We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely deserving of a top "5" rating.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely deserving of a top "5" rating.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Nayara on our trip through Costa Rica. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels throughout the world, and Nayara certainly deserves that rating. The hotel rooms are large and beautiful. We stayed in suite #30, and upon arising on the first morning had a beautiful view of the Arenal Volcano in the sun looking through the glass doors from our bed. The gardens are amazing and are arranged to give each bungalow privacy. Except for one waiter with an attitude on our first night, the staff was incredibly friendly and service oriented. Even the owner came to our table to introduce himself. The spa is beautiful and again the staff bends over backward to help you. We will definitely return on our next trip to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Suite # 30 is very private with fantastic volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,756
    168
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
262
1460
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in suite 33 and it was Amazing. The double outdoor shower, deck hot tub & views of Arenal from the deck were the best. The breakfast buffet was sooo good and the resturant for dinner had excellent menu. They even shared a recipe.

The staff was top notch. The bartenders and resturant staff remembered our names. It was clear that customer service was a #1 priority - always had a smile and asked if we needed anything. Our bed was a little firm to our liking and they immediately added another feather topper.

We really enjoyed visiting with other couples in the afternoon at the pool/bar.

There is not a lot night life here, so if you're looking for that, choose elsewhere. It is a great place to venture out during they day and totally relax in the afternoon/evening.

As I suggested when asked 'what could make your stay more comfortable?". A comfortable love seat/easy chair in the suite - only option was hard wood chairs and cushions for the outdoor furniture - it is also hardwood.

Would definitely go again and you should too.

Room Tip: Choose the suite and the larger the number, the better the view of Arenal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

AS everyone else says, this place is amazing! The location is beautiful, the service is top-notch, the accommodations are luxurious, the staff is amazingly helpful without being intrusive. You will love everything about it.

We stayed in Casita 45 which is the farthest away from everything so very private. They are expanding so during the day there was a little construction noise when out on the deck, but nothing that really bothered us. Both the indoor and the outdoor showers are fantastic. The beds are very comfortable. The housekeeping staff does a great job. The minibar was very reasonable for a mini-bar (so I didn't feel badly about my pre-dinner mini bottle of Prosecco for $6 every night).

We ate in every restaurant. The wine pairing dinner is fantastic and at $75/person, very reasonable. The tapas was good. The sushi at Sushi Amor was both delicious and beautiful. The food at Alta Mira was great and the included breakfasts are quite extensive and good.

All of the staff was extremely personable and helpful. They even had the restaurant pack us a breakfast to take with us on our last day as we had to leave before 6.

We had them arrange a car and driver for us to/from the airport and it worked extremely smoothly. We did the Sky Tram/Sky Trek and Balsa River Whitewater rafting excursions and the companies were great (I hated the ziplining, but that was me, not the company).

This resort truly is as great as its reviews.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

If you go to Costa Rica at all... Stay here!!! Beautiful, dreamy, fantastical location nestled in the foot of Arenal!

Gorgeous views of the volcano, beautiful walk ways, YUMMY food, Wine Bar is SO cool, delicious sushi rolls and everything at Sushi Amor. Even with the rain we had a brilliant time!

I did not want to leave! We stayed at one other place in Costa Rica and it was no where near the brilliance of Nayara.

Customer service is top notch! Everyone is sooo friendly! I want to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel was suggested by our travel agent, Pacific Trade Winds. The grounds were beautiful, rooms were fabulous and the service is better our local 5 star hotel. We went with a group of 18 and all enjoyed it. It would also be fabulous for a romantic get-a-way. We plan on returning to enjoy this hotel again and explore more of the Arenal area.

Room Tip: They have two types of rooms/bungalows - you can't go wrong with either, both are beautiful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had planned to stay at Tabacon, but our travel agent, Natalia at Costa Rica Nature Adventures (who was great), suggested Nayara instead. Great choice. Everything about the hotel is beautiful and immaculately cared for. We were only here for two nights and did not really get to enjoy all the hotel offered.
They have a delicious buffet breakfast each morning that was greatly enjoyed. They even make sandwiches and have bags for you to take with you from the hotel if you are going on an excursion. We had a great dinner at the restaurant one night with service to match the quality of the food.
The hotel arranged an excursion to the hanging bridges and La fortuna waterfall with lunch at a local farm in La Fortuna. This was enjoyed by all in our party.
Don't miss the wine bar if you go. It is a unique experience that you will enjoy. The waiter there was extremely helpful as well.
It was our 20th anniversary and the hotel provided a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room. Nice touch.
If I had any complaint it would be that our view of the volcano was obstructed by the vegetation. We had a Nayara Suite (Room 46) and we were looking forward to great views of the volcano from our patio. On the other hand, the vegetation was beautiful and provided a feeling of real seclusion while enjoying the outdoor jacuzzi.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is soo beautiful, romantic and service oriented. The rooms are huge and so lovely. We had an outdoor shower, out door jacuzzi, huge terrace, hammock all on our porch that were all private and all boasting beautiful volcano views. The restaurants were lovely too with great food. We stayed there for three nights whilst on honeymoon and wished we stayed for longer. If you stay in this hotel, book a spa treatment... They are heavenly.

Staff are so lovely too... Jonathan, Sharon, Jose, Lindsay, filippe... All so great and really service oriented. The best hotel you can ever stay in. We look forward to visiting Costa Rica again and staying in this hotel. Nothing one can fault here. Truly 5 star from beginning to end.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.