We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rican Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Costa Rican Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We started our honeymoon off at Nayara, and needless to say it was unlike anything either of had experienced before. The entire staff is constantly working to make sure stay everything you would like it to be and more. The view of Arenal from the entire property is picturesque and breathtaking. The food, atmosphere, view, staff, amenities, and pool are all out of this world, and we cannot wait to return to Nayara one day again soon. The entire staff will feel like family by the time you depart. This was a vacation and a resort that we will remember forever. Thank you again to the entire Nayara family! Pura Vida, and we hope to return again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,817
    171
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
278
1501
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Nayara Hotel earlier this month (April 2013). This hotel is amazing in every respect--the people, food, grounds, rooms, location, etc. We spent 1 week in Costa Rica--staying for 4 days/nights in Arenal/La Fortuna and then 3 days/nights at the beach in Tamarindo. During our stay in Arenal, we stayed first at Arenal Springs (nearby hotel) and then at Nayara because Nayara had limited availability. Our time staying at Nayara was by far the highlight of our trip. Where to start? The people: everyone from the wait staff to the housekeeper to the manager (who personally welcomed us) and others in the reception area were friendly and accommodating. The food: breakfast was included and delicious (incl. made-to-order huevos rancheros); Elguin in the Nostalgia wine bar was friendly and did a great job with the prix fixe menu (esp. wine pairings); they gave us delicious homemade granola bars when we checked out. The room: luxurious, comfortable, great outdoor shower, and bug-free. The location: fantastic views of volcano, helped us plan great outdoor activities (e.g., zip-lining, white water rafting, etc.). 5 stars - we highly recommend Nayara!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I am telling this to you honestly - this was the BEST hotel we have EVER stayed in. We have traveled a fair amount out of country and we cannot tell you how great our experience was here. I would highly recommend to anybody. The rooms are fantastic! We had double sinks, double indoor and a beautiful outdoor shower with a jacuzzi on the porch. We woke up every morning to beautiful birds singing on our porch. The staff were so warm and welcoming and seemed to anticipate your needs without being too pushy - every moment we were there. They made an effort to know their guests. We ate at the sushi bar and drank many bottles of great wine! The breakfasts were amazing. I cannot say enough about the sweet porridge and ham and cheese mini pastries that you served. I wished I could have taken them home with me!!! Each room is quiet and secluded. If I ever go back to Costa Rica I would stay here without a question. Our only regret was that we had not booked another night here as we moved on to the beaches. But, if we did again we would have had one day to just relax here. An added bonus was that the skies were clear and we looked out onto the volcano!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and book here - you will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stopped through Arenal on our first trip to Costa Rica in 2012 and had only one night there. It was all so lovely.... our room was really our own private hut with a large deck complete with hot tub, hammock, and amazing view of the Arenal volcano through Rousseau-like landscaping. The landscaping makes this property special....tropical blooming flowers, butterflies and hummingbirds can easily be spotted walking from your hut to breakfast or the pool. This year we decided to go back and stay a few days. We were enchanted all over again! (The attentive staff moved a large screen tv to a beautiful treetop deck seating area and sushi bar so we all could watch the superbowl! So our Ravens won in the most gorgeous setting!)
The area provides so much to do if one wants, but the property provides privacy, serenity and pampering. Nayara can easily win the most romantic award in my book. I hope we go back someday.

Room Tip: Get the best room available, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've traveled to various countries and this is easily one of the best hotel that I've stayed in! It is worth it's high rating on tripadvisor.

(Positives):
- Beautiful hotel with great rooms and grounds. The view from even the inside the room is great. The outdoor shower is cool. The jacuzzi is nice though it's so hot and humid that I wouldn't spend too much time there.
- Food was very good, ate at the hotel most of the time.
- Friendly staff.

(Negatives):
- I'd have to be extremely picky to say something negative about this place. It is on the pricier side but unlike other hotels that charge top dollar for location/name, this is one place where the price can be justified.

Other points:
- They had a shuttle going into town a few times a day, that was helpful without having to take a taxi.
- The view of Arenal is very good though the hotels towards the west have more of the volcanic/ash view of Arenal.

Would not hesitate to go there again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

By far the most enjoyable vacation ever added bonus was my honeymoon. The rooms were beautiful and always felt romantic. The food was delish with great bartenders for my fancy drinks!! Staff went above and beyond to make sure it was a vacation to remember. Recommend to all worth every penny. Thanks to some employees Juan C and Keylor who were such a gentlemen and extremely helpful!!!

Can't wait to go back
Sabrina xo

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We cannot say enough nice things about the Nayara Resort near Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. My husband and I just celebrated our birthdays there and Jairo and his staff went out of their way to make it a truly special visit. Some of the highlights were visiting with Josue in the Wine Bar and Kellior, one of our fabulous servers. They offer a wide variety of foods and you can order from any of their menus at any of their restaurants, enabling each individual palate to be satisfied. The rooms are large and very well appointed. We woke every morning to the birds and a view of the Arenal volcano. Our meticulous housecleaning staff sprinkled rose petals on our beds and decorated our bed with a variety of towel animals. Additionally, the resort is centrally located, making canyoneering, ziplining and volcano treks very accessible. We would whole heartedly recommend this resort to anyone interested in a luxurious and special resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.