We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay under the Volcano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Luna Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Marbella, Spain
2 reviews
“Great stay under the Volcano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Easy to find and just a short drive out of town as most of the nice hotels are in La Fortuna.
Clean rooms and great pool, we have 2 young children and they loved it!!! The breakfast was good and all staff really friendly, we will go back for sure!!

Room Tip: They rooms are ground and 1st floor so if you have kids get a ground floor to avoid any stairs. Even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    172
    36
    8
    2
See reviews for
94
243
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Good location with wonderfull sights of the volcano and very near the beautitul waterfall. Helpful staff and a nice outdoor pool. I did not have time to use the Spa. Our double room was not very big but enough for us. Thus, I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Ridge, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was, by far, the most beautiful place we stayed in Costa Rica. Though our vistas weren't great (we traveled during the rainy season), everything else about this hotel was wonderful. We were originally booked to stay in a hotel in town, but when they overbooked we got shifted here. It is a little ways outside of town, but you can hitch a cab for about $4. There is so much to do in Arenal and La Fortuna, that I wish we had stayed a few more nights. The gardens here are so outstanding I had to do a live video chat with my husband back home, so he could enjoy them too! I would definitely plan to stay here if I visit the area again.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room that's not next to the restaurant; it gets a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Fab view of volcano from second floor rooms; especially those to the left of the reception & car park. Good food in the restaurant. Great trip booking service through reception - we booked zip lining and boat safari [aka rafting]. Cheap taxi ride in to Fortuna. Great bird life in the gardens. Fab rooms - lots of character.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Awesome. Food is too expensive though. Go to the city. They have an agreement with a zip line company,so they will offer only that zip line unless you specify that you want a different one, which you should. They offer the zip line over a hotel. You want the zip line over the waterfall. Close to the town with great volcano view. Girls at desk were sexy as hell.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

What a great budget friendly place to stay in the Arenal area. We loved the location because it was only a few minutes taxi ride from the town of La Fortuna but remote enough to feel like you're in the rainforest. It's a very small hotel with probably only about 30 rooms or so but we really liked it.

The rooms themselves all have 2 queen beds with a spacious bathroom. Mini-fridge available. The bed comforters could be more appealing but that's about it in terms of complaints. The best part about the rooms are the relaxing balcony in which we sat outside every evening enjoying the view of the volcano and gorgeous grounds. You really feel like you're in the rainforest given all the sounds birds and frogs around.

Restaurant: daily breakfast was good but standard with fruits, pastries, gallo pinto, costa rican veggie dish, and an egg/omelette station. Coffee just okay.
Lunch/dinner order menu was pretty tasty actually. A bit pricey but we enjoyed the 2 meals we had at the restaurant including the house wine.

Pool: Fantastic actually and we were pleasantly surprised. Clean and very refreshing. Towels are in the cabinet under the TV in your room.

Spa: just okay but I guess you get what you pay for. This is my only area in which I think they could use improvement. We got a package that included wine... well that meant a dixie cup of wine that they offered us to take back to the room (really it was in a dixie cup). The massages themselves were just okay- we both go swedish massages and the pressure was really too light but they never asked us about the pressure.

Staff: FANTASTIC! Everyone was so helpful especially the front desk. All spoke perfect English and made many telephone calls for us. We were impressed.

Thanks again Casa Luna! Definitely a recommended place.

Room Tip: Second floor gets good views! Module B was perfect for us because not too far from restaurant, parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Casa Luna was our favorite hotel in Costa Rica. The staff were warm and welcoming. The breakfast and dinner were good. Our favorite part was the swimming pool which had a lovely view of the volcano. The location was a bit removed from the town of La Fortuna, but it was ideal for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.