We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“World class hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel, its spa and the surrounding gardens are spectacularly beautiful. The food in the restaurant was superb. Too bad I didn't have enough time to "chill out" in the Wine Bar. What a fantastic place to decompress! Travel + Leisure Magazine awarded this boutique hotel its #2 ranking for best service in Central America in 2013. This honor is well deserved!

Room Tip: There are a total of 50 rooms, including 29 Deluxe rooms and 21 suites (opened in 2010). Each suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairo Q, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for your wonderful review which we appreciate so much. I want to take advantage of this opportunity to send a heartfelt thanks to all of our guests as well as the readers of Travel + Leisure magazine who recently voted us the No.6 hotel in the world and the No.1 Resort in all of Central and South America. We at Nayara take this honor humbly and will redouble our efforts service you our esteemed guests.

Sincerely,

Jairo Quesada
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,910
    173
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
287
1,574
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nayara Gardens & Spa is an awesome place to stay. We went on your honeymoon and we have enjoyed every minute there. It is a paradise of water (indoor jacuzzi ; outdoor jacuzzi ; pool ; external shower) … Beautiful gardens, decoration and full of details that make the place so special. Staff members are friendly (call you by first name) , well trained and very helpful, making your stay pleasant and very simple. We took a SPA session (tired legs massage) and it was superb, after hiking the Cerro Chato the day before -- having our legs wrapped with warm towels at the end was incredible. The Altamira restaurant is a splunge -- try the Ceviche with Passion Fruit, unforgettable taste and flavour. We highly recommend the Nayara Gardens & Spa -- thank you guys for the good time spent there. Marcia & Andre.

Room Tip: We stayed on a room close to the pool and with a great view of the volcano. Avoid rooms too close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

What an incredible place! I don't even know where to begin. From the minute we arrived to the very last morning the hotel and staff were nothing short of amazing. Everyone needs to experience this hotel! The rooms were stunning, clean and huge! Every little detail was covered from the bathrobes, slippers, toiletries, well stocked mini bar, turndown service with bottles of water (for free!). The beds were super comfortable too which is always hit or miss and we were very happy. The staff was super friendly and always helpful. I did get sick during our trip and they were right there offering to take me in their car (the manager) to the doctor to offering me ginger ale and their own Costa Rican remedies. The food was great at every meal. The pools and hot tubs were incredibly clean, perfect temperature and I loved the bench seating and tables in the pool! And you can't beat the view! The best part is you get all this without a pretentious attitude or people. Defiantly a must stay for anyone looking in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Traveled to Nayara, from Monte Verde....One and half hour trip on dirt, rutted, mountain switch back road to Lake Arenal. Puttery old pontoon boat across lake, up steep hill to road for next pick-up....arrive at the most beautiful hotel, Nayara. Room was huge. Outdoor shower very cool, service impeccable, teak deck looking up on volcano wonderful. Literally sitting in cloud canopy. Birds spectacular. Grounds wondrous. Wine bar a blast. Would highly recommend this as a honeymoon destination.

Room Tip: Ask for room 13
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Heard previously of this exceptional hotel from Travel & Leisure magazine which rated this the top hotel in all of Central & South America. It did not disappoint in any way. Vanilla mint scented cold towels and a refreshing glass of wine or punch were offered at checkin. The GM's welcome champagne reception with small taste of sushi was held the first evening which helped us feel at home. The resort grounds surround you with the sense of how special this property and the Arenal area is. The staff could not be any more attentive and friendly. The level of personal service offered throughout our stay made us want to come back again and again. Spring for the Nayara Suite - the most magnificant bungalow we have ever stayed. We were in #35 with an excellent view of Arenal. Imagine laying in your four poster bed looking out to this each morning. The restaurants served an excellent selection for all dining tastes; prices were quite reasonable for drinks and food. The breakfast buffet was the best we had throughout 2 weeks in Costa Rica. Included were wrapped sandwiches, homemade granola bars, and fruit thoughtfully provided with plastic bags in case you wanted to take for your hikes later in the day. How thoughtful. Close to everything you want to do and see! Easy to find too from our drive from Guanacaste. Pool is small but very cool with swim up bar and jacuzzi seating areas built around tables so you can eat drink without leaving the water. Carlotta the parrot added some excitement and great photos when she comes to the pool area to visit. Our only "complaint" was for one night when a frog outside our casita "sang" a little too much for a peaceful sleep (even ear plugs couldn't mask his mournful wail which sounded a bit like my alarm clock at home!). We were in the jungle so the sounds come with the territory but I hope by now he found a mate! Thank you to all the staff for making us feel Pura Vida every step of the way! When I die I hope I land at the Nayara!

Room Tip: If you want to have a bit of exercise, ask for one of the bungalow casita's at the top of the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Looking for Breath Taking Beauty, Outstanding Service and Exceptional Accomodations in northern Costa Rica? You will find it all at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens! Wake up in the morning and watch the clouds melt away from Arenal volcano from the comfort of a plush king size bed. Allow the chorus of colorful birds to lure you onto your private veranda surrounded by lush tropical plants and beautiful flowers. Have some coffee in your hammock or lounge in the chairs on the veranda and soak in the beauty of a Costa Rican morning.

Stay abreast of events back home with WIFI and Cable TV available in your room. Need to make a phone call back home, you can call out of country for FREE from the lobby. This resort is about serving you. After you have taken a moment to catch up on things back home it is time to stroll done the gorgeous paths to a delicious breakfast at ALTAMIRIA. Altamira is an on site restaurant featuring delicious food and exceptional wait staff.

After breakfast you can stop by the front desk and confirm your local tours for the day, book a tour for tommorrow, there is much to see in the area as Nayara is located in the rain forest, close proximitey to Arenal volcano. Recommend the hanging bridges or Cano Negro tour to see wildlife up close. Weary from your travel? Why not go and spend a relaxing day by the pool with swim up bar or at the spa getting a massage or spa treatment.

Wind the day down with a dinner that fits your tastes at the on site Wine Bar, Sushi Bar or Altamira Restuarant. Follow up dinner with your spouse by taking a stroll down the romantic paths by the fish pond and water gardens and back to your room. Whenever wandering the paths on the resort keep your eyes open for the resident parrot, she would love to talk to you.

Need to spend some quality time with your spouse? Leave the kids at home, this is a great place for couples. We highly recommend booking a Nayara Suite... a large comfortable room with king size bed, and private veranda complete with your own private jacuzzi. Did I mention both indoor and outdoor showers with tropical plants and more...

Room Tip: Book a Nayara Suite if you can, you will not be disappointed. Not able to do so? Dont let that keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairo Q, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for your kind words which we truly appreciate.
I would like you and all future guests to know that we are also offering now free international phone calls from the privacy and convenience of all of our rooms.
On behalf of the entire Nayara family we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jairo Quesada
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we first visited manual antonio then guancaste and then came to Arenal. After 2 beach places, we didn't thought arenal was beat that, but this area in general has so much to offer. this hotel doesn't have hot springs like couple other top hotels, but this hotel being a boutique hotel has alot more to offer. way better food than other hotels or even local restaurants - dinner specially! rooms are amazing. i believe most of them have view of the volcano so make sure you get the view b/c that is amazing. suite is better room option but as long as you have the view of the volcano, it doesn't matter which room type you get b/c both are nice. this area has lots of activities. the best zip lining in costa rica. we did zip lining in manual antonio but then realized this place has better options. water rafting was awesome!! i felt that out of all the places, this place had more activities. not as many animals compare to manual antonio we felt but the staff here were so nice and friendly.. made us feel very welcome and cozy.

compare to other luxury hotels we stayed at in costa rica, for the price and experience combined, this was the best. i guess there is a reason they are ranked #1 in tripadvisor.

Room Tip: get either room type. both are big enough i felt. but key is to get the view of the volcano from b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.