We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff with an attention to detail!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great staff with an attention to detail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is beyond words. We were lucky enough to travel to Costa Rica twice in the past year and both times made it a point to stay at Nayara. What sets them apart from other resorts is the attention to detail. And the AMAZING STAFF.
The staff here truly goes above and beyond. From our transport drivers (ask for Norman!), who went out of their way to show us numerous local highlights such as various fruit plantations, animals (monkeys, sloths, iguana's, cayamans, etc.), and even stopped to let us see and taste raw coffee beans. To the manager, Jorge, who took time out of his day to sit and chat with my husband over drinks and sushi. Interacting with such genuine people truly makes your days at Nayara. Pure Vida!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,885
    172
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
285
1,552
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nayara is incredible and by far the most relaxing, beautiful, luxurious, laid back resort I have ever stayed at. I would recommend it to anyone. Reception was very helpful and friendly in booking my tours. They always greeted me with a smile =) The outdoor shower is so cool and I loved relaxing in the hammock on my balcony. Hands down the best hotel in Arenal. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful casitas with great patios and views, and you'll feel like you're in your own private retreat. You see other guests at the delicious breakfast buffet and/or "sushi amor" as well as waiting in the lobby for excursions. Staff is top-notch. Grounds are meticulous.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here for one night but had to change to the Tabacon because they were booked. If I had only stayed at the Tabacon I would be telling you it was the best but the Nayara is definitely better in my book. The thermal pools at Tabacon were the only thing that the Nayara couldn't compete with. I must admit that the thermal pools were beyond comparison. That being said, the Nayara had a number of little extras that put it ahead of Tabacon. Those hidden secluded Jacuzzis, the swim up bar (the Tabacon thermal spa area - a short walk away - had a swim up bar but not the hotel itself), an in-door and an out-door shower in each room, the private hot tub and hammock on each private terrace, and even the view of the rain-forest from my room was better. I can't speak to the view from all the rooms at the Tabacon and the Nayara. I'm just referring to the rooms I stayed in. Also, I preferred the buffet and restaurant to the Tabacon... and the employees at the Nayara were friendlier. They made an effort to remember your name and you don't see that everyday. I strongly recommend this hotel for couples - especially honeymooners. I felt a little weird because I was traveling with my brother. I've got to get my wife to go some time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights over New Year and the resort is truly stunning!! We had a Nayara Suite and it was huge with all amenities, however the views to the volcano are slowly being eaten up by vegetation and ours did not look like the brochure!! This did not matter too much as the start of our stay was hampered by rain rain and rain. The hotel is situated about 6k from La Fortuna and when the volcano was truly active would have resulted in some great displays. Now however it is stranded too far to walk to town, took us two hours and with no hot spring. Overall we had a fantastic stay but we were the only non- Americans there and the staff seem to expect a tip for everything. Definitely a truly romantic hotel in a quiet location but may need to provide that little bit more now the volcano lies dormant. I would definitely recommend nayara but maybe 5 nights is too much.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

No need to go anywhere else in Costa Rica...The rooms are incredible with large balconies that have outdoor private jacuzzi's along with hammocks. The food was great with an amazing buffet breakfast included every morning. In comparison we stayed at the Marriott Los Suenos where breakfast was $22 per person and not close to the same quality. The service is just extraordinary. Nothing compares to this hotel

Room Tip: the new bungalows are AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went here for our honeymoon in December. We stayed for 4 nights.

It was a splendid experience! The staff were great and super friendly. Americans can learn from Costa Ricans on how to treat people and on how to provide superb customer service. Too bad in America servers expect a tip when they provide poor/average service.

The Honeymoon Package was fun! In addition to their spa, my wife and I did Ziplining via Sky Trek and visited the Eco Termales Hot Springs - both of which we highly recommend!

Room Tip: The Casita Deluxe will suffix. Each room as a great view of the rainforest and of the Arenal volcano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.