We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"WOW!" describes Nayara in one word” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pickering, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“"WOW!" describes Nayara in one word”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this amazing property! The staff were just unbelievably polite, friendly and genuinely lovely. As you can see by the other reviews, this hotel is the place to stay in the Fortuna area.
The rooms are stunning! The food is excellent. But the best part of the hotel was the staff :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the front of the hotel, as the rooms at the back (although more private) are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,887
    173
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
285
1,554
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Paradise found ! This location is simply amazing. The staff, the food, the bungalows, the location is simply amazing ! Our bungalow overlooked the Arenal volcano; patio doors opennig onto a deck with hammock and spa ...simply amazing ! The room itself was very colorful, romantic in fact with both interior and exterior showers. We were here for our 25th wedding anniversary and this place met all expectations. The grounds are simply incredible, lush and very tropical.

When we booked our stay this location was considered the most romantic hotel in central America ..... I get it !!!!! I totally agree !!! Thank you so much for making our "honeymoon" incredible !

Room Tip: No tip required .. everything is incredible .... you will not be disappointed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The room was amazing - the grounds are amazing - the staff is amazing! This hotel lived up to its ratings on Trip Advisor. We stayed here 4 nights at the end of our trip in Costa Rica. We decided to splurge a little with the Nayara since we were celebrating our 40th anniversary. But really, the cost of the Nayara was not that much more than other area hotels, and the experience was so worth it. The staff is so helpful and friendly to Everyone and most speak English. The staff helped me work with my travel agent to get my camera that I left at an excursion take-out point 3 hours away! They worked on this matter while we continued enjoying our daily plans! Wonderful - I got my camera back! We also used the laundry service as many excursions we did created wet clothes and drying things out in the room does not happen as well in a rainforest climate. Costs were very reasonable and very fast! Some would say the restaurant is expensive, but the food was very good; and when factoring in a taxi to a lower-cost option in town, it really would be the same for 2 people. The free breakfast is wonderful and would cost serious colones at other venues. We so enjoyed our stay at the Nayara, and I have already referred a fellow airline passenger to the Nayara for her up-coming Costa Rica trip. BTW there are some lovely heated jacuzzis and a spa that we just did not have time to use - but if you do, enjoy! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7 - close enough to everything - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Nayara in the first week of March. Unfortunately, it was rainy and cold for most of our stay. Obviously, we cannot blame the hotel for this so we made the best of it. The rooms are spacious (but a little dark) and the maid service was immaculate. The balcony with Jacuzzi is a great touch! The amenities in the room and at the hotel are great. However, there was no wifi signal in the room which was a big disappointment. This would have made this hotel stand out a bit more. The grounds were gorgeous with lush plants surrounding the property. There is a very nice pool and outdoor ponds which we did not use because of the weather, but they are there. You can tell that they are well maintained. The main restaurant was pretty good for dinner, breakfast was outstanding- we would eat there, but would stay away from the sushi restaurant if you are used to decent sushi.
This hotel is very luxurious and comfortable and the staff is more than happy to help plan your excursions and give you information about the area. I would say the staff makes this hotel stand out next to other hotels we stayed at. They were very friendly and professional.
Overall, Nayara is a great place to stay in arenal. There is a lot to do at the hotel, it is on lovely grounds and it definitely has a romantic touch. It is a very good value. Just cross your fingers for good weather because it makes a huge difference! We did not get to see the volcano which was disappointing. We would return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a volcano view. If the weather allows, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time for sharing your recent experience at Nayara.
In regards of your comment about our Sushi restaurant, I would like to share with future guests that we constantly monitor our suppliers and presentation. I have brought your comment up with the Sushi team so we can reinforce our standards accordingly.
On behalf of the entire Nayara team we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gutierrez
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I would give the Nayara Hotel 10 stars! The grounds were stunning, the service was excellent, and the staff were doting. Our room was beautifully decorated and squeaky clean. This place has it all and then some! Nayara deserves to be rated #1 in Central, and South America. LOVED it and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: They're all good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If visiting this area, this is a top notch place to stay. The rooms are really nice and the bathroom very spacious. If possible, get a suite. The indoor/outdoor showers are really nice. Great balcony areas with an amazing views of the volcano. The lush tropical surroundings are very pretty and peaceful. The restaurant does a fine breakfast and I liked how they packed sandwiches for you so that you could take them on your excursions or just back to room to have for lunch. Good homemade granola bars to. Dinners were also very nice and the wine bar is also fun to explore. Great excursions from the hotel. Ziplining is incredible and the hanging bridge tour very scenic and informative. Plenty of hot springs to visit. We did Tabacon and it was really nice. The staff is great at organizing all of your tours and pick up to and from the resort for arrival and departure. Again, if in the area and you want to stay at a place with great service, amazing views, and luxury rooms, pick Nayara!

Room Tip: The suites have awesome bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Typically my husband and I go the all-inclusive beach front route but decided against it this trip. It was the best decision we could have made. The breakfast every morning had fresh food and bags so you could pack a light lunch in the afternoon. Sitting pool side watching the clouds move around the volcano was memorizing, not to mentioned the wonderful drinks serviced by Jonathan the bartender. The room was fabulous the outdoor shower and Jacuzzi tub was used EVERYDAY.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.