We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can we live here please?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Can we live here please?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

From start to finish, The Nayara knows customer service. Greeted warmly by Sharon and Jose after a 2 1/2 hour air-conditioned van ($ by the resort), we were checked in quickly and efficiently by Jeini and taken by golf cart to our Deluxe Suite. I had arranged, via email, to have our couples massage that night, followed by a romantic dinner. The spa was fantastic! No nature CDs here... its the real thing!

Invited to a meet and greet, we enjoyed fresh sushi, excellent ceviche and champagne. There we met the GM, Jairo and we talked for an hour! He arranged for us to be picked up there for our dinner, where we went to a private "casita" complete with private chef, Lester, and waiter Roberto. They cooked an amazing meal and left us to eat in the rainforest! Amazing!

Food was very good; we were pleasantly surprised! Fresh wonderful coffee, assortments of fresh fruits, breads, Costa Rican cuisine, even an omelet station for whatever you want! For dinner, you could chose buffet or menu! They serve until 10pm, which is good if you're busy all day; there's no rush to get to dinner! We didn't like some seafood dishes, but the table-side made bananas, pineapple and crepes flambe more than made up for it!!

Get the package that includes the meals.. you won't be disappointed, plus if you eat somewhere else, they CREDIT you for a lunch another time!!! They have a wine bar like you've never seen..... you can TRY all the wines you want! Just with the push of a button, you can have a taste, half glass, or full glass. Of course you can by the bottle... great Moscato!

Swim up pool bar offers normal priced drinks ($7.00 for large mixed drink ie Daquiri or Mojito) plus food all the time! Private jacuzzis off the pool, plus your own private jacuzzi on your deck overlooking the volcano!

You really can't beat walking through the rainforest to get to your room instead of a dark, smelly hallway! When we were checking out I think Sharon actually cried a little when we hugged goodbye- that's how much we bonded in a week! Everyone is GENUINELY friendly and happy to be here... do you offer timeshare? LOL! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,971 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,758
    169
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
264
1462
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Having read all the positive reviews, my husband Francis and I requested CostaRicanTrails to book us the 5 night super value package at Arenal Nayara. This was our final stop in Costa Rica. Spent 3 nights in San Jose, 3 nights in Monteverde and then on to Nayara. We were so glad that the best was kept for the last. On arrival at Nayara, we felt we were visiting family. From reception, to restaurant to management, to housekeeping, to massage and everyone else - the entire hotel staff was ready and willing to help with a smile. If names are mentioned the list will go on and on.

We were in Casita #16 with a great view of the Volcano even when relaxing on the comfortable King bed. The first 2 days, having arrived on May 8th, we had sunshine with no rain. Being seniors, we spent most of our time relaxing and enjoying the views, the gardens beautifully laid out with many species of flowering plants that attracted the birds. All this we could see even from the privacy of our room, stretched on the chairs in the balcony. Carlota the pet macaw was not seen when we arrived. About the third day we heard she was by the pool. We walked to the pool. One of the attendants pointed to a tree where she was perched on a branch. He carried a long stick and brought Carlota to us. They always go that extra mile to please the guests.

Food was superb. Breakfast had variety - with wrapped sandwiches to carry out. Fruits were very tasty. Lobby had bananas for anyone to take. We had a fruit platter in our room. Passion fruits were different to anything seen or eaten before - so sweet. As some items that came with our package were not taken, it was substituted with 4 dinners. As portions were large, we shared one dinner (appetizer, main course,dessert)-coffee if needed.for 4 nights. On our last dinner, the Dir. of Rooms offered us whatever we wanted. We had a lobster dinner - the food was delicious!! The hotel offered free international calls anywhere in the world. IN OUR TRAVEL TO ABOUT 50 COUNTRIES AROUND THE WORLD, NO HOTEL OFFERED IT'S CUSTOMERS THIS SERVICE. I only had the 45 min. chocolate massage. It was the best!! We can go on and on with our positive comments. We highly recommend Nayara - you have to experience it. To us, spending the time at Nayara was a fabulous experience. Should we visit Costa Rica again, it will be only to stay at Arenal Nayara. Thank you Nayara. Keep up your good work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

One of the most enjoyable stays I've had at any hotel on the planet. It's not the cheapest, but as the old saying goes, you get what you pay for.

The lodge we had was pretty much perfect. All the facilities were great, exactly what you would expect. The food was excellent, breakfast in particular. The spa was great, though it's only the second place I've every had that sort of stuff so not too much to compare it with. Pools and public jacuzzis all great, even in the rain. The restaurants and bars were all spot on, but maybe a little pricey for the quality of wine/spirits & beers they have on offer; for a Central American country the range of Rum isn't great.

Although very likeable, friendly and skilled in their jobs, the staff were maybe just a little over the top from time to time asking how things were and giving it the old 'pura vida'- this might just be as we are arsey Europeans and its a mainly North American crowd they cater for. Pretty big tipping culture as a result of all the yanks...so Europeans should pay attention to that.

All in all, a wonderful place to spend your honeymoon or holidays. The private jacuzzi and outdoor shower you get in the lodge are now on our list of wants.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel, its spa and the surrounding gardens are spectacularly beautiful. The food in the restaurant was superb. Too bad I didn't have enough time to "chill out" in the Wine Bar. What a fantastic place to decompress! Travel + Leisure Magazine awarded this boutique hotel its #2 ranking for best service in Central America in 2013. This honor is well deserved!

Room Tip: There are a total of 50 rooms, including 29 Deluxe rooms and 21 suites (opened in 2010). Each suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairo Q, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for your wonderful review which we appreciate so much. I want to take advantage of this opportunity to send a heartfelt thanks to all of our guests as well as the readers of Travel + Leisure magazine who recently voted us the No.6 hotel in the world and the No.1 Resort in all of Central and South America. We at Nayara take this honor humbly and will redouble our efforts service you our esteemed guests.

Sincerely,

Jairo Quesada
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nayara Gardens & Spa is an awesome place to stay. We went on your honeymoon and we have enjoyed every minute there. It is a paradise of water (indoor jacuzzi ; outdoor jacuzzi ; pool ; external shower) … Beautiful gardens, decoration and full of details that make the place so special. Staff members are friendly (call you by first name) , well trained and very helpful, making your stay pleasant and very simple. We took a SPA session (tired legs massage) and it was superb, after hiking the Cerro Chato the day before -- having our legs wrapped with warm towels at the end was incredible. The Altamira restaurant is a splunge -- try the Ceviche with Passion Fruit, unforgettable taste and flavour. We highly recommend the Nayara Gardens & Spa -- thank you guys for the good time spent there. Marcia & Andre.

Room Tip: We stayed on a room close to the pool and with a great view of the volcano. Avoid rooms too close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

What an incredible place! I don't even know where to begin. From the minute we arrived to the very last morning the hotel and staff were nothing short of amazing. Everyone needs to experience this hotel! The rooms were stunning, clean and huge! Every little detail was covered from the bathrobes, slippers, toiletries, well stocked mini bar, turndown service with bottles of water (for free!). The beds were super comfortable too which is always hit or miss and we were very happy. The staff was super friendly and always helpful. I did get sick during our trip and they were right there offering to take me in their car (the manager) to the doctor to offering me ginger ale and their own Costa Rican remedies. The food was great at every meal. The pools and hot tubs were incredibly clean, perfect temperature and I loved the bench seating and tables in the pool! And you can't beat the view! The best part is you get all this without a pretentious attitude or people. Defiantly a must stay for anyone looking in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Traveled to Nayara, from Monte Verde....One and half hour trip on dirt, rutted, mountain switch back road to Lake Arenal. Puttery old pontoon boat across lake, up steep hill to road for next pick-up....arrive at the most beautiful hotel, Nayara. Room was huge. Outdoor shower very cool, service impeccable, teak deck looking up on volcano wonderful. Literally sitting in cloud canopy. Birds spectacular. Grounds wondrous. Wine bar a blast. Would highly recommend this as a honeymoon destination.

Room Tip: Ask for room 13
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.