We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only heaven could be better...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Only heaven could be better...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I visited Arenal Nayara for our 1st wedding anniversary. There are honestly too many pleasurable experiences to express here... with the 500 step hike down to La Fortuna waterfall and zip lining 650 feet over the jungle and all. I tell everyone I can about the gracious people of the country, the excitement and beauty of Costa Rica, and the dreamlike state I remained in during my stay. All of this is in huge part to the accommodating and efficient staff at Nayara. They truly bend over backwards to ensure that you don't have a care in the world during your stay. We had no problems during our stay, even having to stay in a double bed room our first night. We were quickly and efficiently moved to a king room with a beautiful volcano view the very next day. The rooms are immaculate, handsomely decorated with heavy carved and solid wood decor, and cleaned with detail each day. Our tip to the maid prompted a lovely hand written note of appreciation from her. The food was beyond delicious (and this is coming from a Southern girl raised on good 'ole fashioned, highly seasoned, southern cuisine), served hot, and the little extras such as guacamole prepared fresh in front of us at our table made our dining experience so special. The surprise anniversary cake (chocolate caramel) prepared by the chef and delivered to our room on our anniversary was literally the icing on the cake. It was delicious!! I honestly was sad to depart, and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,917
    175
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
290
1,580
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I spent our 10 year anniversary while at Nayara. The hotel grounds are spectacular. We stayed in a suite and were initially disappointed that we had 2 queen beds instead of a king...however, Jose at the front desk quickly provided 2 complimentary massages. The outdoor shower in the suite is amazing...it may have been one of my wife's favorite things on the trip! The staff was great and easily made our reservations for the Sky Tram zip line, white water rafting and the hanging bridges tour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We celebrated our "25" anniversary at Nayara (a friend recommended it) and I have to say she was right! Liz at the hotel set up the car pick-up at the airport (it was so easy) and our driver had great stories regarding Costa Rica. From the minute we got to the hotel, the staff was very friendly and greeted us with open arms and smiles. Jorge Gutierrez (Manager) was amazing and by the time we left there, we felt like we were family. We stayed for 5 nights and set up all of our excursions thru the hotel. We went white water rafting, rode ATV's, hanging bridges, etc. and the companies and tour guides were all great! They all gave us different prospectives of Costa Rica, which they were proud to be a part of. The room was fantastic and private and we had a great view of the Volcano and saw so many differenct types of birds and colorful foliage/flowers.The breakfast buffet and dinners were delicious and many varities to select from. We will definitely recommend Nayara for a special romantic vacation and we will be back!! Thanks to Jorge and the Nayara staff for making this a memorable anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krtangle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great hotel. We stayed in one of the suites, and it was great. Beautiful room, huge porch (which we weren't around to use much) with a Jacuzzi, great bathroom. Nice pool area with friendly bartenders. Dinner service we attentive, and food was good with a nice enough wine selection. Breakfast was included with the stay and there were lots of great options.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The rooms were very spacious and comfortable with a nice deck with a view of the volcano and indoor and outdoor showers. Free calls to the US was great. Also, the breakfast buffet was excellent with made to order omlettes, great fruit, juices, pastries, etc. We didn't need to eat lunch. The wine bar was nice and $6 drinks by the pool is a bargain at most resorts. Staff was also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It's hard to find a bad review of Nayara and there's a very good reason: the place is awesome.

I could go on about how beautiful the rooms are and how great the service and the food are, but you've read all that already. The real indication to me that this place was a great hotel choice was the fact that it was completely full while every other resort in Costa Rica was barely operating during the slow "green season". That says a lot about how well-run this place is.

There is nothing bad I can say about Nayara. If i could, I would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: The rooms numbered 41 and higher are apparently the newer built rooms and are a little further away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We Loved this place. It was spectacular!! We booked it for the first half of our honeymoon in October and are so glad we did. Everything was perfect. The staff..the food..the pool..the rooms.. the area..the local people..the other travelers..the beauty!! We stayed in room 50..The Nayara Suite was beautiful! It had a jacuzzi on the deck looking out at the volcano. The bed was super comfy!! It had an inside and outside shower... It was awesome! The food at all the restaurants and bar were amazing! the free breakfast is buffet style but was fit for anyone! even had an omelette station -all of the fruit in costa rica is delucious! try some for sure! Everyone who worked here gave great service..especially during the Earthquake..we had never experienced anything like this before and they just stayed calm and kept it cool and made sure we were good.. It was really kind and comforting being away from home and meeting such nice people. also a big Thank you to Johnny at the pool bar for the cocktails.. they were delicious!! And to the guys who drove us back and forth to our room. They would stop and show us wildlife and were always super friendly. The manager stopped in at dinner one night to check on us and see what they could change or fix and we couldn't think of a thing. I would give this an honest 5 star all around! We will return again sometime...hopefully soon! Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM Oeste de Fortuna | Arenal volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 33021, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.