We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for a Romantic Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Hotel for a Romantic Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nayara was one of the best hotel experiences I've had in a long time! The property is beautiful and well maintained, the rooms are clean and spacious with a perfect view of the volcano, the staff are all extremely helpful and friendly and it was a great value for the price. The breakfast buffet was delicious (it was included in the room rate) - all the food was very fresh. I would definitely recommend Nayara if you are looking for a romantic getaway or a place to surround yourself with nature. We saw a Sloth, Parrot and beautiful birds and other animals on the property too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,757
    168
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
262
1461
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We came to this hotel to start off our honeymoon, and it couldn't have started a better way.

We were greeted by Sharon, immediately offered a glass of wine and cool towels. They took our bags from us to bring to our rooms, and offered a golf cart ride there.

Our suite was extremely spacious & clean, a large King-sized poster bed, indoor and outdoor showers for two with its own garden, two separate sinks and mirrors, closet with robes, and private patio with whirlpool, table and chairs, hammock and loungers. We had an amazing view of the volcano directly from our porch and bed. Amenities included Wifi and a TV, with plenty of movies if you wanted to borrow one from the main lodge.

The staff was super friendly - We were greeted each time we walked through the main area, offered bottled water and ponchos for our tours, offered to double check our reservations when rides ran late. Lindsay, a hostess, offered suggested tours and trips based on interests.

The hotel as a whole was beautiful full of gardens and small, winding pathways that led you to explore different areas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a great place and the folks were great. This is how a place should be run. The employees were great and very friendly. We didnt get in until late at night but they still made sure we had dinner and were talking care of. Just have to say it one more time....Wow !!

Room Tip: I dont think the place has a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nayara is exceptionally beautiful. Had the Nayara Suite with dinner included and stayed for four nights. We noticed after night 2 that we were getting charged for random fees after dinner (aside from drinks) and the most we spent was roughly $40 so we never questioned it. If I could change one thing about this option is that they include drink prices for the meal. Sushi bar was EXCELLENT!

My husband and I both got food poisoning on night 3. We think it was from the free champagne we had because everyone else around us at the pool bar ate the same lunch as us and never got sick. It didn't ruin our stay since we had a great view from bed.

Easy access to Sky Trek and town. Customer service was great and always greeted you with "Hola or Pura Vida".

Tip for those traveling soon, request a room away from the construction. We were woken up several mornings to the sound of construction noise. Room #35.

Room Tip: Room #35 seemed private enough at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairo Q, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thanks for taking time to share your recent experience at Nayara.
With regard to the $40 you were charged at dinner time, I double checked your final bill and found out it was only for the drinks that you pointed out were not included in your special package.
I apologize for the confusion this caused and will make sure that going forward we do a better job explaining these additional charges.
Regarding our Manager event where we serve complimentary hors d'oeuvres and Champagne to our guests, I want you and future guests to be reassured that we source only the highest quality Champagne and sparkling wines and continuously monitor their quality. Until now we have received only top reviews on our Champagne and sparkling wine offerings, but we will be even more vigilant based on your comment.
I was very happy to learn that none of the above issues marred your experience at Nayara, and I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jairo Quesada
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

From every indication we expected the Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens (Arenal Nayara) to be exceptional. Well, it far exceeded our expectations. From the onset we found a welcoming and accomodating experience. Upon arrival we were we greeted with 'Red' or 'White' wine while we were being checked-in. A delightful suite awaited us as we were shuttled to our room. The advertised suite was as pictured on the website and in the brochures. The bed was adorned with toweled figures and rose petals . Our suite had an awesome line of sight to the volcano and we were fortunate to have great weather for fantastic views. The good weather also lent itself to the incredible outdoor showering (simply enchanting!).The service was impeccable and the staff attentive. Even room service was treated with special handling. We were treated to a delectable Birthday cake to celebrate our May birthday. A major plus was the breakfast buffet. Again the staff was on point and made the 'buffet' experience more like table service with the freshest coffee and selection of natural juices. I'd read in some reveiws, the food was just o.k. We found the meals very appetizing and fairly priced. "Juan Carlos you are priceless and we will never forget you"! The property was wonderful to explore and reminded me of a botanical garden. The plant life and trees were all labeled giving you an educational as well as a nurturing experience. The pool area was intimate and amazingly never crowded. The strategically placed whirlpools around the pool area was a nice addition. All the excellent rating reviews on this property, including TA, are well earned and well deserved. Arenal Nayara is definitely one to experience, and one we plan to re-visit...only next time, we will make it a longer stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

In May 2013, a group of 10 people stayed at Nayara for a long weekend to celebrate a birthday. What a wonderful experience!

Starting with the booking... Debyis, our booking agent, pre-arranged our excursions and basically planned our entire weekend. With perfection! Each excursion, each day, was perfect in timing. The companies they booked us with were very professional and timely. They provided "above expectation" service and were fun and happy to be around.

Upon arrival, the staff greeted us at the curb and offered us freshly squeezed fruit juice or wine. They were all smiles, which was great because the drive from San Jose airport was nearly 3 hours. Though, we stopped in San Ramon for a delicious lunch... can't blame anyone but ourselves :)

The rooms were beautiful, each with a gorgeous view. Unfortunately, the king suite over-looked the spa and only had a very small, obstructed view of the volcano Arenal. The birthday couple were placed in the wrong room, but were offered comps to make up for it since the hotel was completely sold out. The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful, and willing to serve.

The grounds were impeccable, there wasn't a cobweb, cockroach, piece of garbage, anything. Aside from amazing Carlota, the gorgeous Macaw, who likes to greet guests with a loud "¡Hola!" The pool is beautiful with a large swim up bar and excellent Mojitos and fruity cocktails. There are 3 hidden Jacuzzi's near the pool, 1 near the spa, and a beautiful Koi pond. 2 restaurants, one is a sushi themed restaurant, the other is the main hotel restaurant (which was our favorite). They also offer the most DELICIOUS buffet breakfast each morning with an omelet station and delicious, homemade granola bars to take with your on your excursions. When dining, ask for Juan Carlos, he is such a great man, very friendly!

Now for more details on the excursions. They booked us for an evening of relaxation following our long flights and car ride in from San Jose. We went to the beautiful Ecotermales hot springs. Very quiet and relaxing, best suited for adults only. Cocktails, hot springs, and relaxation. The perfect evening. The second day, they arranged for a private Zip-lining tour with Sky Trek and Sky Tram tour company. Our guides Stephen and Giovanni were fabulous and tons of fun. I have been on 2 other zip lining excursions (one in Costa Rica) and this was, by far, the best tour I have ever been on. Absolutely amazing! The rest of the day, following our zip-lining, we relaxed by the pool. The next day was action packed with a wonderful guided walk to the base of La Fortuna Waterfall. A breathtaking view and very cool and refreshing. We then went on a white water river rafting tour with class 2 and 3 rapids. It was a little scary at first, but manageable for everyone and so much fun! We were treated to a delicious pre-rafting snack of freshly cut fruit. At the end of the rafting tour, we were taken to a private ranch and treated to a authentic Costa Rican lunch with delicious black beans, rice, green papaya piccadillo, steak and chicken and a fruit juice blended beverage. Followed by strong, delicious Costa Rican coffee. Finally, we were given a brief tour of the sugar cane fields and a treat of sugar can juice and sugar cane alcohol (shhh, our secret). What a day. Our last day of excursions was a mid-afternoon ATV ride into the rainforest. Fun, but super muddy. Take a change of clothes and be sure to request laundry and drying so you don't go home with wet clothes because NOTHING dries in Costa Rica.

What a weekend. I would go here again and again and again. I intend to go back soon and would highly recommend the Nayara Hotel and Spa. AMAZING! The topping on the cake was our spa treatments. The Thai combo massage was excellent and the swedish massage was just want was needed after a weekend of activities.

We saw other hotels, Tabacan, El Silencio, Baldi, Arenal Volcano Lodge... NONE of them could put a candle to the Nayara Hotel and Spa. It was amazing and worth every penny!!

A couple tips:
1. Be sure to ask to have any wet clothes cleaned or, at least dried, prior to traveling home.
2. Be sure to take $60 cash to the airport as the Costa Rican government requires it to depart the country.

Room Tip: If a view is important be sure to specify a view. If a large master bed suite is important, be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

From the welcome cocktail, the service, the grounds, the room and especially the view and food, I cannot imagine there is anywhere else to stay in La Fortuna that would surpass Nayara. They literally did not miss a beat. We booked the adventure package which was worth it because we didn't have to worry about a thing, Nayara took care of every single detail. Carlos wears many hats and we loved his spirit and fancy guacamole making skills. They found out it was our honeymoon while we were being driven by golf cart to our 'bungalow' and sent over a complimentary bottle of champagne.
If this is within your budget, look no further because if you don't stay here, you'll wish you had.
Thanks to the great staff for making our stay in La Fortuna unforgettable!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.