We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Suite in Arenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Suite in Arenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at Nayara for 2 nights last January and had a lovely stay.

Excellent Spa (Hot stone treatment), quality food at the restaurant (we had dinner there on both nights) and efficient staff, who went out of their way to solve our problems on arrival.

Our check-in was fast, with great explanations and attentive staff. We were then taken to our Suite, which did have volcano views as previously required in our booking. The room was amazing and it seemed like the perfect ending to our trip around Costa Rica.

We had lunch at Nayara, which was beautifully presented and of good quality, and decided to have a relaxing afternoon in our Suite. We filled the jacuzzi and once we started the jets, hundreds of big ants got out of them, covering all the water. We called reception, and they inmediately sent someone with a spray, thinking it was just a bug problem...That was "not enough"... We had an ant army and they had decided to set up their colony in one of the jacuzzi jets.

The assistant manager came to our room and took himself a few pictures of our jacuzzi, now covered in ants. Even though they were fully booked, he managed to move us to Suite 50, on the top, which was much appreciated. All in all, we had lost the whole afternoon, which was supposed to be a relaxing one. As a compensation we were offered a lovely dinner and in order to forget that nasty experience received delicious strawberries covered in dark chocolate once we got out of the Spa. That is service!

We deeply enjoyed our stay at Nayara but would like to mention two less positive aspects:

- the swimming pool was too small even though it never felt crowded, as people went out on excursions.

- the check-out was much less welcoming than the check-in. Nobody took care of our luggage at reception, nobody asked about our car and nobody came down to say goodbye. Maybe everybody was busy at that time, but we felt a little bit disappointed, not feeling as if we were leaving friends behind or someone you hope to meet soon again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,735
    166
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
255
1445
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Perry, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is incredible! We stayed in villa 50 which is very nice and private. It is the last villa furthest away from the lobby but the walk is not far. We had the perfect honeymoon here. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly upon check in and throughout our entire stay. The food was incredible! Best meal we have EVER had. The pool, jacuzzis, gardens, and spa were very nice and private. Everyone we met here was very nice and friendly. If you are looking for a romantic getaway you cannot go wrong with Nayara. You will not want to leave.
Pura Vida!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

You have likely heard the phrase--If you don't know Diamonds know your Jeweler.
Well in the same way if you don't know Costa Rica know Costa Rican Vacations. (1 800 606 1860 ) They planned a perfect 12 day vacation for us which included Nayara Hotel and Spa. It was/is a superior spot with excellent facilities,food, service,suites, ambience and views. Lots to do in the area as well.
This romantic spot is a must repeat on our list.

Room Tip: Travel Agent did this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is the first review I have ever written, but I felt like Nayara deserved my time to let you all know that this was such a great place. The staff, the rooms, the plants and vegetation surrounding the private bungalows, the great view of Arenal Volcano...it was all perfect. I couldn't have asked for a better place. I wish I was still there! I would say this place is meant for couples, if you have kids there you will look out of place. It was very quiet and mellow, one of the most peaceful places I have ever been.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

From the moment you enter you know you are at a special place. The staff greets you by name and treats you royally. Upon entering our room we realized what a treat we were in for. Each room is actually a separate casita with your own indoor and outdoor shower, a private porch with a jacuzzi and view of the Arenal volcano. Everything at this resort is geared for your comfort and enjoyment! A bottle of sparkling wine was waiting for us in the refrigerator to compensate for the room not being ready when we arrived even though check-in wasn't until 3 and we arrived around 12:30.

The grounds are a tropical paradise with all the amenities of a 5-star resort--a spa, jacuzzis, pool with a bar, gym. Service was wonderful--there was nightly turn-down service when they gave you bottled water and chocolates. Your rooms were always clean with fresh towels and towels folded to form designs with fresh flowers in them.

The breakfast buffet was lovely with lots of choices, both typical (eggs, pancakes, cereals, great fresh fruit) and not so typical Costa Rican specialties. Coffee was served in French press pots and was excellent. Dinners were delicious too with lots of choices--prices weren't off the wall either. Service was great. All guests are invited to the sushi bar the first night for a champagne toast and to meet the manager who introduced himself to everyone individually.

The staff went over and above to make sure everyone had a great stay. I can't say enough about the Nayara, It was a highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Can't say enough about this hotel. The grounds are beautiful. The staff and service were fabulous. Whether it was management, the front desk, the restaurant, housekeeping, they made us feel like we were the only guests at the hotel. Our room was great. Such attention to detail. Especially loved the jacuzzi tub on the patio overlooking the forest. What a way to start the day! We stayed four nights -- wished we had four more. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New York
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This resort with all private bungalows is very beautiful, planted lushly and carefully tended. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was large with an amazing view of the volcano and a very nice outdoor shower. Overall the food was excellent and they have a great wine bar where you can sample many fine wines. The only negatives were that one meal in the wine bar that was billed as tapas was really very poor and not really like tapas and the pool is really just a big jacuzzi with a bar at one end. It is hot in Arenal and I would have liked to take a dip in a cooler pool. The spa is great too. I had the hot stones massage which was heavenly.

Room Tip: We had room 15 which was on the end by itself and hence very quiet except for the morning birds whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and HotelsClick so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.