We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in La Fortuna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Luna Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in La Fortuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Small quiet clean and safe place to stay. I felt very comfortable at Casa Luna. It is a small, well kept property. It is in a perfect location to use as a home base while exploring everything Arenal has to offer. It is very well kept and the staff is friendly. The only complaint i would have, is with the restaurant dinner menu. All of the dishes are "american-ized". ( chicken fingers, hamburger, chicken parmesan). There is no authentic Costa Rican cuisine offered. This worked out okay though, because the included breakfast buffet was amazing. Also, the resort is a short 5 dollar cab ride to town, where there are numerous dining options. I would recommend to try the smaller Sodas, which are restaurants that cater towards native Costa Ricans. The food is amazing and very very reasonably priced ( dinner for two, with drinks came to $8) I wouldnt hesitate to stay at Casa Luna again, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    172
    36
    8
    2
See reviews for
94
243
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and would definitely return. The front desk is very helpful but you can only book tours via email if you do it before you arrive. The hotel grounds are very peaceful and you can have a great view of the volcano. Rooms are nice and simple with nice patios. Free wireless Internet is provided throughout the grounds and computers are available near the front desk. All around a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We ended up at Casa Luna by chance and decided to stay three nights. The garden, lobby, restaurant, pool and rooms are well appointed. The fridge in the room was an unexpected bonus. Sheets were old and frayed, but clean. The toilet was blocked for a while. But all in all minor inconvenience for a good spot to stay in La Fortuna area.

Room Tip: Unit I - second floor. Closest to the volcano and is next to a field with horses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel was fantastic! Rooms a little small but still cozy. Very clean rooms and they make little animals out of towels for you. The restaurant was nice too. They set up tours for us that we're great too. The spa was a pleasant escape. The room does get damp and smells musty but its because of the humidity and moisture.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was raining the entire time. The volcano was covered in cloud so we didn't get to see the top of it.
We walked up the road to see the waterfall ($10 entry fee) but not to the town. We found it a bit difficult to find the hotel as it's not in the town and we didn't spot any signs for it when driving through, so had to stop and ask for directions.
Our room was on the ground floor but smelt damp and musty. The fridge didn't work.
The breakfast buffet was average and the staff were slow to replenish the items. My omelette wasnt cooked through properly - very very runny in the centre, My husband's eggs were only just cooked too on the 1st morning but better the next.
The evening dinner was good and we enjoyed it.
Reception staff were very helpful.
The gardens outside the rooms are pleasant and we heard but didn't see any frogs. Unfortunately we didnt use the pool or even see it as the weather was too wet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a good value. It is a close drive to Fortuna, which makes alternate dinner plans easy. Staff is friendly, but the rooms are very basic. Breakfast is ok but nothing fancy. It seemed like there was limited hot water, and there were no hair dryers in the room (that said, we didn't request one from housekeeping).

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A medium sized place with a number of rooms, a pool and a restaurant. I've stayed here twice and both times the room was musty. Since I am allergic to mold, I had to sleep with the window open and there were no screens. Rooms are OK, clean, grounds are well maintained. Restaurant is OK. Front desk staff were friendly but not the restaurant staff. Place was at least not as touristy as some of the other places in the La Fortuna area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.