We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large clean rooms w/ 2 queen beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Luna Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Large clean rooms w/ 2 queen beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights as a family and had 2 rooms on the 2nd floor (joined by a common landing). It worked out great for us and breakfast was excellent.
Service could not be better and the grounds, pool, and location were beautiful. As we were there in rainy season, we never saw the top of the volcano as it was always cloudy. The kids loved the animals (made from towels) that the housekeepers left each day in the room. Rates were reasonable as it was off season. Side trip to Project Asis (animal rescue center) was a huge hit as was ziplining at SkyTrek.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has more privacy and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    174
    36
    8
    2
See reviews for
95
249
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoersholm, Denmark
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here a family of 10 for three nights and used it as a base for activities around Arenal and la Fortuna.

The rainfall was intense and it was pouring down almost 24/7 but we finally came to benefit from the prime location with the spectacular view to the cone.

Staff is serviceminded and helpful. Great English skills.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I came here on a groupon deal and we had an amazing time. The staff was lovely, helpful and super nice. This hotel was situated within a rainforest, we stayed on the second floor and our balcony had a direct view of the volcano. Everything was planned out really nicely, we took daily trips which was included in our groupon. I absolutely love this place and would like to return in the future.

Room Tip: Second floor you get a good view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Casa Luna was an absolute "gem" of a hotel ! From our welcome of a fresh fruit drink from amazing reception staff this hotel was fabulous. Each room has entry from the outside where we were surrounded by beautiful flowers & grounds tended to constantly by the landscaping staff. View of volcano was amazing. The reception staff were so very helpful . We had a volcanic mud massage outdoors surrounded by the sounds of nature .It was even magnificent when it poured rain ! Lovely buffet breakfast & very good food ! Would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My fiance and I planned to spend most of our time in Arenal on outdoor hikes, so we were looking for a quiet, comfortable place to recharge. Case Luna was fantastic on both counts. The property felt like it was carved out of the forest, with lush vegetation and fantastic views of the volcano throughout. We received great service from the front desk, who even called our shuttle services for an update whenever they were running late.

The accommodations are nothing fancy, but they're a great value compared to the resorts in the area, considering they all have outdoor decks, great views, comfortable beds and pool access. The only drawback is that there are no dining options within walking distance, so unless you get a taxi you'll need to eat at the hotel restaurant and bar. Regardless, it's the perfect place to unwind after exploring all the sights and sounds of Arenal!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here the second part of our vacation. First part was in Tamarindo.
We had Room I 4 and it had a great view and was so quiet.
The grounds are beautiful, the staff is incredibly helpful and kind and we really enjoyed the pool and mud massages!
We took advantage of the buy one get one free massages. We even discussed with the staff that it was our teenage girls first massages and they were so kind and thoughtful. We ate here quite a bit and food and drinks delicious!
We did a lot of activities such as tours, rafting and zip line and all these will pick you up from the spa.
If you are there, make time to do the chocolate tour hundreds of feet up the road, 2 hour tour and well worth it!
I wish I could name all the members of the staff that were outstanding, but they all were.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our family of 6 had a wonderful stay at Casa Luna. They fulfilled our requests to have both of our rooms next to each other on the second floor. The staff was incredible - very friendly and each go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful stay. Richard even called us at 10:30 PM to tell us that our lights were on inside our car. We were so thankful that we didn't wake up to a dead battery!! The location was ideal - secluded, yet very easy access to town and only a 20 minute drive or less to the hot springs, hanging bridges, rappelling tour, and lake. The landscape and views are breathtaking. The included breakfast was DELICIOUS and definitely filled us up and had us ready for our daily adventure. The Casa Luna Spa Special - coffee scrub, volcano mud, facial, and massage - was AMAZING. It was one of the most relaxing experiences of my life - I wish I could have one weekly. The rooms were large with A/C and balcony. The bathrooms were spacious and clean. Overall, we loved our stay at Casa Luna and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;