We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service at a high price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner+$100 spa Credit
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great service at a high price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

This is the summun of luxury from the moment you step up in your transfer van. Staff are super dedicated, the tours are of top level. We recommend Edwin and the canopy tour. The people staying there are lovely, its a very social place. We did find it on the expensive side. But good things are never cheap, just be aware that money goes quickly when you have a great sushi bar, an amazing wine bar and a world class open air spa. Perfect for a honeymoon or if you need to fix your marriage. The laundry did ruin my favorite t shirts which they put in the dryer and the staff is pushing too hard on the tips. For the record, they has 13% tax and 10% tip. You don't need to leave extra. But we loved it there, go on spoil yourself, you are worth it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing about your experience at Nayara.
I want to take the opportunity to apologize the situation that happened with your shirt; in regards to your comment, the gratuity is unacceptable since we ensure the compensation of all of our colleagues across the board is competitive within the area and above the government range; most of the team has worked at Nayara for a considerable amount of time because of that. The matter has been addressed with the entire team.
Should you like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gutierrez
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,755
    167
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
261
1459
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The vibrancy of Costa Rica...the culture, the people, the colors, the food....they all come alive at the Nayara. All in all, the property and staff represented the best of Costa Rica. Food was good and plentiful, the grounds were amazing...lush and colorful, the accommodations were luxurious and restful, and the staff were incredibly professional yet friendly and eager to please. All in all, our 3 nights were the start of an incredible journey in CR which enabled us to experience the wonders of the rain forest and get to know a little about the local area and the communities. The Nayara booked our excursions each day and we were not disappointed with the volcano and waterfall hikes, the rafting trips down the river, the intensity of the zip lines, and capping it all off with some down time at the mineral baths. We could not have found a better place to stay!

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite...well worth it...an oasis of private calm and beauty. The hammock on the deck a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Nayara for two nights and loved the experience. Our room was beautiful and felt very secluded. We loved the happy hour and the sushi restaurant, and I had a fantastic mud mask facial at the spa. The staff are extremely friendly and very professional. They helped organize tours for us and called the airline for us several times to chase down a missing piece of luggage. We would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat - it is top class!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Everything about this resort is SUPER! From staff, to views, food, outdoor shower, couldn't find a thing we didn't like. The room was breathtaking, we didn't want to leave the resort. We never used the inside shower. They surprised my husband with a birthday cake which was special. Highly recommend this resort for any occasion. We can understand why it's rated 6th in the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I spent the first 4 days of our honeymoon here. It was simply perfect; everything a honeymoon should be. The staff and service are world class and the food was great. The casitas were gorgeous and secluded. Great excursions available. The best hotel I've ever stayed at and well deserving of it's awards and distinctions. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 6 nights recently. It was pretty much perfect. We arranged activities through the front desk for each day - all went perfectly. The food is excellent - dinner will run around $70-100 for 2 using the daily specials and a little more a la carte - but they were consistently excellent so much that we didn't see much reason to eat elsewhere. Breakfast is free and there's a large buffet selection.
It's pretty much all couples with just a few families.

It seemed to be a much more relaxed atmosphere than Tabacon - which you have to visit - but we were happy to be returning to Nayara after a few hours in the hot springs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Nayara Hotel back in April of 2012 to celebrate our 20th anniversary. It was an amazing experience ! The hotel staff did a great job of welcoming us upon our arrival. We were greeted with "welcome drinks" as soon as we got there. The staff were always courteous and very helpful. Our Nayara Suite more than met our expectations ! It is every bit as lovely as the pictures show. We had a gorgeous view from our balcony of the volcano as well. We had booked our room during one of their low season specials so our breakfast and dinner were included daily. The breakfast buffet was great and had a wide variety of foods available. Some local fare was included daily as well as traditional breakfast foods. Everything we tried was wonderful. The servers were always so friendly and happy to help in any way they could. An added bonus was they always had fresh sandwiches and subs pre-wrapped on the breakfast buffet for people to take if you were going out sight seeing that day. We also ate dinner every night at Altimira Restaurant at the resort. All our meals were fabulous. Be sure to try the guacamole that they make table side for you at your request. The food was so good at the resort we chose to eat dinner there every night. Also try the sushi restaurant at the resort as well. We went there for happy hour each night before dinner and enjoyed many of the samples of sushi they brought out for us to try. The natural beauty surrounding Nayara is nothing short of breathtaking!! There are numerous bunnies that hop around the property and were just adorable. Also enjoyed the 2 birds that sit outside the pool and bar area. The hotel manager Jorge was great as well ! We had the pleasure of meeting him and having a nice chat with him as well. It was obvious to us that he really cares about meeting the guests and making sure they have an enjoyable stay. This trip was an amazing way to celebrate our 20th anniversary and we can't wait to visit Nayara again !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.