We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath Taking Beauty - Outstanding Service - Exceptional Accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
3 course Dinner+Breakfast
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breath Taking Beauty - Outstanding Service - Exceptional Accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Looking for Breath Taking Beauty, Outstanding Service and Exceptional Accomodations in northern Costa Rica? You will find it all at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens! Wake up in the morning and watch the clouds melt away from Arenal volcano from the comfort of a plush king size bed. Allow the chorus of colorful birds to lure you onto your private veranda surrounded by lush tropical plants and beautiful flowers. Have some coffee in your hammock or lounge in the chairs on the veranda and soak in the beauty of a Costa Rican morning.

Stay abreast of events back home with WIFI and Cable TV available in your room. Need to make a phone call back home, you can call out of country for FREE from the lobby. This resort is about serving you. After you have taken a moment to catch up on things back home it is time to stroll done the gorgeous paths to a delicious breakfast at ALTAMIRIA. Altamira is an on site restaurant featuring delicious food and exceptional wait staff.

After breakfast you can stop by the front desk and confirm your local tours for the day, book a tour for tommorrow, there is much to see in the area as Nayara is located in the rain forest, close proximitey to Arenal volcano. Recommend the hanging bridges or Cano Negro tour to see wildlife up close. Weary from your travel? Why not go and spend a relaxing day by the pool with swim up bar or at the spa getting a massage or spa treatment.

Wind the day down with a dinner that fits your tastes at the on site Wine Bar, Sushi Bar or Altamira Restuarant. Follow up dinner with your spouse by taking a stroll down the romantic paths by the fish pond and water gardens and back to your room. Whenever wandering the paths on the resort keep your eyes open for the resident parrot, she would love to talk to you.

Need to spend some quality time with your spouse? Leave the kids at home, this is a great place for couples. We highly recommend booking a Nayara Suite... a large comfortable room with king size bed, and private veranda complete with your own private jacuzzi. Did I mention both indoor and outdoor showers with tropical plants and more...

Room Tip: Book a Nayara Suite if you can, you will not be disappointed. Not able to do so? Dont let that keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairo Q, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for your kind words which we truly appreciate.
I would like you and all future guests to know that we are also offering now free international phone calls from the privacy and convenience of all of our rooms.
On behalf of the entire Nayara family we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jairo Quesada
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,641
    160
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
234
1375
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we first visited manual antonio then guancaste and then came to Arenal. After 2 beach places, we didn't thought arenal was beat that, but this area in general has so much to offer. this hotel doesn't have hot springs like couple other top hotels, but this hotel being a boutique hotel has alot more to offer. way better food than other hotels or even local restaurants - dinner specially! rooms are amazing. i believe most of them have view of the volcano so make sure you get the view b/c that is amazing. suite is better room option but as long as you have the view of the volcano, it doesn't matter which room type you get b/c both are nice. this area has lots of activities. the best zip lining in costa rica. we did zip lining in manual antonio but then realized this place has better options. water rafting was awesome!! i felt that out of all the places, this place had more activities. not as many animals compare to manual antonio we felt but the staff here were so nice and friendly.. made us feel very welcome and cozy.

compare to other luxury hotels we stayed at in costa rica, for the price and experience combined, this was the best. i guess there is a reason they are ranked #1 in tripadvisor.

Room Tip: get either room type. both are big enough i felt. but key is to get the view of the volcano from b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This honeymooners delight made us feel like Kings and Queens. I can't put into words how much I loved this resort. The staff is the heart and soul of Nayara. They made my newlywed wife and I feel like family from the moment we arrived. Our room was immacculate, the grounds were surreal, and the gym and spa are perfect. We went with two queens and found it very nice to have a sleep bed and a fun bed;) If you are a lover of fine wines and top notch cuisuine then spend the extra money to do the "wine pairing." It is normally about $150, but Jairo Quesada the guest relations manager and now a good friend of mine, let us know that with our package that included breakfast and dinner it would only be an additional $90. Worth every penny.
I want to give a special shout out to Felipe at the front desk for going out of his way to help us with our transportation situation (that i created; the resort itself was perfect in all of their bookings and reservations). He took a call at his home around 11pm to help clarify our situation. This man is dedicated to the resort and to service. I would also like to give a big thanks to the very energetic and delightful young blonde woman who works the front as well (sorry i forgot your name). She also negotiated a deal for us with the "Sky Trek" zipline so that we could do the activity a second time after my wife had a mini panic attack and couldn't complete it the first time. She redeemed herself and conquered the most epic of ziplines!!!
On behalf of myself and my wife I want to thank every one of the staff members who treated us as if we were their own best friends while maintaining the highest level of service that i have ever received. Gracias desde el fondo de mi corazón! (Thank you from the bottom of my heart)

Room Tip: Doesn't matter what room you choose, the experience will be delightful either way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It's like Cheers, after day 1 "Everybody knows your name." From the second we checked in we were taken care of and had a fantastic stay. We arrived a little early in the day (after a long transfer from Jaco) but they had our Casita, number 18, ready. Service was first rate and we were in our room in no time. The room itself is the way I want my master laid out at home. The materials used are first class and the outdoor amenities are fantastic. We had a good hard rain the first night we were there and my fiance and I sat our balcony watching it. The tub on the balcony is very nice and a great way to relax after a long day of activites. The macaw that lives by the pool is very cool and a great photo opportunity. We also got to see a common basilisk (Jesus lizard) just walking the grounds. The pool is another great place to relax and have a few drinks from the swim up bar. I didn't take advantage of the Spa but my fiance loved it and I felt it was reasonably priced. She said the only problem is now she may not be able to go to a spa not located in the rain forest. The restaurant was also very good and the included breakfast was top notch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Not only are the grounds of this beautiful hillside bungalow hotel rich in the tropical delights of montane Costa Rica, but the service and amenities are at the top of its class. We have never experienced a more open and friendly staff. To a person, they are entirely professional, courteous and dedicated to the richest possible travel experience of their guests. The rooms and suites are gorgeous, most with spectacular views of the Volcan Arenal; sumptuous beds, linens and towels, and overflowing with flowers and humming with abundant wildlife. The spa, restaurants (sushi bar, wine bar, cigar bar, 4 star chef and kitchen staff) and general amenities combine to make this the best overall experience we have ever had, anywhere. Given the package prices this all combines to an enormously attractive deal. I recommend you make your reservations 6 to 10 months ahead.....it's really that good.

Room Tip: Ask for Jairo to make a room recommendation based on your own requirements. There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Nayara Hotel is a paradise of its own without ever leaving the grounds of this luxury hotel. The Casita was beyond our imagination because a photo can do no justice to the size, comfort and unique facilities. The management was excellent and if you are welcomed at the front desk by Sharon, you will be swept away by her charm, enthusiasm and assistance. The breakfasts were more than enough to last you to dinner after a day of activity. But in the end, it was the privacy and comfort of the casitas that made it perfect for honeymooners, romantics and lovers. Did I mention the outside shower and hot tub all under the watchful eye of the Arenal Volcano? Don't pass it up!

Room Tip: Casita with a view of Arenal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We arrived at the San Jose airport and were met by our driver which the hotel arranged for the two and a half hour trip to the hotel. Manuel our driver was very warm, informative, and safety conscience. When we arrived we were greeted and offered wet face towels and fresh juice. Our room was exactly as advertised and the views of the volcano were stunning and the outdoor shower a joy. The wifi in our room was strong and fast. Since it was getting dark we waited till the next morning to check out the grounds which are absolutely amazing. The feel is very tropical with an actual parrot flying thru the sky over the pool. The breakfast and dinners were top notch but clearly it is the people that make this hotel special. Everyone is genuine and friendly. They all were working hard and you never see any of them just standing around. You clearly get the impression that if they don't treat the guests like a truly welcomed guest they won't be employees here very long. It is easy to see why this hotel is ranked so high. We enjoyed it so much we skipped several planned activities in town just to stay poolside and soak it all in!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.