano and fantastic views of the lush greens the property offers. Breakfast is included in the stay and is fantastic in every aspect. There is a great deal of variety to choose from, everything is fresh and looks just as good as it tastes. They also have to go snacks and sandwhiches for people heading out to do excursions for the day.

Dinner at Attamire was excellent as well. While it may seem expensive, by the time you cab somewhere and try to find something with the quality of food you can get here its not worth it. Make sure to try to volcano guac as well, as its made fresh for you at your table. Each night is a different theme or specialty so you get a great variety and can eat here every night during your stay. We were spoiled by how great the food was here at Nayara. You will not be disappointed in the food.

There is a reason this hotel is rated extremely high and we would without hesitation recommend this hotel again to anyone looking to stay in the Arenal/La fortuna area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

From the moment we drove up to the front entrance, we were treated like royalty. Every single employee went over the top in ensuring that our stay was as enjoyable as possible. The two owners, who were there for the weekend, made it their business to meet with every guest and spend time chatting. The food is superb. The grounds are beautifully maintained. The rooms are actually individual cabins, with a large bedroom and bath, as well as an outdoor shower. The balcony is completely surrounding by foliage, which can be enjoyed while lying on the hammock, soaking in the whirlpool, or just standing out there enjoying the sounds of the forest. Of course the views of the Arenal Vulcan are stupendous. I arranged for a private, romantic dinner, and it was superb, from the decorating to the actual food. Then when we got back to the cabin, we found the room sprinkled with rose petals, and the whirlpool was set up with a tub full of suds and beautiful rose petals - very pleasing. We certainly will return to Hotel Nayara and without hesitation would recommend this resort to any couple looking for a romantic vacation. Stupendous!

Room Tip: Rooms 6 through 10 have a superb view of the volcano right from the balcony. I am not sure of views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

On honeymoon - a month travelling across Central America. Booked into this resort following rave reviews on Trip Advisor - it didn't disappoint. Great service, really good value and well organised trips (try the zip lining and white water rafting) combined with superb food and cocktails (over three days we had meals ranging from local nachos and quesadilla through to great quality sushi). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try for a room close to reception/jacuzzi area - its quite a walk to the bungalows at the top of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I came here for our one year anniversary. Nayara was amazing. From the moment we arrived, the staff was accommodating and friendly. (I even accidentally threw out my retainer, and the staff happily went through the trash for me).
The rooms are everything they promise to be. We reserved the regular room, and asked to be put on the waiting list for the Nayara Deluxe. The larger room wasn't available when we got there - but the regular Casita was amazing! (see pictures). It's exactly as they describe it. Very private. Exceptionally well maintained.
We ate at the pool bar and the regular Altamira restaurant. The food was decent, not phenomenal - but pretty on par for La Fortuna.
I got the Thai massage at the spa. The masseuse was very talented, and very professional. The spa itself is gorgeous - with an open wall to the jungle - so you can hear the jungle noises (so relaxing). The price was great.
The best part about Nayara is that it's unique - it's very private - picturesque - gorgeous scenery - well maintained landscaping.
The included breakfast is incredible.
Five stars to Nayara! We will be back!

Room Tip: We were in room 7. We had a great view (see pictures). We were very close to the pool, spa, wine bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at nayara from jun.26-jun.30th. we could not be happier. every staff member goes out of their way to make you feel special. the property itself is beautiful, from the rooms to the landscaping. food is excellent at altamira or the sushi restaurant. this resort is rated consistently high for a reason, and you will not be dissapointed with your stay.

Room Tip: we had room 50 which was one of the furthest on the property. it was secluded and private, and altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.