We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Room, bathroom, and deck; great volcano view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM West la Fortuna Town | Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Dinner Breakfast
Key Biscayne, Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Huge Room, bathroom, and deck; great volcano view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Suite room was absolutely huge and completely appointed. Friendly, accomodating staff, gorgeous landscaping in the gardens set up to ensure privacy. Breakfast buffet with the fresh fruit and bread, and an omlet station. Great spot to do the Arenal attractions.

Room Tip: Get a suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,003
    182
    31
    12
    4
See reviews for
304
1,644
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is one of the few places that actually lives up to the photos on the website. Gorgeous rooms with huge bathrooms, indoor/outdoor showers, hammocks and hot tub on porch, paradise. We loved #40 for its great view of the volcano from the King size bed. Staff were pleasant, efficient and knowlegable
The grounds are spectacular but be aware the paths to the rooms can be steep.
The restaurant was very pretty with reasonable food and they were just about to open a suchi restaurant that looked lovely.
We enjoyed the spa, had a couples massage at dusk while listening to the sounds of the rainforest.
Our only regret was that we didn't spend longer in the Fortuna area, there is much to do..

Room Tip: Suite 39 and 40 have excellent views of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Hotel Nayara is secluded luxury at its finest. The pampering starts the moment you arrive and are greeted in the beautiful open air lobby with a refreshing freshly squeezed juice! The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful and the Concierge is very knowledgeable and helped us arrange the perfect assortment of excursions to and around the Arenal Volcano. The food at the Hotel was absolutely fabulous and the secluded luxury atmosphere includes a post card worthy view of the volcano while you dine. We were planning on trying other restaurants in the area, but after enjoying the feast we had the first night, we both had no desire to leave the hotel. Great authentic local flavors and 5 star service. It just felt the employees really wanted to make sure your experience was perfect. We had our special table where we would sit every morning to enjoy a huge buffet breakfast with any food you can imagine and of course some of the best coffee we have ever had. The restaurant staff was very friendly and greeted us by name every morning to make us feel special. The new Sushi restaurant which I believe just opened before we arrived was amazing. The best part in the evening is going to this trendy comfortable wine bar after dinner and having a night cap. We stayed in a Nayara Suite which was one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in hotels all over the world. Beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The room has a huge indoor shower but the best was the two completely secluded outdoor showers with stone all around. There is something very relaxing about showering outside with the sounds of the rainforest. A huge deck wrapped around our room were we spent many lazy mornings reading in hammocks, watching the volcano, and feeling like you are living in the rainforest canopy. The most endearing part of this hotel is how lush and tropical the grounds are and how secluded you feel. All we could hear from our room was the peaceful sounds of the jungle as we sat on our outdoor hammock or relaxed in the outdoor spa tub. Even though the resort was full we always felt like we were one of the only ones in our own private resort. The jacuzzi's are each privately set within their own lush tropical setting that you can be sitting in one and not even know anyone else is around. Very romantic. The pool area is equally as private and tropical. Everything about our experience at the Hotel Nayara was 5 stars and we would recommend that anyone traveling to Costa Rica must experience Nayara. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Nayara Suite was second to none. Defiantly worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretagne
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

An absolutely stunning hotel, beautifully set at the foot of the volcano, in gorgeous and lucious gardens with rabbits, parrots and birds.. Paradise
Excellent service and food, rooms with view and outside jacuzzi. Great staff with knowledge of the area activities, excellent food, all I expected and much more, it's intimate setting makes it wonderful for couples and honeymooners but also families.

Room Tip: We were in room 33 and it was GREAT sitting in the jacuzzi watching the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Nayara is all that is written and more. This was my first trip to Costa Rica and I chose Nayara for being 5-star, close to the volcano, and offering a pampering experience. What is great about Nayara is that you can go and experience the jungle and all the trekking but then come back and relax in a jacuzzi, lay in a hammock, and view the volcano. The rooms are spectacular - outdoor showers, big bathrooms, and flowers petals every day!!! Time at the spa is a must. Enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that over looks the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The best you can get in Costa Rica and arguably the world. This is the second time we have stayed here in two years and I cannot say enough about it. The employees are so friendly and professional, the grounds are lush and spotless, the rooms are luxurious and warm, and the food and drinks are delicious. The owners should take this concept and have 100 more hotels all over the world because their formula cannot be beat. This place makes my heart flutter and I cannot wait to return. If I could live here I certainly would ;) Thank you Arenal Nayara...you are magnificent!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a volcano view suite. The room was very attractive, lots of room, lots of storage, a very large bathroom with a very nice outdoor shower and a very large wooden deck shielded from other rooms by very lush planting. The lighting is very dim in the room, bathroom and closets which could be remedied but I was happy to have a flashlight to locate clothes on occasion. Housekeeping was a little spotty as was the service in the restaurant, pool and sometimes in the lobby. I finally gave up trying to get someone to explain or help me with wifi in my room, even though my ipad worked easily in the resort everywhere but in my room.
Food was acceptable to good but not great. The little wine bar was charming and you can eat tapas in there
The spa and workout room were very nice.
There was constant hammering while we were there which was certainly annoying for the one afternoon we decided to sit by the pool . And one needs to know that there is a lot of walking back and forth, uphill if one is in the newer view suites.and for all the service golf carts, most required the guest to get out of the way and step into the shrubbery tp do so

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your candid comments and for taking the time to share your recent experience at Nayara. We were pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We know your visit has come to an end, but we wanted to respond to a few of your points.

Our sincere apologies for the construction noise disturbance during your stay. We have completed now the construction of our new sushi restaurant and moving forward we will not have this situation. We are very excited to announce that we have opened Sushi Amor, a restaurant which is a unique sushi/fusion concept in Central America incorporating and mixing Latin American flavors with traditional sushi cuisine. Our guest will also be able to sip and sample different varieties of regular and flavored Vodkas from around the world using our innovative Vodka dispensing system.

Our WiFi service had been giving us problems (given our location in the rain forest, we face technical challenges that urban properties do not have), however the good news is that these issues have been resolved and there is high speed WiFi available in all areas of the resort, including guest rooms.

We are looking into the lighting situation of the rooms that you described.
Finally, your comment about spotty service is of most concern since that is Nayara’s claim to fame. We will address it with our staff immediately, I would appreciate if you can write to me sharing any additional details at resident.manager@arenalnayara.com

Thank you for your kind words about the spa. It is a lovely sanctuary of relaxation, a true gem of the property, and we are glad you had a nice visit.

We take your feedback, and that of all of our guests, very seriously, and appreciate you taking the time to report all aspects of your experience with us. We hope we can welcome you back to Nayara in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gutierrez
Resident Manager
Arenal Nayara
resident.manager@arenalnayara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town | Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.