We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for our honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay for our honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for honeymoon in May 2012. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was amazing. The bathroom with the outdoor shower was lovely. We loved the view from our bed that we woke up to every day. We made a point of enjoying our balcony, hammock and hot tub. The service was good. We were sad to go. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,832
    171
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
280
1,512
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at Nayara and loved every minute of it! Here's our breakdown of our stay:

Check-in/Check-out
Check-in was quick and easy. The cold towel and beverage made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped out of our van. Checkout was also a seemless process. There was an erroneous minibar charge on our bill and when we told them we didn't get anything from the minibar, the charge was removed without a question.

Room
Our room was so spacious, and the view was the best view I've had at a hotel! We enjoyed sitting on our back deck in the hammock or lounge chairs. The private hot tub on the deck was the best way to unwind after dinner. The rooms were cleaned punctually every day and turndown service was an added bonus. We had a room with 2 double beds, and my husband and I couldn't understand how you could "share" this room. It's definitely a romantic hideaway. The shower door is clear, so I'm not sure you'd want to share a room with anyone.

Food
The breakfast buffet was delicious. Being able to fill up for breakfast before going on excursions was a great bonus. Also, having the premade sandwiches and granola bars to take with you for the day were nice touches. We didn't eat lunch at the hotel as we were out during the days. Dinner at Altimira was good, not great. However, Azteca night on Sunday night was by far the best dinner we had at the hotel. Sushi Amor's happy hour in the afternoons was a nice treat. The mixed chips were a great appetizer at Sushi Amor. We went into La Fortuna one night for dinner, but by the time you pay $10 each way for a cab, you end up spending the same amount of money as if you just ate at Altimira. The wine bar is a very neat place and very reasonably priced.

Atmosphere/Grounds/Staff
The staff truly wants to make sure you have a realxing, enjoyable stay. I loved that they offered excursions, but they didn't push you into booking excursions through them. The hotel grounds are well-kept and very beautiful. The pool is small but was never crowded. The only thing I would've liked to see was a gameroom.

Overall, we loved our stay at Nayara. We would highly recommend it to anyone going to Costa Rica. It's one of my favorite hotels we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: All rooms have unobstructed views of the volcano, so you truly can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Nayara Resort in November 2012...and it was simply amazing. The service was perfect, the food, the view, the room...it was worth every penny! When I think of a 5 star hotel, I imagine one like Nayara. This resort was The Best resort I have ever stayed in. I couldn't have asked for a more perfect get away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very nice resort. We had a wonderful time the staff was great. The room was spectacular we stayed in a Nayara Suite. The hot springs are only a few minutes away by cab. Tours in the area were very enjoyable. The Romantic dinner was beyond belief. Spa was wounderful and pool was nice. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Best. Hotel. Ever.

The service is spectacular. The food is delicious. The views are breathtaking. The room is romantic. The outdoor shower transported us to a different world.

Hands down the best vacation experience of my life - and I've spent 2 years overseas traveling.

I dream about this place, and I'm 1000% certain my wife and I will be returning.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I decided to honeymoon in Costa Rica, we spent the first half at the Nayara Hotel and the second half in Manuel Antonio (at Arenas del Mar Hotel).

The Nayara Hotel was hands down the coolest and best hotel I've EVER stayed at. Here are a few reasons why:

-The staff was extremely friendly; they greeted us with salads and wine upon arrival.
-The property itself is incredible. There were so many different plants and animals, as well as a coy pond, and tucked away jacuzzis. Needless to say, the grounds were aesthetically pleasing.
-The pool had a swim up bar ~ enough said.
-The casitas are very spacious and private. The jacuzzi, lounge chairs and hammock on the patio were very enjoyable.... not to mention the wonderful view of the volcano and rain forest.
-Breakfast is included in your stay and were my favorite meals of the trip. The buffet items change regularly, and the omelet station was great.
-Each day, the housekeepers left us a different "towel animal" and rose petals on our bed.
-The air conditioning works REALLY well.

I'm sure I left out a few things, but overall this was the best hotel I've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: We stayed in casita #15, which was on the volcano side AND was on the end, so there was no one to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nayara was one of the best hotel experiences I've had in a long time! The property is beautiful and well maintained, the rooms are clean and spacious with a perfect view of the volcano, the staff are all extremely helpful and friendly and it was a great value for the price. The breakfast buffet was delicious (it was included in the room rate) - all the food was very fresh. I would definitely recommend Nayara if you are looking for a romantic getaway or a place to surround yourself with nature. We saw a Sloth, Parrot and beautiful birds and other animals on the property too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.