We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Costa Rica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Luna Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Beautiful garden with lots of birds. Hotel staff was very friendly. Good food in the restaurant and at breakfast. Great and clean swimming pool. Clean rooms with balcony and view on the Vulcan.
We really loved this place! We also really enjoyed our trip booked from the hotel to Cano Negro.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    190
    38
    9
    2
See reviews for
101
268
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I have been fortunate enough to stay at many different types of resorts and hotels all over the USA and abroad. I have to say 5 star because of the lush enviorment and how quickly you adapt to TICO/TICA lifestyle. They are very accomodating everything was very comfortable and clean. the food was really good. the spa was so tranquil. and at last the VIEW!!!! wow amazing every morning i woke to look up and see the volcano. while we were there we did the ECO GLIDE TOUR CANOPY(not the same tour the hotel uses i highly reccomend the zip line with double cables) BALDI SPRINGS (FUN) ate at the hotel several times, also at LAVA ROCK in town. The resort and all around the resort very reasonable priced this is well off the beaten path and was a great experience. We felt safe the entire time. The staff will do everything they possible can to accomodate any reasonable need. We also did a horse back riding tour that the staff reccomended it was nice. While at this resort if you go towards the water fall (costs about 10 US dollars to enter) you will pass a few houses one of them is a co op for local artist TICOs actually from all over Costa Rico . i bought beautiful jewelry and amazing sculptures at prices that would blow you away all authentic. i fell inlove with Costa Rica and will be back to Casa Luna in the future. We also met several other travelers at happy hour........... they have a great happy hour and its a great place to be at sunset. at the same time very tranquil Again i can not say enough about how much we loved CASA LUNA .

Room Tip: you cant fo wrong we stayed on the second floor 3 C across from the pool and spa it is so beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello Terri;
Thanks for your comment, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and also be part of your Costa Rica experience. About the Canopy we will take your recommendation and we look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa. Finally Go Jets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Deptford, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Couldn't have enjoyed my stay here more. All rooms face the volcano. Great and friendly staff, very clean, great room, comfy bed. You could book adventure tours through hotel, they gave us a discount on adventure tours since we had purchased their groupon voucher. All the food was delicious. The pool and property was nice and well maintained. We stayed in October and it was very peaceful and quite. You can easily have the front desk call a cab to bring you to town ($5 each way). You can walk to town, easy walk - just long - and you won't want to do it at night! We were told the entrance to the waterfall was a half mile away - which doesn't sound back so we hiked - very very very steep hike to the waterfall! Don't attempt unless you're in okay shape.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. Every year we have Groupon packages so we are glad to know that you enjoy your stay in Costa Rica, about the waterfall you are right, some clients do not believe that is so steep hike..... But people in good shape can do it without mayor problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Nice location, nice staff, very nice spa and pool, lovely breakfast even for vegetarians. Jungle noise round the clock. A lovely tropical paradise. Very clean and well maintained grounds and rooms. We walked to la fortuna waterfalls from our room in about thirty minutes. Saw a beautiful hammock factory on the way.

Room Tip: All rooms have arenal view when it is clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. We look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Gpod things about this hotel. It was in a perfect location to the town, but also close enough to the attractions I wanted to do (Arenal park, ziplining, canyoneering). Yet also peaceful when ingot home. The amenities are nothing fancy, but still beautiful (both the grounds and the hotel itself) and they were so accommodating. I was late to breakfast a few times and Vinicio was more than helpful. The front desk folks help me arrange packages and gave me a great deal on a spa package, which by the way was amazing. If she's still available, Madday was wonderful. I got a clay massage and chocolate body wrap with lots of special touches. And afterwards, a complimentary glass of wine. Chocolate and wine - what could be better. I will definitely be back!

Also, u can't beat the price for the stay- about $200 for 3 nights.

Room Tip: I too was in I module, like the couple below. The few of the volcano and grazing horses each morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. We look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.
King regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We first heard of them through Living Social even though I chose to book with La Casa Luna independently.
-Location is GREAT (near waterfall, Cerro Chato, center of town, chocolate tour)
-Staff friendly and always willing to help
-Breakfast was simple, but good (not for the spoiled fancy-pants)
-The part I love most is that it was CLEAN. My room was on the first floor and did not have an issue with musty smells (as I saw in some reviews). Minimal bugs (keep in mind, you are in the jungle environment). Clean, clean, clean :)
-Great view of volcano.

La Casa Luna was a great solid place that laid a cornerstone to a great vacation.
I highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderhoof, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at Casa Luna for 3 nights first week of Oct. We were wondering how the weather would be here in the rainy season, but we only had rain at night and got great pics of the top of the volcano. We were pleasantly surprised with this resort and the setting/gardens were beautiful. We were treated very well by the friendly, helpful staff and our room was perfect. We stayed 3 nights in room I-4 on the very end building second floor with a amazing view of Arenal Volcano past the lovely pasture with horses grazing right next door. We had a great balcony with chairs to sit with a drink in hand and listen to the birds and watch them flit here and there amid the beautiful foliage. The restaurant was wonderful and we enjoyed the meals immensely, especially the coffee flan for dessert.

Room Tip: I-4 is on the far end with a pasture with horses grazing and an amazing view of the Arenal Volcano f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest;
We really appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. On October the Volcano is more visible and like you did there are many options to take nice pictures of the volcano and Hotel surroundings.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.