We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

First off, it rained the entire time we were here (December 2011) - and we still love it this much! We were immediately welcomed by the staff, our villa was clean, beautiful, and quiet. The property was gorgeous. We LOVED the wine bar and restaurant. The food was excellent and the service was extremely friendly and attentive. We booked a ziplining adventure through the hotel and had a fabulous time (even in the rain!) If we do come back to Costa Rica, we will only stay at Nayara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,740
    166
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
256
1448
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We came here for the first week of our Honeymoon from June 16 - June 21. These were the best 6 days of our entire 11 day trip. The hotel was beautiful, the service was impeccable, the rooms were beyond amazing, and Arenal was our favorite part of Costa Rica. We are already so excited to talk about our 5 year wedding anniversary and how we are going to come back to Nayara for a week.

Seeing Sharon's smiling face every day made us so very happy. Jonathan, Equin, Lindsey, Judy, Jonathan (second one), Andres, and everyone that worked at the hotel were the most caring, attentive, wonderful people we have met.

If you are planning a Honeymoon make sure to include Nayara in your plans. The only thing is to make sure that you either only stay at Nayara OR go to Nayara on the second half of your trip because we went to Tamarindo Diria after Nayara and hated it because nothing compared to our stay at Nayara.

Can't wait to see you all in 5 years!!!

Room Tip: *Try and book the Nayara Suite - you won't regret it! *Beds are a little hard *Internet works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our honeymoon's third destination - amazing hotel, with fantastic service, lovely food, excellent venue and brilliant room.

From the glamour of having a private balcony jacuzzi to view the Arenal Volcano to the splendour of having an on-site tasting menu with paired wine this hotel was fabulous.

The staff are lovely and brilliant.

Our casita deluxe room was fab and had everything (and more!) than we could need!

Recommended without reservation!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our 5 day stay at Nayara to celebrate our 5th anniversary. This resort was incredible! The views were spectacular and the staff went above and beyond. I left my bathing suit at the nearby hot springs and they sent someone from the hotel to pick it up for me! You will not be disappointed if you stay at this resort. There is so much to do at nearby attractions. Nayara is by far the best place we have ever stayed!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 20s are near the lobby, restaurant, wine bar and pool. Amazing, clear view of the Aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Wow! What an amazing place! We had a large group, yet each couple had their own casita - very beautiful and romantic. Exactly as their web site portrayed. From the minute we stepped of the bus, we were treated like royalty. The staff continually surprised me with their exceptional courtesy, including water bottles they handed us on the way to a new excursion and cool towels after returning from an excursion. My wife and I will definitely return here.

Room Tip: All casitas seem to have a great view. Our casita was #12 which was close, but not too close, to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel has struck the perfect balance between being professional and warm/friendly. The staff is well trained with a keen eye for customer comfort and needs. Other hotels could learn a great deal from Nayara. If your are visiting Arenal this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The Nayara is paradise! I am blown away at how amazing this resort is! The staff is so amazing! Jonathan at the pool bar has been so great to my husband and I and was so kind and welcoming! We will also never forget Jose, Kailor, or Juan Carlos for their exceptional service at Altimira restaurant! The flambé and guacamole made fresh was to die for! I feel like these people are my family now and they hold a very special place in my heart! Very blessed to have met them! Can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and HotelsClick so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.