We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet and wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wet and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was the 2nd hotel we stayed in for our 2 week honeymoon in Costa Rica. We were here from December 20-23, 2012.

Nayara is a honeymooners' paradise, to say the least.

From the moment we checked in (which was at about 10pm due to the most gut-wrenching, white-knuckle 4-hour drive from Siquirres that my amazing husband navigated that night) we knew this place was top-notch. Not only did we receive a refreshing cold towel and a lovely fruit drink upon arriving, but they actually even prepared for us two delicious salads because they were afraid we didn't have a chance to eat dinner! And no charge! How amazing is that?! It's not even an all inclusive! They also left us a small bottle of champagne the first night and a full-sized bottle of champagne the second night! For checkout they left us with a cute little wrapped gift of granola bars (I'm not sure if this is what they give to everyone but this was one of my favourite things to take for lunch! How did they know?) We truly felt special at Nayara.

The food at both the sushi bar and Altamira was excellent. Dinners were a little pricey but absolutely delicious and worth every penny! As another poster mentioned, the selection for breakfast was so extensive and many items (sandwiches, granola bars, etc.) were even prepackaged (easy to take for lunch) - they even give you a bag so you don't have to feel like a criminal taking from the breakfast buffet!

The rooms are wonderful as well - our first room was close to the pool, so it was a bit noisy but we mentioned it to the staff the next day and were immediately moved to a much more quiet and secluded room. We adored the private jacuzzi tub and the entire dark wood balcony space. Birds were everywhere. The bed was comfortable and spacious. The iPod/iPhone docking station was a nice touch.

We spent some time at the pool, which was nice and warm, but the hot tubs were truly great! A recommendation: instead of paying $$ to go to the hot springs at Tabacon or other hotels, save your money! There is a public hot spring just past Tabacon hotel that is free to use (look for the yellow gate). Watch your step - some of those waterfalls are pretty powerful!

Unfortunately the entire time we were there the weather was very wet, misty, foggy, rainy...we didn't get a chance to see the Arenal volcano and we had a VERY soggy hike at Rio Celeste (the water wasn't as blue due to the weather but it was still a great hike and I highly recommend it), but still the atmosphere was super romantic and a great mid-way point for our honeymoon.

NB: if you're driving to Nayara, it's very easy to miss the signage - you have to turn off from the main road from La Fortuna and drive about 5 minutes on a very potholed, dirt road before you reach the hotel. If you're coming from the opposite direction, you don't even see any signage, so don't miss it! We passed the entrance a few times before catching it. Keep your eyes peeled, especially at night!

Room Tip: We wound up at #19 - close enough to the action, yet private and far enough away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,741
    166
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
256
1449
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SappiNY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband booked our honeymoon at Nayara for April 2012 (I'm just getting around to writing the review now). We stayed for 5 nights, had to take a 3 hour shuttle from San Jose to get here. We LOVED the property, the private villa we stayed in was beautiful, we had an amazing view of the Arenal volcano. My favorite part of the hotel was feeling to close to nature all around us. The grounds and gardens are beautiful, in the mornings we would wake up to the sounds of the birds, we'd take naps on the hammock on our beautiful wood patio. The breakfasts were extensive with fresh fruit everyday. We tried dinner the first night, had the buffet, which was overpriced in my opinion (I think $25/person) with not the best selection of items. After that we ate in town or during our day trips. I also loved the dual outdoor shower, which we used everyday. We booked tours and hikes directly through the hotel which was easy, I liked the tour company they used. We hiked Arenal, hiked Chato Hill (it was a strenuous hike, but well worth it), saw La Fortuna falls, went to Eco-termales hot springs, and spent an evening downtown. The hotel pool is very small and not too impressive, the wet bar was cool, we enjoyed the private jacuzzis. The spa was wonderful! We treated ourselves to a couples Swedish massage and a hot stone massage.

I loved Arenal, we hope to visit again soon, and would love to be back at Nayara. Thank you for a wonderful honeymoon we will never forget!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Nayara.
In regards of your comments about the food, I would like to share with you and other travelers, that we just revamped our menu, and it has been a success so far with our other guests.
I truly hope you give us the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gutierrez
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very good stay at this lush & beautifully landscaped resort with very private rooms. We took a room with 2 queen beds for ourselves & our daughter. Room & bathroom were spacious with plenty of closet & shelf space. Indoor shower was great but totally private outdoor shower was perfect, surrounded by lush plants & flowers. Private porch with 2-person jacuzzi, chairs & hammock was a perfect place to hang out & watch the changing view of the volcano. It's covered well enough that we stayed dry even during the daily torrential downpours. Food was good - several places to eat on premises. Spa services were quite good. Staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, no matter what we asked of them. Best suited to couples or families with older children/teens.

Room Tip: Biggest factor is how far you want to walk from the main building, restaurant & pool to your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We started off the first five nights of our honeymoon at the Nayara. The trip started off shaky after we checked in to the hotel. Although we were on our HONEYMOON and had booked a king bed 10 months in advance we were checked in to a "queen" room which was actually two double beds. I understand that hotels overbook room types, however, I was displeased that the front desk gave us no warning. Once I walked into the room I started crying...not a good start to the honeymoon. My new husband is 6' 4'' and sharing a double bed with him was not really what I had planned when we booked the resort. Had anyone gave us some type of warning I would have understood. The front desk girl that failed to mention the tiny bed situation offered us a different room, the type we had booked initially, for check in the next day and a free spa treatment but at that point I had already started off in tears...no bueno.

The food was fantastic and we recommended the wine pairing to everyone we met. I was shocked at how good the sushi was and found out that they had brought out the chef from Sushi Samba NY to train the staff. Sushi Samba is my favorite restaurant and loved the chance to indulge in the delicious fusion in a tropical environment.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a more secluded honeymoon destination, just make sure to verify your room type so you don't get any surprises :(

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Nayara.
I want to take this opportunity to apologize for the situation you encountered with your room. I would like to mention that we checked your reservation and found no record of a king bed request and it’s our mission to accommodate every guest’s specifications.
At the moment, we do not confirm king beds since we have no category specifying the type of bed, but I want to anticipate that this year we have plans to renovate our units and we will convert some of the double bed rooms into king bed units.
On behalf of the entire Nayara family we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gutierrez
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington NC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have traveled fairly extensively, and Nayara is absolutely the best place we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The staff is amazing (J.C., Lindsay, Estephan, and everyone else too). The food is so good in Altamira that we never ate anywhere else. The spa is fabulous. The grounds are gorgeous. The Nayara Suite is all that you could ever want. At arrival, you are met with a cool towel and a fruit drink while you check in. Then you are whisked by golfcart to your accommodations. The suite has two full bath areas, with an indoor shower and an outdoor shower. There is a wraparound deck with hammock, chairs, table and hot tub, all overlooking the Arenal volcano and lush grounds. You cannot see another casita. The restaurant is very attractive, with a staff that is well trained, professional and friendly. We enjoyed a special at dinner on our first night, and the chef gladly made it for us again later in the week. Breakfast buffet is delicious with a huge array of choices, all perfectly prepared. They set out sandwiches, fruit and plastic bags so you can take lunch with you on your day's activity. Even housekeeping is great. Our housekeeper amused us with "towel animals" every day. They were so cute we hated to use the towels, so by the end of our stay, we had a menagerie. I looked hard for a flaw so this review wouldn't be so gushy, but there just wasn't one. To top it all off, the weather was gorgeous the whole stay, and we saw the volcano clear three different days.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room. We enjoyed being "at the top of the hill" away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is worth the hype
Service is excellent
They want you to be satisfied
A group of 7 couples went and everyone felt the same
Very romantic
Staff knowledgeable about area and tours
Breakfast buffet great

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I would recommend staying here for at least 3 nights to leave time to do all the various activities in the area while also having time to enjoy the spa, pool, room, and the rest of the resort.

We stayed 2 nights in the Deluxe Room and it was pretty much as advertised - nice showers and tub on the balcony, bed was comfortable, great view. A good place to relax after doing whatever activities you choose to do in the area. I was impressed with the number of different options for breakfast, and the staff was really friendly and had lots of information and recommendations for things to do in the area. My personal highlight is bringing breakfast back to the room and watching the birds and the volcano while eating and drinking coffee. Definitely a good spot for couples.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and HotelsClick so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.