We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction Alert but Still Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
Wadsworth, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Construction Alert but Still Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I won't bother repeating all of the glowing reviews others have posted, they are all true! Here are a few things I can add however.

Avoid the rooms at the back of the property. One of the hallmarks of Nayara is that each room is very private and surrounded by lush jungle, at least that was my expectation. We were in Room 37 and checked in while it was dark. We were in the back corner of the property and sat out on the patio listening to the insects buzzing and enjoying what we thought was thick jungle. Imagine our surprise when we woke the next morning to the sound of circular saws and work men hammering away on new construction just a few hundred feet off our patio!

Evidently Nayara has become so popular that they are expanding to accommodate all the guests. There was a small ravine behind our hotel and directly on the other side were several new villas going up. I was looking forward to using the hot tub and the hammock on the porch to relax, but that was pretty much impossible during the day with all of the work going on. When we contacted the manager he apologized and offered to move us. Since we had already unpacked and the following day was Sunday with no work we decided to stay. They ended up giving us a free dinner at one of the hotel restaurants which I thought was very fair. I just wish they had informed us before we checked in, so we weren't quite so shocked.

The pool is the perfect size for this resort. i read several reviews mentioning the small size but it is best to think of it as a really large hot tub instead of a small pool. There are benches and tables throughout the pool and water jets alternate around the outside. The pool is focused on a swim up bar, so after you get your drink you can just relax in the pool. Really great! Also, the Scarlet Macaw that lives at the pool was really fun to watch.

Seeing all of Arenal at one time is really rare. We never saw the top except for maybe a few minutes. From talking to the locals I guess this is very common and it is very rare for it to completely clear off..

Somehow the concept that we were going to a RAIN forest was lost on me. Since it was the dry season, I guess I expected it to be, well, dry! Wrong. It just means that it rains less than the rest of the year. Still a great place but cloudy and rainy much of the time.

The service we received at Nayara was the best ever! This is really a top-notch operation and extremely well run. The staff seemed genuinely glad to have us there. Would love to go back after they are done building.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,971 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,758
    169
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
264
1462
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just getting ready to leave this amazing property after a three night stay. If you are in the Arenal area, this is a must stay hotel - don't even worry about the price, you will get every pennies worth. The private casitas are to die for!!! They are immaculately cleaned each day with little surprises left for you. The staff is the accommodating and friendly. The manager, Jorge, is delightful and wants to make all of his guests feel at home ( my home is nothing like this :). Jonathan was especially wonderful. We took the handing bridges tour with a private driver and guide which cost 215$ for four people. It was amazing! We saw so much that we would have missed on our own. The hotel arranged all of this for us. Our guides name was Pedro Flores and I highly recommend him. Don't miss this slice of heaven!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I went to Costa Rica for our honeymoon for 2 weeks. We started our stay at Nayara in La Fortuna near the volcano. We wish we could have spent all of our 2 weeks at this fantastic resort. Nayara is by far the best hotel I've ever stayed at. They have all the amenities that you want and need. The front desk is friendly and very accommodating.

If you get a chance to go to Costa Rica this is a must stay.

Room Tip: They are all good. Get a Casita if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have never seen such a beautiful area and a more beautiful hotel. The view of the Arenal Volcano was breath taking. The service was incredible. The rooms were ridiculous!! GORGEOUS!! Every detail was perfect. I felt like I was living a fantasy. The only bad thing was coming home and coming back down to reality.

The food was great! Fantastic Costa Rican food!

They have a super location that is close to everything. A sloth lives in a tree across from the parking lot...I have never seen anything like that!

The staff would do ANYTHING for you. The rooms were super clean. The outdoor shower was crazy. The back porch with jazucci and hammack...really....SO pampered!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Pros:
- very friendly and accommodating staff (staff helped us boost our rental car after the battery died)
- immaculate property (room, restaurants, washrooms)
- main restaurant (Costa Rican dishes were excellent)
- wine bar (individual tastings and tapas)
- excursions were planned by hotel staff and added to room charge (we did SkyTrek zip-lining which was excellent)
- breakfast included was very good (fresh juices, egg station, sandwiches-to-go)

Cons:
- sushi restaurant was our least-favorite meal
- internet access was spotty around the property

Comments:
-

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

An amazing boutique resort with all the amenities you could ask for and a staff that is as friendly and responsive as I've ever encountered. Add that to the views of the Volacano and the endless activities and it's hard to find something not to like.

Only things that were a bit disappointing were wifi access and the room and balcony furniture. Wifi in the rooms was non exsistant and it seemed the only place you could get on consistently was in common areas like the lobby. The room was awesome but it could have used a nice comfortable love seat for hanging out and reading. Same for the balcony. The two chairs were wood with no cushions and not very comfortable. Having said this, I think this place is going for the minimalistic sort of ecotourism vibe, so maybe nice looking but simple elegance is what they are after. Don't get me wrong, the rooms are some of the nicest I've ever been in but the lounging furniture could be more comfortable.

All in all a great place and should be on you short list of places to stay in Costa Rica.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This resort is very nice with lush and tropical grounds. The staff were very friendly, but surprised that being the #1 resort they did not know you by name or that management did not make sure every staff member greeted you. The food was good and the wait staff was friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Nayara.
I would like to take the opportunity to personally apologize that felt you were not greeted or addressed by name. Guest recognition is key in this industry and we have taken actions to reinforce this with the entire team.
I hope this did not mar your entire experience and we hope to have the chance to serve you in the future.

Jorge Gutierrez
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.