We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muy Bonita” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
Danville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Muy Bonita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during a family vacation with our 2 kids who were 5 and 3 at the time. The resort was beautiful with a clear view of Arenal Volcano from the dining area. There were several parrots that freely perched in the common area which our kids loved. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed casitas set in a lush garden. My only complaint was that the rooms were dimly lit but I suppose this adds to the romantic appeal of this place for couples. Just wish it was a little brighter for young families. Having said that, this place was just beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,851
    171
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
282
1,524
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our family of 4 (kids age 10 & 11) stayed at Nayara for our last two nights in Costa Rica. I guess you could say we saved the best for last. My expectations for Nayara were high based upon all the Tripadvisor reviews and my research on line and I was not disappointed. I have often used Tripadvisor to help in my planning, but this is the first time I'm writing a review because I was so impressed with the hotel. The place was absolutely beautiful and all the amenities were perfect. We took advantage of it all, swimming at the pool, drinking wine at the nostalgia wine bar, eating sushi at Sushi Amor and having a massage at the spa. Everything was top notch and we can't say enough about the lovely staff too. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable for the 4 of us with an amazing view of the volcano. We stayed at 2 nights at Tabacon prior to coming to Nayara because Nayara was fully booked. I can say without question if you are debating between the two properties, pick Nayara. You can get a day pass to Tabacon to check out the hot springs, Nayara is head and shoulders above Tabacon in every aspect & less expensive on top of it all! Please say hello to Elquin in the wine bar if you go, we'll be back too!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Welcome drinks and cold towels upon arrival, hot tubs in private surrounded with plants, jacuzzi on a terrace, a parrot living in its garden, view of Arenal volcano from your bed... I can't think about anything what went wrong during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Before deciding on Nayara, we were looking to stay at a resort that wasn't like your typical resort but something that had a more "Costa Rican" feel. We really wanted to stay in a "hut", but a luxurious one of course. If this is what you're looking for, Nayara is the place. Nayara's rooms are spacious with an outdoor shower and jacuzzi. The resort is intimate and cozy - you'll feel right at home.

Besides the fact that the resort is beautiful, the staff and service is what really sets this resort apart from all the other resorts. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. We've stay at some nice resorts before but have NEVER received service like Nayara. We were amazed at how accommodating the staff was with booking activities, changing rooms (our travel agent failed to tell them we were there for our honeymoon), and almost ANYTHING you can think of. If you ask them, they will figure it out.

While staying at the resort, we spoke with other guests and ALL the guests were amazed with the service at Nayara. If you are deciding between Nayara and Tabacon - go with Nayara. It costs less and we heard from other guests who stayed at both, preferred Nayara. If you want to visit the famous Tabacon hot springs, you can always do a day or night trip to the spa which is only about 10 minutes away from Nayara.

We also got a mud massage at the Nayara spa and we enjoyed it. Definitely a must while at Nayara.

Also dined in the main dining hall and loved the food. We got the package which included breakfast and dinner but if you don't get the package, the prices aren't that bad at all. Food at the pool surprisingly had great prices also - from $7-$15.

Nayara is a definite MUST. You will NOT bed disappointed. We are planning to go back with a group of friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Nayara for the 2nd part of our honeymoon, and we wish we'd spent the entire time there. We actually extended our trip by a day just to spend more time here. A resort like this in Hawaii or other places would probably run $1000/night.

Service is absolutely fantastic all around. My wife got a bit of a stomach bug, and when I went to the front desk to see if they had any medicine for her, they sent someone into town to buy it! Everyone is friendly and eager to help - they make setting up activities incredibly easy.
The resort is stunningly gorgeous. The rooms are amazing. Pool is gorgeous. And I was thoroughly impressed with the quality of food in the restaurants.
About the only negative I can come up with is that the bed was rather hard.

Room Tip: The furthest rooms from the main building have a pretty good uphill walk - not enough to be a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at 4 different first class hotels on our 10 day trip to Costa Rica. We consider this one the best! Why is this true? Our room #29 was beautiful. The bed was super comfortable. The way the room is set up is very unique because it is basically one huge room but they have a 3/4 wall that seperates the bath area from the bedroom area. This wall holds the closet and storage area and a small bar with a refrigerator. The drinks and food in the refrigerator were not free, so if there is a negative that would be it. The bedroom overlooks the Arenal volcano and has a huge wooden deck with a jacuzzi tub surrounded by curtains that overlooks the volcano. The deck is totally secluded with trees and flowering plants. Very private. There are also 2 lounge chairs, a small table and 2 chairs to eat your breakfast at if you want. The bathroom is huge. A gigantic shower in the center with 2 rain shower heads, 2 sinks, one on either end, a private toilet area, and then 2 more outdoor showers with a 10 ft. wall, so again very private. We could hear birds all around when we opened our sliding door. The breakfast was amazing and plentiful, a buffet style, and my husband loves LOTS of coffee so they brought him his own pot. He was very happy. The morning that we left I filled the jacuzzi tub and sat there feeling just like a queen looking out at the garden and the volcano. Our last night we had a delicious dinner at the Nostalgia wine bar with wine pairings. This was one of our best meals of the whole trip. The wine bar is unique because you use a card to get the wine that you want out of each bottle that is set into a wall. Very fun way to try lots of different wines. You can get a little or a lot and it is charged to your card that you insert. Very classy place. The live-in Manager invited us, on our first night, to a meet and greet event at the sushi restaurant on the premises. When he arrived all of the people that had been invited got a glass of champagne and 3 pieces of sushi. He was very gracious and spoke many languages and talked with everyone. I felt this was above and beyond what usually happens at a resort and made it stand out even more. I would definitely go back here if I ever had the chance. Whatever it costs to go here I think you should go.

Room Tip: The higher numbered rooms are further away from the pool and hot tubs and restaurants which means mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I would-- without a singular hesitation-- recommend the Nayara to anyone. My experience at Nayara was by far the highlight of my recent 1 week Costa Rican vacation. So much so, that my husband and I kept saying how glad we were we stayed there last; any other place absolutely pales in comparison to this slice of heaven.

Why? In summary-- 1) gorgeous grounds and literally unbelievable views. 2) amazing attention to detail 3) world class service and staff (including the restaurant).

Our favorite part: We barely wanted to leave our balcony, as we were constantly entertained by the gorgeous view of the volcano, tons of birds, and other wildlife. Our own personal hot tub and hammock certainly added to that. The lovely pool area and swim up bar came in as close 2nd as our favorite hang out. Not to mention the wine bar (so cool!!)

As for the rooms themselves-- beautiful and artistic looking, evocative of a place Hemingway would have loved. Dark wood and billowy curtains.... the individual villa made for the perfect balance of privacy (without feeling too secluded or unsafe). You cannot HELP but feel utterly romantic at Nayara.

All in all--a perfect honeymoon getaway. Thank you, Nayara!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Jetsetter, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.