We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise with Angels of Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Paradise with Angels of Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Nayara was our first stop on our week long honeymoon in Costa Rica arriving on March 17th. My only complaint is that our travel agent booked us here first instead of last. Our 2nd stop couldn't meet the expectations after staying at Nayara!

We were in Bungalow 8 and while foliage had grown to block the clear view of the volcano, it was minor and we felt blessed to have such gorgeous surroundings. There is some construction across the way; and we appreciated that we never heard any loud noises and that they were careful to obviously keep the construction to the day hours when we were out doing activities. It never bothered us at all.

The Manager, Jorge, was friendly, down to earth and assured we were happy and having a wonderful time. We observed him interacting with all the guests and truly taking interest in their stay and experience. His style trickled down to through the entire staff. Jonathan, Luz and every staff member we had the pleasure of meeting was nothing less than professional, friendly, extremely helpful and proud to work at Nayara. We loved it and will most certainly visit again!

Greg & Nancy Stephenson

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,910
    173
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
287
1,574
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just spent 4 nights at Nayara Hotel in La Fortuna. It was a great place to unwind after exploring the surrounding area. The food in the main restaurant was top notch (breakfast and dinner) and we spent several afternoons/evening at the pool bar with Jonathan and Randall....our favorite bartenders! The entire staff were a pleasure to be around.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Nayara Suite. We were in room 26...incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just left this wonderful hotel after a two-night stay in casita #20 which is close to the main lobby, pool and sushi bar. The view from our room was spectacular and the outdoor shower was a real stunner. We had two breakfasts and two dinners with warm, gracious service. Thanks Juan Carlos and Karla for your friendly service. The guacamole, prepared table- side is delicious! While the pool area is small, it is large enough and Jonathan at the pool bar prepared yummy cocktails. Carlotta, the parrot, provided plenty of entertainment.

Room Tip: Rooms in the low teens and 20s are close to the reception area and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Nayara for 4 nights earlier this month as a belated honeymoon. We've stayed at 5 star hotels before but this outshone many of them.

From the moment we arrived the staff were nothing but welcoming, friendly and helpful.

The beautiful setting, gardens and luxurious understated decor make for a lovely peaceful retreat.

Our room was incredible, with great views of the volcano (unfortunately it was covered by cloud for 75% of our stay) and fab deck equipped with hot tub and hammock (which aided a jet lagged snooze).

The location of the hotel is great for tours of the volcano, trips to the nearby hot springs and day tours to Cano Negro. We had pre-booked our tours via our agent but if we hadn't, the hotel were happy to recommend and organise similar trips. Taxis into town are reasonably priced and are easy to order and only take 10minute to town.

We used the restaurant a couple of nights and couldn't fault the service received. Breakfast was also excellent, we liked the freshness and variety available each morning. Happy hour cocktails were also excellent value.

I took a facial at the spa which was lovely and great value compared to those received at English spas and salons.

This was the first stop on our 2 week trip and a perfect way to unwind after a long journey and busy time at work. We will definitely be returning to Costa Rica in the future and will be booking the Nayara again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our mitigated expectations after a day of travel delays and the precarious driving conditions rebounded as soon as we set foot in the lobby. From our first moments until the last the staff at Nayara took care of every detail and made sure we had an exceptional visit. The piece de resistance was the stellar suite. It's hard to conserve water when there are two showers inside the suite, two outside showers and a lovely tub on the porch -- all tempting frequent use. The bathroom was generously sized as was the porch for outside relaxation. We were situated in suite 37 which seemed far but was actually quite manageable.

If we ever visit the area in the future I will opt for the van transport. We rented a car this trip because we needed to continue on to other destinations but the drive at night was intense and would have been impossible without GPS. I recommend leaving the driving to others if you can.

The hotel organized great tours for us and helped us arrange our schedule to get the most out of our time. We enjoyed the canyoning, whitewater rafting, ecothermal baths and especially the couples volcanic mud massages.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights as part of a 10 day visit to Costa Rica. This was our 2nd location after spending
3 nights at Arenas del Mar, Manuel Antonio. we are a couple in our mid forties and we are quite well traveled.

Arrival- great ride from La Fortuna airport, stopped to see a sloth on the way. Driver was very very nice and informative of the area. We booked our transfer through the hotel. At the hotel we were greeted warmly and with a refreshing drink. Our room was not ready but we went to the hot springs to kill some time.

Room - bungalow 8, beautiful is an understatement. Settled into our room and hit the balcony with a bottle of wine. Now the construction noise begins. Chain saws, tractors , back up alarms beeping. NOT my idea of the rainforest. We called to be moved but they are sold out and can not move us. After some insistence they did locate us to another room but with 2 queen beds not a king! I took it because this was preferable to the construction noise. Ended up in room 17. We could no longer hear the construction so I was happy. I do feel there should be a disclosure on the web site about the neighboring construction.

Restaurants - the Japanese restaurant is as good as Japonaise or Sushi Samba. Excellent you must go. We did the wine pairing at the wine bar one night. Service was very slow, almost painful but the food was fabulous as is the entire idea behind the the wine bar. Wished we had more time to spend in there. The main restaurant was great too. Food very good but again the service was inconsistent. The staff are very nice and well trained but I felt the restaurants were short staffed for the resort being sold out.

Spa - wonderful booked a couples massage in the open air room! Wow is all I can say. No need for background music as the rainforest provides all you need.

Pool - small but perfect for the size of resort. Careful of Carlotta - she bit me, guess she didn't like me but I got a great picture.

The grounds are lovely, we did a tour every day and I wished we has spent just a day at the resort.

I would definitely recommend this resort be cautious of the construction. I realize it is not Nayara's fault but they should warn you of the possibility of the noise. In addition I would recommend additional staff for the wine bar on the nights of the wine pairing and in the main restaurant at dinner time.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the neighboring construction. Some of the balconies have no privacy as the back...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Nayara.
In regards to your comment about the construction, indeed there is some going on and I regret that I was not aware of the noise at the time of your stay. We have a good relationship with the company and are able to stymie the disturbance.
As for service at the restaurant, I have discussed this situation in length with the team and took actions to avoid similar problems in the future.
Thanks once again for your feedback and we very much look forward to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gutierrez
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

After staying here at the Nayara, it's very easy to see why it's one of the top rated hotels in the world. We stayed in Suite 27 which was perfect in location. Just far enough up the hill, but not too far away from the pool and restaurants. The suites are very spacious and romantic. The private deck with the jacuzzi was peaceful and romantic. The bed was very comfortable. The grounds are just indescribable.

The weather was unseasonably cool and rainy when we were there. We did not get even a glimpse of the volcano during our three night stay, however all the staff did their best to make it enjoyable. The staff is this hotel's greatest asset and each and everyone of them should be commended for their efforts. One rainly afternoon we spent time at the pool bar keeping Jonathan company. He coaxed Carlotta, the resident macaw, down from her spot on the roof rafters and she allowed us to hold and feed her. What a treat!

The food was excellent,... the breakfast buffet had many options with the breads and pastries being our favorites. The fresh made guacamole at our table at dinner was awesome!

We did zip lining and whitewater rafting while in the La Fortuna area and still had an amazing time. We totally fell in love with Costa Rica and will return soon, most definitely back to the Nayara. Maybe the next time Arenal will be out for us!

Room Tip: Suites in the 25 - 28 range are perfect in location.. not too far up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.